Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Story of a Fabulous UniRaptor and Fifty Seven Aliens

by pi_pi3 - Jam Entry

Finished! The game features a controllable player character (duh), 2 weapons, 3 enemy types, 4 bosses, 10 levels and a fabulous UniRaptor. Download the game to see the epicness and fabulousness behind the title "The Story of a Fabulous UniRaptor and Fifty Seven Aliens"
* Update *
The bug which caused levels to switch has been fixed
Controls:
A,D - Left, right.
Space - Guess what, jump!
LMB - Attack to the left.
RMB - Attack to the right.
Have fun!
I used Game Maker Studio for the coding. Some graphics are made by me in Paint.Net, some are from opengameart.org. Bfxr for sounds. The music has been made by Blooperly. The final fight dubstep piece has been made by Dant3. Here's his channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/ElDanteZhero
Source includes Game Maker project and all the assets used + a couple I didn't use.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#227Humor(Jam)2.81
#569Audio(Jam)2.35
#641Graphics(Jam)2.68
#663Theme(Jam)2.29
#673Mood(Jam)2.33
#674Fun(Jam)2.44
#735Innovation(Jam)2.04
#761Overall(Jam)2.38
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

Rehacked says ...
Aug 23, 2014 @ 8:25pm

hi. I have got some questions first why attacking to right is faster than left?and second why is boss hidden?? and in my opinion game must be more fun cuz it isnt fun now and where is the theme ?good luck & goodjob

pi_pi3 says ...
Aug 23, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Hi. Dunno why attacking to the right is faster, i'll check that. I also dunno why the boss is hidden. It will be more fun and the theme has been implemented in the newest version, which i will post in a sec. Thanks for the feedback.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Moving with A,D doesn't work, so I tried to move with arrows and got some strange bugs and finally an error :/

Torandi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:40pm

I only made it past the first boss. I think the mayor problem with this game is that the platforming is a bit to annoying, it either needs to have tighter controls (need controller support), or skip the very small platforms.

Contraspect says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Fun game but a little bit buggy, I sometimes randomly start in the first level.

pi_pi3 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Tomorrow i'll start working on a post jam version with controller support. Maybe more levels and features? The A,D bug muffin had is strange, i never had this. Unless you tried moving while the initial, so called, cutscene. I'll take a look at the level changing bug Contraspect mentioned. I'll also record a full playthrough, so you can see the whole game.

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:32am

The game seemed interesting but the controls were unfriendly and made it hard to play. The graphics are nice, and the sound is pretty good. Pretty fun, but would have been more fun with nicer controls. Good game overall.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:15am

Pretty good. It seems that enemies don't really do anything, though? Also, the music doesn't loop.

pi_pi3 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:04am

The enemy AI isn't very advanced. All enemies, except for the final boss and enemies on Tatuine, simply run to the player and shoot at him when he's in range. I never had troubles with the controls, but I will mind that next time. Thank you all for the feedback.

Ventura says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:05pm

thrid level I always fall in the floor. The most that I liked was the small enemies :) and the music.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Really bad controls. Why not just use W for jump and have one attack button?

pi_pi3 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:53pm

I never liked W as the jump button. I made two attack buttons to give more control over attacking.

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Graphics are nice, and I liked the music. Control scheme worked well for me, but platforming was difficult since movement was so sensitive. Good job!

jomomomo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:23pm

I can't play on windows... any chance for a web version?

dancingmad says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:39pm

I couldn't get throught level 4. Couldn't make the first jump. After redoing all the first three levels three times, I gave up. Controls don't feel good, jumping on little platforms is a nightmare.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Game was pretty tough and the sounds were a little rough on the ears, exploring was cool though.

pi_pi3 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:46pm

No web version will be made. Perhaps post jam. The post jam version will also include better controls. I once said I'll record full playthrough, but I can't finish the palace, so I'll just record the final fight.

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Gravity being this large combined with such tight platforming and horizontal movement speed that doesn't have inertia, but rather stops immediately after releasing the arrow keys, makes this game far too hard. Also, there should be checkpoints. I only got to level 4 because being sent to the very beginning after losing only 3 lives time and time again frustrated me. Not sure how many level you actually intended us to get through with 3 lives.

Ramiel says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:35am

The name of the game is very promising.
I really would have liked to play it through but I couldn't make the first jump in level 4.
Controls are a bit unfriendly. W as jump button would have made it a bit easier to play in my opinion. Space as jump button only seems okay for me if you don't use the mouse.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]