Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Signal

by tillrobby - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First time doing LD :)
The idea is that a spaceship gets a strange signal from a strange place in the Universe, and it goes to see what is going on there.
The ship arrives in a place where 3 worlds(planes of existence) are connected, and can't escape.
Each time the ship tries to jump home, instead it jumps to another world.
Player needs to solve some puzzles, jumping between worlds.

Didn't have enough time to do in-game story cut scenes, because I wasted all my time on art... I can't do art, it's a miracle that I managed to make it look this acceptable :)

Tools used:
-Unity
-Blender
-Gimp
-Audacity
-Bfxr

Controls:
WASD or arrow keys for movement
SPACE to jump between worlds
TAB or M for minimap

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#331Mood3.26
#333Audio3.10
#354Humor2.67
#417Theme3.43
#666Overall3.10
#688Graphics2.90
#704Innovation2.97
#765Fun2.81

Comments

nicotuason says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:32am

Great concept! I played until the part with the ufo-looking thing but then it disappeared.

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:19am

That is actually ok :P You need to "collect" both big ufo-looking things to activate a portal :)
I wanted to put in-game text so it would be more clear but haven't got the time.. I wanted to put enemies too, and you would have evaded their missiles by jumping to another world.. oh well maybe in The Signal 2 :P

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:38am

It does have a fair bit of backtracking. But I enjoyed it a lot.
The galaxy portals and backdrop looked amazing.
The music was great. Did you write it yourself?
Excellent Game

Agecaf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:26am

Nice! I liked the music, it fits perfectly with the space exploration theme.

muriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:16pm

I love the intro and the game itself, the sounds and how the letters appear keeps me focused on reading :)

good job.

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Good work, the music really gave it some atmosphere. My only real complaint is the wall of text at the start was really hard on the eyes. Would have probably been much better if you displayed one paragraph at a time to make it more readable.

reaver says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Cool! My only comment right now is I wish the walls weren't black at the ends, making them blend into the background. Nice work.

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:50pm

@graebor yes I know, I don't like it either, initially I wanted to add little paragraphs after every in-game event, but I ran out of time :)

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:53pm

I was impressed by this game. I think it would help to have a tutorial puzzle first to help players understand the gameplay concepts, but other than that, I think you did a great job.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:26pm

I also had the idea about switching between Worlds, but in my game you can't do it whenever you want...

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:27pm

It was a bit confusing in the beginning but it became clearer as it went on. As graebor said, paragraphs would have been better because most people won't want to read an entire text just to learn how to play.

Maek says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Cool game!!!

IcyLava says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:39pm

It probably would have been a bit more challenging if the third world's rotation wouldn't reset after switching. Nice work :)

Rialgar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:39pm

It was hard not to loose orientation and to know what each collectible did. Maybe mark removable or removed walls seperately. nevertheless I completed it. Maybe keep the rotation after leaving world 3, that would add another layer of loosing orientation, though.

And to sound: I know Otomata when I hear it, you made good use of it.

Craftsdwarf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:42pm

I wasn’t too impressed with this one. I will first admit that I didn't finish it, and I didn't have access to music at the time I played it (though I listened to it after and it was alright!), and I only read the comments afterward which had some enlightening bits. It's regrettable that you didn't have time to explain things better, since I found stumbling around a samey labyrinth hoping some collectibles would show up to be rather unfulfilling. Backtracking isn't a bad thing, but if the area is uninteresting it becomes tiring rather than giving any sense of exploration. Also the art could have used some work since the ship didn't really have a front or back, and the collectibles (which I didn't understand to be needed to activate the portal) being the same size as the player's ship seemed illogical, let alone the giant ones (though that I at least found amusing, though apparently the little ones were unnecessary to finish the game?). Speaking of illogical, the walls weren't really given a good explanation; something in the opening text might have been nice. And speaking of the opening text, it may have been the chosen font, but all commas looked periods.

In general I think some better design would have been a huge benefit, I think.

c023-dev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:49pm

I liked the control switching, stuff like that activates my otherwise sleeping brain =) ... maybe a hint to the controls would have been helpful rather than the 'story'? (Just me, I don't read much text nowadays...) Not too much of a fan of the short music loop and as you mentioned the visual 'art' ... I've read it before... consistency and simplicity work fine too - it doesn't have to be 'ART' ;)

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:54pm

@Rialgar: yea Otomata is amazing :) wanted to use abundant-music.com but didn't like the type of music it generated...

@Craftsdwarf: yes I knew it would be bad to not have in-game text explaining things, I wanted to do that.. anyway lesson learned, for next LD I'll learn how to Blender and Gimp(looked at a few tutorials a few days before start, but didn't help :P) + prioritize in-game text + design

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Nice game, simple and keeps you playing for a while, good job.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:07am

Pretty fun little game, liked the change of control between each 'character'. Well done, and congrats on your first Ludum Dare! :)

bluesky says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:02pm

this game is awesome. Really nice done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]