Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

World Warper

by gamehelp16 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is about you collecting resources in a world to make a portal and teleport to another world

Don't forget to check out the GitHub repo!

The game design is like my entry in js1k 2014, but the codes are rewritten and it seems that the code in this game works differently than my js1k entry's

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2075Coolness14%

Comments

DrMelon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:16pm

A nice Candy Box type game. The graphics are simple, but clean, which is nice.

Ohems says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:25pm

WASD controls would have matched a lot better with the mouse. Nice at first but gets a bit boring quickly.

lkr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Fun game :)
I liked the sense of exploration in caves, but I found it more rewardig to regenerate them to find iron rather than dig blindly. This would probably not have been an issue if there was an easier way to gather than having to click to confirm though.

I also liked the world variety in my playthrough, but got stuck on world #5 with a 100x100 empty grid.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Good job. Mined a lot of stone. Not sure I can handle the search for gold, but I enjoyed it

gamehelp16 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Thanks all for the response :D

Ohems: sorry for the little bit inconvenience, I tried to make each level unique

Ikr: what do you mean with "regenerate them"?

lkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:02pm

It was easier to exit and enter the cave again to find iron, than to dig in the walls. When I entered after exiting, there'd usually be two visible iron nodes in the starting room walls.

gamehelp16 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Oh, yes, but I think I should just keep it, or is that change acceptable?

lkr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:47pm

I thought digging and exploring the cave was a fun gameplay mechanic, so ideally I'd like to find iron that way. But when I can dig 20-30 tiles without finding any iron, it's just more efficient to exit and enter again to instantly find it.
My suggestion is therefore to increase the chance to find iron when digging a little bit :)

gamehelp16 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Is it allowed to update the game now?

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:07am

Great innovation!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:43am

Nice feel to it...

gamehelp16 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Thanks :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]