Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Philip the Fox

by Xenolupus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Philip was wandering through the woods searching for berries when he discovered a portal, and decided to jump in!

Philip the Fox is a cel shaded 3rd person 3D platformer. Test your 3D platforming skills as a cute little fox named Philip.

WASD to move
Spacebar to jump
Mouse to move Camera

Timelapse - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=65EWhRswlN4&list=UU4xhdqJdeGX02S2LDRB-vDQ

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#62Graphics4.15
#204Overall3.58
#230Audio3.30
#273Humor2.83
#306Mood3.29
#514Fun3.09
#918Innovation2.66
#1001Theme2.48

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:45am

Awww, this is lovely! Feels great :D

I was a bit disappointed the actual game was not in the beautiful forest ;P

mactinite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:47am

Cute little game. nice job!

kblaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:51am

A great looking 3D platformer. However, as is the case with 3D Platformers, many of the jumps are really hard because you aren't sure exactly where you should start your jump. I could listen to the music all day and the titular fox looks great.

acehk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:58am

Art, awesome. Music, great. Camera, dear god.

SketchyGalore says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:04am

I LOVED the intro screen! Very pretty! And that's a great character, too :)

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:09am

the graphics and audio were fitting(music reminded me of Nyan cat for some reason :) )
Otherwise, the gameplay wasn't anything special. Also, would be nice if you didn't have to fall as far for the level to restart.

robbd7 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:34am

Very sharp game! I enjoyed it a lot

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:35am

Really like the graphics. Felt the controls could have been tighter, and ditto with the camera. Felt a bit loose.

CryoGenesis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:28am

Great looking game. The audio and graphics are really good.

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Really difficult. That fox looks awesome though. Good work

Ellian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:15pm

The camera controls are too loose I think, but it's very well made in such a short time. Good work!

gmfk07 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Cute fox, interesting mechanics. The only thing I would recommend is making the game over screen shorter - I wanna get back and retry quickly! Overall, good game.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:22pm

5 stars on graphics just for the forest scene haha really fun but hard to aim the jumps

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:14am

Cool game! I included it in part 6 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/v1uehyKcvFY

lukz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:04pm

I really like art of that game! Very nice style. Jumping could feel a little better, but it's a great game!

Logan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:23am

Cute, but the platforming was rather unforgiving. The last two levels especially were overly-strict.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Love its cuteness!

danidre14 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:50am

So I started it and took a look around. pretty cool graphics. I begin to move, and it's very scary at times, like I jump too early, or the game lag, and then I fall to my doom! Now I fall, and fall forever, so I restart the game! Then I reload page, and I finally made it to level two, where I jump over a log and die! I gave up there, it's too scary!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:21pm

I'm ashamed to find that pretty challenging; my platforming skills aren't what they used to :) Love the graphics

Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Nice graphics, but could use a lot more work and you should fix the movement as well. It is buggy.

rantt says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:42am

Music and graphics were really good. Controls could be tighter, solid game. I enjoyed it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]