Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

This Hero, That Villain

by xvix - Jam Entry

Didn't have much time to complete, most of the game was done on day one.

This isn't something ambitious, something huge and meaningful. It's just a side-scrolling runner game, but I'm happy that I've done something playable for my first LD.

You're playing as one of few characters from game/fairy tale and you're chased by different, bad characters from some other games/fairy tales/movie. That supposed to make this game theme-ralated, you know, characters from different fictions... well... after day one i realized that it wasn't the best idea I've ever had.

Because I used characters from different fictions I didn't want to break compo rule and that's why it's a jam entry.

Controls: Spacebar is jumping and menu is controlled with mouse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#235Humor(Jam)2.79
#586Audio(Jam)2.23
#587Theme(Jam)2.61
#640Fun(Jam)2.53
#679Innovation(Jam)2.34
#682Mood(Jam)2.27
#683Graphics(Jam)2.50
#735Overall(Jam)2.53

Comments

Foofur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:40am

didn't work because openal32.dll was missing?

Majko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:43am

Yup, missing openal32.dll

xvix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:48am

Fixed it, sorry for trouble.

Yasho says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:28am

Very simple gameplay, but I like the way your game fits the theme :)

eastes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:49am

Cool music. Loved the character art. gg. Made it to lvl 4

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:19am

Nice music. Game is hard, but innovative. Like the concept

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:25pm

The theme connection is hilarious.

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:42pm

It was a bit easy/repetitive, but it was fun to see the interpretations of the characters in a different graphics-style.

"Evil Japanese Plumber" lol.

The Lag Pack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:07am

Cool game.

Vytheros says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Love the idea of mixing characters from different game worlds.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:37pm

I DON'T UNDERSTAND THE THEME!!!!! haha J/K! Cute game. Congrats on a job well done :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Nice references but game play is very flat & repetitive.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:03pm

The idea of doing mashups was great and fits the theme nicely, but the gameplay is just too simple so it turned boring quite fast.

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Gameplay is too simple, but for something done in one day as your first Ludum Dare I'd give it a C++ (lol I made a programmer joke). If you were to expand on this with better graphics, and make each hero/villain have different powers and tactics, it could be rather interesting.

George says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Nice game, love the concept!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]