Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dark World: The Quickening

by dydx - Jam Entry

Hi, this is our first time ever making a game. We had a lot of fun!

Dark World is a puzzle platformer where you must switch between the Light World and Dark World in order to save the princess.


Created by:
Chris Kim - https://github.com/dy-dx/
Jordan Cristiano - https://github.com/SizzlingCalamari

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#135Fun(Jam)3.52
#159Overall(Jam)3.56
#343Theme(Jam)3.24
#393Innovation(Jam)3.00
#404Graphics(Jam)3.34
#410Mood(Jam)3.04
#549Humor(Jam)1.94

Comments

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:31am

The death animation cracks me up. Well done. The game plays very nicely. Could do for a few beeps and bloops though. Overall really fun!

banana4life says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:32am

Really cool game. I especially like the graphics.

jgthespy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:34am

Simple but clever and very polished. Nice work!

Tom Snively says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:44am

I really like it.

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:47am

Nice simple idea, well executed :D

PixelFeet says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:51am

Really neat little game. Great job.

se1by says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:51am

Very nice game, clean and polished!

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:52am

The game is quite hard for me but I'm not a platformer person, however, I really love the graphics and the animation. The puzzle is interesting too although it is a bit tricky to work out. Nice work!

korigame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:56am

Played the whole thing. Really neat concept - and that 3rd level took me a while to realize what to do, but it was a good moment. Little frustrating bumping my head on those tight platforming sections, but overall, very well done :)

Moocowsgomoo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:57am

Very polished and fun, and good level design as well! Nice job!

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:59am

The pixel art is really nice, great touch adding the cape. I managed to get stuck so sadly I can't give you too much :( I did find it a bit awkward jumping up in confined areas where the map kind of zig-zagged

dydx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:47am

Thanks for the kind words everyone!

We made the last 2 levels in hurry and didn't give ourselves enough time to improve the frustrating parts. -- We'll definitely spend more time in that area during the next Ludum Dare.

jimmypaulin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Really enjoyed the feel of this cute game! Lovely clear sprites and gorgeous animation. Satisfying puzzling too, got me scratching my head! Some simple music and sfx would be really great but it's a contemplative experience that is enjoyable nonetheless

gwa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Cool graphics I like this minimalism and the riddles are also pretty good :)

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:45pm

The art is good and the game play is solid and fun. Good job for a first Game.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:57pm

The simple graphics are perfect for a LD and they are executed well, game looks and plays nicely. I also dig the concept.

zatyka says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:37am

I think you did a lot of things right:

- You made the levels in a way that the player learned how to play the game themselves.
- The minimal graphics look quite nice.
- Fun and interesting game play mechanics with very few objects.

Lots of fun stuff. My major complaint was the jumping, specifically when you have a block above and below you, and you need to jump to the side and up. I player with a smaller collision box would help with that.

markusfisch says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Well done! I like the colors and clean graphics. Nice idea!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]