Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sunborn: The tale of connected worlds

by Windmill Games - Jam Entry

Sunborn is a Action platformer following a mighty hero with a quest to stop a wizard who is attempting to take over Earth with the power of dark worlds. You journey into the deep hells of the castle where the wizard resides and put an end to his existence.

Our website: http://windmill-games.net/

Our Twitter: @WindmillGames

PS: if the game does not fit your screen, you can change resolution in the options!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#166Mood(Jam)3.54
#334Graphics(Jam)3.50
#345Overall(Jam)3.28
#399Audio(Jam)3.02
#425Fun(Jam)2.96
#541Humor(Jam)1.97
#571Theme(Jam)2.67
#701Innovation(Jam)2.25

Comments

CoopNasty says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:26am

Could use some work on the sprite(s) for the player character. Seems to stand out too much from the background because of contrasting colors.

neosam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:39am

Great graphics and mood! It's just a bit too hard for me :)

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:39am

Very brooding game, the pacing seemed pretty well done but it was hard to judge hit areas and the movements seemed a tad too quick. Otherwise a pretty fun killing spree.

kikito says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:40am

Congratulations on having this done. I especially liked the graphics and the sound, which is moody (although the shouts get a bit repetitive after a while).

Gameplay-wise, I would have preferred it if the the player's "punch hitbox" was displayed more graphically. Right now, it is definitively bigger than the graphic used, but I don't know how much - so it's difficult to time attacks. That, combined with the player's inertia and hit-on-touch enemies make it too difficult for me.

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:41am

[string "conf.lua"]:9: attempt to index field 'window' (a nil value)
Error: [string "libs/sti/sti.lua"]:30: module 'bit' not found:
no field package.preload['bit']
no file './bit.lua'
no file '/usr/local/share/lua/5.1/bit.lua'
no file '/usr/local/share/lua/5.1/bit/init.lua'
no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/bit.lua'
no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/bit/init.lua'
no file '/usr/share/lua/5.1/bit.lua'
no file '/usr/share/lua/5.1/bit/init.lua'
no file './bit.so'
no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/bit.so'
no file '/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/lua/5.1/bit.so'
no file '/usr/lib/lua/5.1/bit.so'
no file '/usr/local/lib/lua/5.1/loadall.so'
no file "bit" in LOVE game directories.

this is what I get. any idea on how to fix it?

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:08am

@mess110 What os where you using?

SelfishGenome says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:46am

Looks nice and well designed. Nice job.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:46am

@mess110 I think that this happens if you try to run the .love file with an older version of Löve. Make sure that if you want to run the .love version of the game that you get the latest version over at: love2d.org. If you are on a PC or Mac, I would recommend that you use the .app or .exe versions.

John Drury says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:53am

Great mood, really creepy.

Pitzik4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:53am

You've got a good story, and the background look great, but the main character could've had better graphics/animation, the background noises got annoying after a bit, and the default resolution didn't fit on my 1366x768 screen

~misson20000, voting on behalf of our team

Cosmonautas says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:55am

Nice Job

Aomeas says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:56am

I couldn't see the menu at the beginning because of the default 1080p setting, but I kinda figure it out, the 720p option was for me :3
The hitbox of the punches isn't well linked to the player, and feels strange.
The art of the story is great, and the musical ambiance too!

Makio64 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:58am

Nice game, the gameplay is smooth ! I also love the art ( shadow style ) and the rain witch add a lot to the unniverse !

xRubbermaid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:44am

A little too hard for me, but loving the atmosphere.

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:54pm

It's looking good, just the levels are too straight and repetative, i had fun playing it but you guys can make it a lot better, Keep up good work! :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Enjoyed the silhouetted intro, that was nicely done. Decent gameplay, and I like the way you choose to use the theme. Good stuff :)

Almax27 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Fantastic work on the story and atmosphere, I found the controls a little too 'floaty' and the attack hit box to be very buggy (I managed to hit and kill something almost half a screen away >.<) but over all excellent entry.

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:54pm

It's no masterpiece, but it's a fun and mindless game as long as you look past it's bugs and glitches, which aren't that many and none can be considered gamebreaking. I say it's worth a download. Go on, give it a shot.

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Great graphics and moodl
The gamplay though is a bit boring to me;
But maybe it's just me not liking this genre too much or something cause I haven't played much of these games.

Shmarah says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Really tiny when fitted to my screen, but pretty cool! A Castlevania kind of feel.

KR-Eddie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Characters felt too stiff and controlling the player's attacks was awkward and non-intuitive.
The mood was the game greatest pro, great story setup.

xandy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:21pm

the intro text is a bit hard to read on the background. if feels more like a platformer than an arpg to me. the first levels are really hard and don't leave much space for mistakes. good sounds and ok artwork.

allenfreese says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Lot of gameplay considering the short deadline!

slumber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:29pm

very impressive gui. music is top notch for the game atmosphere. great job!

dunin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:07pm

some collision problems (or just harder for me).
but lot of work on this game and good mood.

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Reaylly dreadfull atmosphere. Nice Gui and graphics.

DeltaF1 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:20pm

I'm getting the same error as @mess10. I'm running on linux (Fedora 18).

DeltaF1 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:30pm

I fixed it! Do a make then a sudo make install on this: http://bitop.luajit.org/download.html

DeltaF1 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:40pm

The graphics look like you've put a LOT of work into them. Did you make all of them in the 72 hours, or was some pre-made? The game seems a little bit laggy, but that may just be my computer. The sound gets annoying after a while, but it is still well done. Overall a great game. I couldn't get far enough to really see the theme evident other than the intro story bit, but I'm sure it's worked in there.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:27pm

@DeltaF1

Yes, everything in the game was made during the 72 hours! :)

-David Rahansto

elemel says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Well done!

Ryusui says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:52pm

I thought health potions were supposed to heal me, not laugh in my face as I get swarmed by enemies who can do more damage than I can hope to recover. :(

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:07am

I am the Sunborn!

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:15am

Really fun, solid mechanics, a nice story and really nice art. Great job all around! :)

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:32am

Other than the winning glitch at the end (let's not mention that :P), really solid entry. Enjoyed the buying mechanic (though I think the shop should've used Enter to enter instead of space so I could fight next to the shop).

I think it was just the right level of difficulty in that at the point where I really got good at the game I was on my "Damn it, this is my last try", and then nailed it. The various enemy types were cool and it had a nice Castlevania feel to it. It was cool that you could run or pace it too and dodge around stuff, and there's the whole thing of "Do I wait and play it safe but expose myself to more randomly spawned enemies, or do I jog through and try to get to the shop?"

Nice one man. And welcome to LD! I look forward to your future games.

Rocketship says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Really nice and snappy punching sound, good background music creates a good mood to the whole game. Graphical quality is also good, maybe needs bit more work on the animations. Also the dark background colors get a bit repetitive after a while but they do fit the theme of the game. Overall I enjoyed the game. Well done!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Great visuals, would have liked more audio though. great gameplay but quite challenging. good job :)

lkr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Loved the visuals - especially the silhouettes in the intro, and the creepy audio :)

I thought the controls and platforming felt great, and would love to see more of this game.

Thumbs up!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:37am

Nice atmosphere! The sound helps to get in that world

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:17am

I found the enemies that fall down on you rather annoying, it sometimes makes you lose hp randomly. There are some spots that you cannot pick coins up. Also some strange rectangle appearing and fading slowly when you die. Attack animation is quite short comparing to the attack range.

Except these things, I enjoyed the game a lot. The story is nice, its visuals in intro could be better. Music in the bg is creepy as it should be.

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Mood deserve 5 stars. I also like the graphics

Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:55pm

The movement speed's pretty nice, but the player's hitbox is way too big, you can easily kill enemies without ever getting too close. Also, hitting them should have some feedback (flashing sprite, knockback, something).

The graphics are so-so in execution but really nice with regards to imagination. The ambient background sound is a nice mood-setter too.

The game needs more sound effects too, I think. And sometimes when I used a healing potion, it seemed like I didn't actually gain any health.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]