Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Escape the World

by bogdanmaier49 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game made in Unity3D code in C#
Art in Photoshop.
Audio in Audacity.

-Use W,A,S,D to move in space.
-You need to protect the Earth until you find another planet that support life.
-Using Oil you can travel to other planets.
-Each planet give you gold and oil per minute.
-Build Turrets on planets and left click on meteorites and try to destroy them.
-Upgrade you'r turret to shoot faster.

Hope you enjoy it :).


P.S. : This is my first Ludumdare.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#583Graphics3.06
#694Humor2.13
#720Audio2.39
#723Innovation2.94
#730Fun2.85
#781Theme2.90
#842Mood2.66
#890Overall2.86

Comments

Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:35pm

i couldn't get the osx app to work

bogdanmaier49 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:37am

Interesting. On osx I cant test it because Im on windows.

Yasho says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:05am

Wow this game is really tough. Maybe I'm doing something wrong but I keep dying right after going to the moon usually. Too many meteors (but maybe I just suck at this game)!

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:06am

Good idea and kept me playing for like 10 minutes :) It only needs a bit more polishing.

enderargent says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:07am

Good concept, maybe it's too hard for me since I'm dying a lot xD

bogdanmaier49 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:09am

Well I agree with you. The game is really tough and I kinda want to be so. I decided to continue it and I will focus more on graphics from now on.

bogdanmaier49 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:18am

Found a new BUG: When you can upgrade the Turret don't press the upgrade button for too many times or it will shoot with 100 bullets per second and that might crash the game.

talecrafter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:22am

Defending Earth can be a tough job. :)
But was fun for a few minutes. Interface on the game screen could be more streamlined. Perhaps more like context buttons when selecting a planet?

masterhyjinx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:24am

I'm on OS/X. After the first game, clicking any main menu buttons causes the game to exit.

I played a few times. The idea is interesting but I find the game very difficult. Before I can explore even the moon for resources an astroid comes from a corner and annihilates Earth. The first turret doesn't give the player quite enough fire power to deal with threats while exploring what the game is about.

You did lots of work on the UI (I suppose coming from an ambitious idea!) but the game puts your under fire before you can explore it. Maybe auto targeting turrets will allow you to keep it relevant but allow you to explore the rest of the game you put together.

Inateno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:29am

Hard game x) interesting idea. There is a bug with GUI when you click "explore planet"

bogdanmaier49 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:32am

Lots of bugs apparently. I will try to do better next Ludumdare.

bogdanmaier49 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:32am

The cause is a messy code. :(

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:33am

Some really nice concepts in here. (good explosion sound.. OW! ;-D ) Would be nice to see a Youtube vid of gameplay at some point as I'm not having much success.

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:41am

Wow! Nice idea!

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:48am

Nice idea I like it, but man it's hard :D I tried 5 times to get a gun on the moon, but there are too many meteorites :) Anyway this can be done as a full nice game :)

Peping says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:55am

I'm loving this game, I'll definitely play some more. Haven't yet gotten farther than the Moon though

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:04am

For some interesting reason I can't run mac os x version. I'll try on my windows machine later

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:44am

It has some issues but I love the idea! With a bit more work on this I can see a pretty nice tower defense kind of game mixed with exploration.
Has potential.

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:54pm

I was reading turret info and some meteorite just destroyed all earth, that was epic. Added to favorites.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:57am

Fun concept. I blew up Earth :(

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:11pm

I really like the concept! It's a bit buggy though - when I clicked "back to menu" after dying, the game shut down. I also had a bit of trouble figuring out what I was supposed to do, even after reading the intro screen.

Needs some polish but the concept is solid!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:25pm

The game is not bad but there are many meteorites that do not let you relax

psydack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:04pm

I cant test on MacOS =/ JUst not open

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:47pm

It seems like it has a lot of placeholders but I think that's because of 48 hours time limit. Plus, it is hard because turret shoots at the position of asteroid where it was a few seconds ago. I could only buy the turret and couldn't survive longer. Idea is kind of cool though.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Great game, rather hard- I love the idea. I'm a little on the fence about the controls- I keep wanting to be able to pan the camera, but I didn't find any way to do so- At the same time I could see how that could easily become confusing.
Anyways, decent graphics, and a very good and unique idea. Good job.

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:57am

fun game

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:48am

Hardcare gamers understand this concep: EASY=BORING, CHALLENGING=FUN. AWESOME GAME!!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Easy to die here but the idea is nice. Like it

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Nice use of 3d!!

ninjascript says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Interesting. I like the idea but it would be nice to be able to zoom-in and out and/or rotate the camera. Sometimes those asteroids come in at angles that give you no time to react. Also, moving the camera to find other planets to explore means leaving all your other planets completely defenseless, and since the asteroids spawn so frequently that meant I just didn't explore those other planets. You should keep developing this, it's pretty impressive for 48 hours.

Jaucheman says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Nice Game! But it gets frustrating really fast because its a bit too hard. But even if it is frustrating I enjoyed it, Good Work :D

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Awesome work! Would have liked to hear some music to go with all the pew pew! also: welcome to Ludum Dare :D

Tomker says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Nice graphics.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Neat game!

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Nice game, congrats!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:26am

I like the idea but you should not make so hard at the beginning. Getting destroyed by meteors fast is frustrating. No chance to get to know the game. Your planets were awesome. Nice job.

Katamori says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Little but hard, but nice idea and graphics! Cool game.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Not sure how I did it, but I got to the victory screen (visited 5 planets and killed a bunch of asteroids). It was hard panning around to see the incoming asteroids though...

banana4life says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Can't test it with OS/X :(

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Quite fun and interesting.
Fun with the graphics.
They are real good looking...

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Difficult game, but a cool idea. I could never get very far, but I did enjoy the graphics. The sound effects were well done! Good job.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Tried exploring the moon and bam, it blew up. Then I pressed the home button after wandering around the galaxy and the Earth blew up. Dammit :D. Maybe there was a rogue meteorite I didn't catch in time.

Interesting concept, but takes a bit too much time to really get going. Also micromanaging the meteorites is a lot of work, maybe one of the upgrades could install an AI targeting system or something ;).

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]