Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Divided World

by OadT - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*UPDATE*: Performance bug fixed!

In this game you play a farmer in a poor county. You have to plant fruits for yourself and oil palms for an foreign investor.

Controls:
Mainly only mouse, click T after the first two alert-boxes for a quick tutorial.
I recommend to play frantic and to go with one's gut, this way it might make a bit fun.

Theme:
The game is based on the theme, but I want you to interpret the game. If you really didn't get how its based on the theme ask me in the comments :)

PS: Sorry for using alert-boxes :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#613Graphics3.02
#734Innovation2.92
#743Humor2.07
#908Mood2.56
#962Fun2.56
#970Overall2.77
#985Audio1.48
#1121Theme2.12

Comments

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:21am

Really nice farming game.

Peping says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:35am

The game is really laggy which made it unplayable for me :(

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50am

The bulky graphics play well with the game play!

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:04pm

overwhelming at first.. but the story really made me want to grow stuff

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Is there some way to make it a bit more responsive? I've tried Firefox and Chrome, but it's really slow. Coming back to this one later!

OadT says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Yeah, sorry for the lags. There is anywhere a bug in the code. Because of this it's slow on some devices. I will check if I can fix that. But it will take some time :S

OadT says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:39pm

The bug is fixed, it was because of the use of ctx.clip(). Now everything should work better

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:17pm

The system messages make the game hard to play, but the game has nice graphics.

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Frantic farm game :P I liked it. Graphics I REALLY liked as well as the story. The theme I felt could have been used better.

Also, I got a strange behaviour... two of my patches would pop up "Bad Bottom" error when I tried to plant get oil there. Dunno if it's intentional or not.

Liked it overall, good luck!

OadT says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:25pm

@esayitch The "Bad Bottom" message appear when there are not enough nutrients in the cropland. It was an 1:1 translation of the German term and I forgot to change it :D

Nice that people like my graphics. I am not very artistic, so this is a great surprise :)

gmfk07 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:05pm

I really quite liked it. Seems simple enough, yet some concepts (the bad bottom bit) could have been explained better. It mislead me into thinking it was easy, and overall it's quite good.

ponywolf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:03pm

I liked the graphics... I did get to how you interpreted the theme, but it took while...

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Nice interpretation of the theme!

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:46am

Interesting and funny :) The only problem was that I didn't know if oil or food was ready to pick until I clicked on it (the graphics were not clear I think).

JTGaming2012 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:50am

I really like these style of games, but I think the font is too hard to read. I keep thinking Trash is Thresh. I like it :)

josh1billion says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Fun concept, nice art, good game.

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:30pm

It ran well for me, and it was quite fun. I loved the little bobbing farmers (they looked funny with the music I was listening to). My only complain is that the text is hard to read being so small. I'm trying to see how this is related to the theme as well.

Ramiel says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Interesting interpretation of the theme. I really like it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]