Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

W4

by jpmit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

W4 is a puzzle platformer set in four connecting worlds.

HTML5/Javascript so just click the web link and follow the brief in-game tutorial.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#355Theme3.52
#404Innovation3.36
#438Overall3.32
#497Fun3.11
#548Audio2.73
#694Humor2.13
#700Mood2.82
#946Graphics2.47

Comments

mataguiris says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Good game.

monsterkillu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Nicely executed ... Really connected to theme.. Although quite disorienting ...I was looking at the box whole time, when actually W was the player :))

teoacosta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:40pm

This made my brain hurt in a great way. I enjoyed it

Riocide says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Cool idea. Control scheme needs work though. Found just controlling my character to be the hardest part of the game. I would say make direction keys act as expected regardless of gravitational orientation.

MSaul says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:50pm

My brain got a really bad time at the last level.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:59pm

nice puzzle designs

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Interesting idea and it is fun, but the music and the graphics kind of make the game look and feel slow and a bit boring

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Good game. It got me hooked till the end. Only I don't like the controls. I feel I was spending more effort fighting with the controls than actually platforming.

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:57pm

I like the concept!

DrMelon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Simple, clean graphics, good controls, and a nice use of the theme. Good job!

Belvar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Fun and challenging game. I like the concept but having to switch between normal and reversed control is really difficult !

garygreen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Really good idea - clever but easy to get to grips with after a few levels.

micahcowan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Firefox doesn't seem to run. Get the title screen, hit space and get the "W" sound, but no graphics change or music. Nothing further happens. Chrome worked of course.

Really, really nicely done. Impressive for 48-hours. Level 5 was particularly challenging for me.

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Very smart level design, and a rather cool mechanic that fit the theme. Graphics and sound were okay.

Good job overall!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Cool concept! Remind me the Portal.

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:15pm

My brain hurts after playing this, trying to keep my directions straight. Quite a fun mechanic! The player controls were a bit difficult though. Overall, a fun game. Well done!

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:18pm

The game was fun. That last level... I couldnt stop! Well done.

Notes: The collision is a bit tricky because it seems you are using AABB instead of a tryangle/square. That is my only beef.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Hi there. Nice idea, very confusing to play - defeats your inner platform-player, which is a good thing I think. Nicely done!

gnx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Wow, that hurt my brain. Level design is really good and I think you explore your basic mechanic very well. The control is really hard internalize, it is a matter of taste if it should be easier or not I think.

One small criticism about UI design, have the prompts advance with space, since space is already used in-game, and return has no other function :)

markusfisch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Interesting puzzle platformer. Enjoyed playing it!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Really interesting use of the theme, clearly connected worlds. The music was fitting and the gravity changing makes for a nice overall mechanic.

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:42am

The game mechanic was pretty cool. It took me a few tries for my brain to adjust. The controls were a bit unforgiving (I almost rage quit a couple times on the last leve), and it felt a little glitchy when switching between a couple of the gravity zones. I think it would help if, when changing to a new gravity zone, you make the old one unavailable for a moment.

I loved the world transitions.

mfagerlund says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:46pm

When I try to start the game, the game says "w" and starts flickering between the menu and the level as seen above. After that, I'm unable to get anywhere...

jpmit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:40pm

@mfagerland - what browser are you using? I've tested with firefox and chrome and never experienced that problem. Perhaps there could be issues with other browsers.

Skyfish says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Well executed, but incredibly frustrating to play. I think you could have capitalized more on the graphics by choosing a colour theme for your graphics, and perhaps sticking a paper texture on everything, making it a "thing" that the game features a typed letter as a character.

whalebot says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:32pm

My poor brain and fingers hate each other now thanks to you. Nice game though ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]