Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shattered Realm

by AncientAvocado - 48 Hour Compo Entry

To view the source code (and images, audio) download .love file and rename it .zip. Then extract the zip file.

Downloads and Links




uprightpath says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Chrome flags the file as Malware.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:47am

Yeah I know, don't know what's causing that. I'm pretty sure I didn't include any malfare ;)
But It's not that good anyway. I could've done waaaaay better. Well, next time I'll make something amazing! I could actually try to learn some HTML so I could make a web game. Wouldn't have any download problems and more people would be willing to play. And it would be fun the work with a friend in the Jam.

magmaCrab says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:34am

Cool game and concept. It think it's pretty good! Love is a good platform to work with, but you should upload your game to mediafire or something. Works way better than dropbox and get's rarely flagged as spam or malware.

Sverik says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:32pm

You got inspiration from Closure, didn't you? Nicely implemented.
However, I was completely lost after I found the doll. The big "monster" said he was hungry and didn't seem to care about the doll.
Ok, now I got it :) And, nice touch with the circular world ;)

Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Well thanks guys! And yeah, there is a lot of Closure in the game, though it was unintentional. Thanks for the tip @MagmaCrab, though like I said I'm going to learn some HTML5 (or simply use Unity) to make a web game the next time.
This sure was a great learning experience, and I am really glad there were some people that liked it. <3

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:40pm

What a clever game idea! Nice!

chowee says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Good entry !

I had trouble understanding what to do at first but the idea of a round planet as the platefrom and the different elements depending on the light used is nice ! Good work on the graphics but it could have used a bit more sound.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Played it on OS X with love2D framework without a problem. Short but sweet, with cute graphics. Mechanics remind me a bit of Closure. Like how the enemies also only exist in certain light bubbles.

arhpositive says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:04pm

This was a really cool idea, all those intersecting lights and the presentation of connected worlds really felt in place. Overall, the game is short but as it's just a proof of concept it's sweet. Congrats on such a cool game.

P.S. I haven't played Closure, therefore can't comment on the similarities.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]