Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Grand Quest for The Potato Salad

by Suvidriel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Grand Quest for The Potato Salad
====================================
The Game can be played with and without Oculus Rift.


Story
-----
You are the hero of the story, Player One! You have arrived to a strange connection point between Worlds,
called the Nexus. Here you'll encounter weird creatures from other worlds.

Your overlord bosses have a mission for you which you'll complete succesfully and earn the right
to get your hands on the Potato Salad!

Good Luck!


How to Play
-----------
You need to defeat boss monsters around their own world-locations inside the Nexus to get their World Shards.
Collect 5 of these shards and return to your own world's portal to finish.


Controls
--------
Movement - W, A, S, D and Q & E or Arrow Keys
Attack / Use item - Spacebar
Inventory - I
Loot items on ground - V
Reset Oculus Rift Sensor - R
Quit - Esc



Oculus Rift instructions
------------------------
The game is made for Oculus Rift DK2 so it may not work too well with DK1.

Start the game with -vr. The game requires that you're running the Oculus Rift in Extended-mode.
The Oculus Rift also needs to be your secondary monitor.


Other settings
--------------
You can start the game with -width and -height parameters to set different window size:

GrandQuest.exe -width 1024 -height 768


Known bugs
----------
The game may randomly crash when exiting from gameover or game completion. Tried fixing a couple of the crash bugs but some may still remain.

If you get error about missing msvcr110.dll, please install the Visual C++ runtimes.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#126Humor3.26
#390Fun3.23
#424Graphics3.29
#596Overall3.17
#647Audio2.55
#667Mood2.86
#855Innovation2.77
#965Theme2.56

Comments

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:31am

Crashed on exit so it's no big deal.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35am

Long live the Potato Salad!

lambomang says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:42am

Haha, that is awesome!
Healing potions don't seem to be that common though which is rather frustrating :/

alvarop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:13am

Crashed during gameplay, I'm on windows 8.

Meganopteryx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:20am

You made this all in 48 hours which is pretty impressive.

Endurion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:25am

Nice, but nothing groundbreaking. Pretty tedious searching for the bosses with the Ultimate Leek :)

kblaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:27am

Ended up with 6 stones. Are the mazes generated or is it pre built?

Suvidriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:37am

Yah the levels are randomly generated which also explains the lack of details x) Should probably have made the size somewhat smaller though.

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:08am

Interesting.
(Too bad not all textures load on Wine and layering fails, bute still using the map I figured out to do something ;p).

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Haha, fun! Nice work!

MalphasWats says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:58am

This program can't start becaue MSVCR110.dll is missing... ;(

Suvidriel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:20am

@MalphasWats awh yea seems like something is still dynamically linking to the C++ runtimes even though I thought I had the settings correctly. You'll need the Visual C++ runtimes from Microsoft. I've added a link to them at the top of the page.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:53pm

that was really fun, I haven't played any 3D-turn based games yet so this was really interesting, great job!
Also, I liked the little 'dialog messages'

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:59pm

VIOLENCE, MONSTERS, AND POTATO SALAD = THE TRIFECTA OF COOLNESS

Boberro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Crash when taking loot twice

lkr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:19pm

That was a nice dungeon engine.
Also, loot! Loot makes any game better :) Plus for humorous item names!

Literal Games says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Cool, far too big though and could have done with maybe an armour system or something, more loot's more fun! Good sense of humour though, I laughed multiple times, and the game works well!

stasss says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Nice). Monsters are awesome)). Great job

H1S2 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:27am

I hope my rift arrives soon. This game will be one of the first things i try ;)

Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Such a huge area, pretty intimidating for Ludum Dare players...


You should tell the player that you can turn with Q and E, that was hard to figure out.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Took a minute or so before I realised how to turn left and right (mouse camera support would have been good for non rift users), was pretty freaked out by the enemies the first time I saw them, but the game was fun to play, nice work :D

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Ohh damn.
An occulus game.
I don't have a rig so I didn't get the full experience.
But good work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]