Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spy On Me

by Fahmi - Jam Entry

Your aim is to intercept a target who is trying to hide in the city. You must connect between digital devices in the city (nodes) to find the location of the target.

You and the target take turns moving about the city.

The target moves two moves for every three you can move. However, you can't see the target until you're very close. You win when you reach the same node as the target.

Nodes are joined by coloured connections. The screen will flash the colour of the connections the target takes. Remembering these sequences will help you to intercept the target.

Developed by:

* Tim Jones (programmer)
* Fahmi Abdulhamid (programmer)
* Nicolas Oyanedel (designer)
* Tatiana Krayushkina (designer)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#137Innovation(Jam)3.54
#152Mood(Jam)3.57
#349Audio(Jam)3.15
#356Fun(Jam)3.08
#360Overall(Jam)3.26
#458Graphics(Jam)3.19
#501Theme(Jam)2.89
#578Humor(Jam)1.73
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Chaoslab says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:52pm

That was interesting! Enjoyed the visuals and music. :-)

yodamaster says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:00am

Interesting concept. Reminds me of an 80's board-game.

01101101 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:02am

Original and quite fun. I love the paper effect!

darklightteam says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:02am

I enjoyed it a lot! I love those kind of games. I found it very easy however.

ClownAround says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:15am

Very cool idea. Executed well. Nice game.

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:40am

A really nice approach to the map. It could also have worked well as an London-Underground-style tube-map.

I clicked around fairly randomly and ended up with a flashing orange point and then the game restarted; I assume I captured them?

kristof says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:52am

Solid Work! Reminds me of Scottland Yard. I liked the artstyle overall. Somehow the target walks always the same route, played 3 times and the third time I knew where I had to go... Maybe some KI(-Improvement) would be great!

mramaizng says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:53am

I really enjoyed this game. It would be awesome to see more visuals in the background. Maybe small animations as well as amore backgrounds. All in all this is an awesome game. VERY cool idea!

As a side note it might be nice to get rid of the big wall of text at the beginning and add some teaching moves to the start of the game.

Njord says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:53am

Nice little game !

Tosic says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:14am

Nice idea, I like it!

H1S2 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:18am

Like the game - a multiplayer would have been nice

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:46am

Nice concept! However, it was difficult to see the whole map, it would be good to be able to zoom out. Well done! By the way, remember to grade at least 20 games to receive a score!

camlang says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:55am

Interesting concept of the game.

Aomeas says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:22am

That's nice but my target couldn't go far every time ^_^"
Maybe too easy, or I'm too good as an inspector.
Cool game, nice mood.

strong99 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:30am

I especially like the backgrounds.

Benjamin says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:01pm

nice tak on Scotland Yard. Once you understand the game it's easy to catch the target on second turn because we start very close of it. Apart of that I think the leveldesign is not good for this game, the building thing is a good idea but the node lack connections and those full color zone dont help the game. I think it will be more fun on a more connected and color shuffled map.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Loved the graphics and music - really set a nice mood. The flashing colors mechanic is very clever. By studying the map you can pinpoint where the target is pretty well, if they slip up. Good job!

Arakade says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Very much enjoyed this memory game. Like others, I'd say it was a little easy but I suspect the AI got stuck -- I'm pretty sure it was say in the furthest corner going backwards and forwards red-red on a couple of rounds.
Add some more levels and I could totally see this being a phone/tablet game for commuters (nice money potential).
Thanks.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Pretty interesting concept. I liked the art style and the use of flashing colours as a hint system is a brilliant idea although (I don't know if it's just me) sometimes the intensity of the flashes is a bit too much.

bushmango says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Kinda like some board games I've played. Maybe a bit too easy? I'd like to see more branching paths.

micahcowan says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:29am

Feels a bit like Scotland Yard. :)
Probably couldn't play it well without those hints.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]