Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Soap Boy: Get Rich or Die Trying

by jggiles - Jam Entry

Ground breaking. Life changing. Collect all the coins, and you will never be the same again.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#391Fun(Jam)3.00
#481Overall(Jam)3.07
#559Graphics(Jam)2.93
#738Theme(Jam)1.87
#2027Coolness17%

Comments

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Really liked the style and concept of this game and it was great fun to play. However I came across two problems. First I appeared to be immortal. Secondly I was whizzing round the pipes unable to find any more coins but I wasn't sure if I had missed one or the game hadn't recognized that I'd found all of them?

jggiles says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Thanks blue! You are indeed immortal - I didn't have time to properly consider/implement a fail state so I just settled with annoyance being the "punishment" for errors. The game was recognizing the completion of coin collection for me when I tested, so I'm not sure what the bug is there. Thanks for playing!

Luin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:45pm

The slide of the soap is great, he's too cute.

Frankus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:15pm

The soap is cutee! A coin number of what's left to get/ what you already have could help. Great job :)

ruerob says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:26am

Thank you for your entry. Was nice to play.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:29am

The soap is really really really sweet! And the game play pressing F is really funny. Great job

kaa says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Good graphics! Nice idea with cute piece of soap. I think you should make a kind of minimap to organize coin coin collecting.

AlexFili says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:51am

The style was good but the collision detection was pretty harsh. You also could not flip in mid air which made it a bit trickier to navigate. Great idea though!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]