Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Two Worlds One Life

by Phaix - Jam Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare and i am very exited. As i was rushed on Saturday and Sunday i just managed to get into the Jam, but i anyway had a lot of fun!

The Game is about Jack and Karl (or Jane and Karla) who are in different worlds but share one Life. While one is awake the other one sleeps. The goal is to survive as long as possible by switching through them and fighting.

Keyboard & Mouse:
- Move: WASD or Arrow Keys
- Jump: Space
- Attack: Left Mouse or Left CTRL
- Switch World: Left ALT

I hope you have at lease some fun while testing like i had developing it.

I have used: Unity2D, Pickle, Photoshop, Tiled, Tiled2Unity, Bfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#130Theme(Jam)3.69
#193Fun(Jam)3.38
#199Graphics(Jam)3.84
#248Overall(Jam)3.41
#252Humor(Jam)2.74
#270Innovation(Jam)3.22
#423Mood(Jam)3.00
#516Audio(Jam)2.65

Comments

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:34am

Really awesome! Loved the idea and execution.

iSamurai says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:49am

I love the creative idea and the art of the game! The controls are also solid as paltformer. Great one! If the hit effects can be more impactive would be more awesome!

nataku92 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:02am

Pretty fun! I wish the difficulty scaled a little bit though (the waves seemed to get longer, but not much harder).

Phaix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:20am

Thank you!

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:21am

I love the character animation (walking, sleeping, attacking!). Really nice looking little game. My suggestion would be to map the controls to different keys, such as Z and X for attack and switch respectively. Holding ctrl + arrow keys are hot keys for doing crazy stuff on Macs.
Nice game, glad I played it!

kibertoad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:34am

Clever way to implement connected worlds into mechanics, but it seems it would work better on a tablet then on keyboard and mouse. Ridiculously cute animation of characters going to sleep.

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:46am

Very nicely done! i really like the art style :)

bob_fish says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Interesting concept and executed well! Nice sounds and art as well. Could do with some music though.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:11pm

I love the art style, very beautiful animations, awesome! - The game was very easy, especially when you realize you can move to one of the edges and just stand there back to wall in both worlds.
I really like the idea and given more time I'm sure it could be made very challenging and more entertaining.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:44am

I really loved the graphics and animations, and everything else was very smooth and polished - would have been nice to be able to see quicker which world was active though.

Oxeren says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Congrats on you first LD! Nice and fun game.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:54am

Love the animation ;)

Perjoka says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:37am

well done!

Ryusui says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:45am

Surprisingly solid combat. Gets intense starting at wave 3. Love the graphical style. :3

Only two things I didn't like: the placement of the switch button, and the lack of music. Other than that, good stuff. (Got a laugh whenever an enemy spawned on my head. XD)

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:19am

Liked the eye opening and closing effects

sandbaydev says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Nice little entry, and congraz for completing your first LD!

Some thoughts in case you want to do post-combo:
- Unity allows disabling right click if you use disableContextMenu:"1" as a param, should do that to help web version playmode (now context menu was appearing several times)
- new type of monsters!
- new weapons/collectibles (now there's no much purpose to move around)
- some sort of skill/advancement system could be interesting!
- you could prototype also a version where you'd be having more than 2 characters. Just for the sake of testing and seeing what could be optimal amount of characters
- liked the art style, very well done!
- cool that you got also some sound effects done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]