Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Exolink

by stimpact - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Exolink is a turn-based space strategy game for 2 players. The first person to establish a colony in the opposing player's home column is the winner. This is my third game and first LD.

While the HTML version has a couple of text alignment issues, it is fully featured.

Follow the game's creator - @stimpact

How to Play:
- Your fleets are spawned
- You move fleets between planets you control (click + drag, one move per turn)
- Upgrade your planet level by clicking the green arrow (costs 3 ships)
- You conquer Neutral or Enemy planets (one attack per turn, plus a second optional attack from the freshly conquered planet)

Isolated enemy planets are returned to neutral - take out their planet chain! High level planets get bonuses for each connected planet. Cluster around high levels, or upgrade your planet to a higher level if it is surrounded by many other friendly planets.

See http://stimpact.com/games/exolink/ for complete Game Rules.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#377Theme3.48
#585Fun3.00
#604Mood2.93
#611Innovation3.09
#654Overall3.11
#679Humor2.15
#706Audio2.41
#940Graphics2.48

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:54am

Loved this! Building up a large army and pushing forward seems to be the best strategy

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:23am

Good idea for board game.
But for a videogame it is not the best mechanic.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:02am

I love to see strategy games in the competition. I'd love to see this developed post compo with an AI opponent. Great work!

WesleyJohnson says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:02am

This was pretty fun once I got the hang of it. Even playing against myself was interesting when using different strategies.

Mr.Cassels says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:10am

played against myself, lacking an opponent, but quite enjoyed it. though it seems like picking an optimal strategy is relatively straightforward one you are acquainted with the rules.

stimpact says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:15am

Next steps are asynchronous multiplayer and a release on Google Play. Glad you all seem to like it, even when playing by yourselves :)

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:51am

Love the music, great innovation!

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:58am

Cool idea! This is like naughts and crosses but video game style. I like it. Great job!

greysphere says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:30am

This is really neat. I need to find someone to play with to expand my grasp of the strategy.

Jaenis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:36am

Nice to see a strategy game here! Reminded me of some game I tried on iPhone few years back. Multiplayer over web would do wonders for this

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:40am

Nice music, though little harsh on ears

CoderDozer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:56am

Nice strategy game, well done.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:54am

Hey man thanks for your comment. Yeah it's nice to see other people developing with GM :) I like strategic puzzle games... Played it vs me... Nice concept. Like it!

panurge says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:23am

Lovely slick presentation and a nicely balanced play mechanic. I'd love to see a version with an AI opponent and a few animations. Great work!

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Reminds me a bit of Risk. Rules are a little complicated to learn but it seems neat overall :)

igoramendola says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Nice! It's been a while since I played a game of Risk-style. I have read the rules and yours is well done. I have to find someone to play with ^^

francoisvn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Nice game. I liked the simplicity of the system, and it worked pretty smoothly. I would have preferred to see more UI improvements to help convey some of the information more quickly.

Rothens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:10am

It took me a while to figure out the mechanics, (I'm a bit tired after this 3 days) but after that I really enjoyed the game. :) I'd make some API for AI programming, then try out the bots against each other :P

Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:49am

Wasnt quite sure what I was doing but I included it in part 14 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/fQEfK1MQqVU

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]