Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Conglomerates

by A333 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Simple strategy game. Capture the droid manufacturing worlds, connect them into giant half-sector size manufacturing conglomerates, upgrade your army, et cetera. Go play it, it's quite simple and (i hope) at least somewhat fun.

If game is doing nothing on start, please install xna4.0 redistributable.

In case of misunderstandings:

Basic rules:
- Manufacturing worlds (squares) produce simple squishy fighters every 10 seconds.
- To control the droids, select the world and point to the target with right mouse button.
- You could only control droids who are orbiting friendly planet, because retranslators and stuff.
- Droids will capture enemy/neutral planet if there's no threat. More fleets = faster capture.

Advanced rules:
- Some worlds provide upgrades. Capture them and they will work like your usual aura projectors.
- You could connect worlds into the manufacturing chains (conglomerates). Every manfacturing world in a chain will upgrade the ship class (up to four worlds), every module world will upgrade ship stats.
- You could disconnect any world anytime, just select it and then shift-rightclick on itself.

Quirky rules:
- Conglomerates transport matter between each other instantly, but there is a bureacracy of course, and also this worlds seem to speak on hundreds of different languages, so:
Larger chains = slower build times
but:
You could get your production at any chosen world. Just select one closest to your enemies and target to their bases.
- Conglomerates completely halt when under siege, single manufacturing worlds aren't. Then again, bureacracy.
- Building times are reset when you add/remove worlds from the chain.

Balance rules (even more quirky):
- I've tried.
- Fighters. Are agile and many. They can dodge damage, but not reliably enough to counter...
- Armored droids. There are 4, but they are designed to devastate fighters. You'll need two worlds and a bit of patience. (Two connected worlds generally beat two single worlds. Generally).
- Weapon platforms. There are only two in the squad. But they one-shot armored droids. However they are too slow to reliably destroy fighters. Balance! You'll need to connect three worlds to get the weapon platforms.
- One overpowered thing. Find it yourself, okay?

Used: XNA, 2D XNA Primitive Shapes Library (http://sourceforge.net/projects/primitives2d/), and as3sfxr (http://www.superflashbros.net/as3sfxr/) for sound effects.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#251Graphics3.62
#323Theme3.56
#405Fun3.22
#425Overall3.33
#523Mood3.03
#607Audio2.63
#694Humor2.13
#926Innovation2.64

Comments

ljdp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:53am

Any chance of a build? So many games to play I don't have the time to compile!

Contraspect says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:53am

How do I run this game? I only see a source link.

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:54am

Looks good but only source link..No playable stuff there

Majko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:56am

Like, seriously? The game is looking so good, finally someone with sense for graphics... and you haven't build it?

A333 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:58am

Sorry guys. I've uploaded the build at the first place, of course, but the site refuses to show the link (dunno why, just checked - link is good).
I'll upload it to the alt location, it's the same archive, hope it's not against the rules.

n42k says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:22am

Quite enjoyable game with a solid, done before, idea. Simplistic and appealing graphics. Fitting sound effects.

Just a minor bug: when I press my mouse outside your game while in one of the "tutorials" it skips it.

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:22am

Bit confusing? But i really like the idea, better than mine.

togie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:23am

Reminds me of a "down to basics" version of a game i had played on ps3 for hours, i would love to see you continue this. I know im keeping this version to play endlessly lol

alpha_rat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:36am

Good mood and graphics, the gameplay is nice : some kind of galcon fusion with a twist !

malf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:52am

Good game , I wasn't able to pass the first level though :D

Markavian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Awesome game, found the first mission a little tough, but after I got the hang of the mechanics it was very enjoyable. "Congratulations, commander!" Would be great to have a better UI, right mouse clicking and shift-right clicking is really fiddly, wasn't always sure if I was making or breaking connections, or where I was sending units. Final mission stumped me until my 4th attempt.

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:04pm

I really like it and played a few rounds. But I just can't seem to win :P
Maybe next round

A333 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:17pm

>n42k
Yes, it needs some focus checks. But it's a minor, so may be in a remake =).
>modbox, Markavian, JetL33t
Controls are very weak. Input update, you should've seen that piece of code, it's a huge mess.
About difficulty - first level is actually badly designed, and the last level, well, i've never been able to beat it yet, but i've figured someone definitely would. Congratulations to you all =)

Markavian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Last level: because of the way you'd balanced the AI, linking the middle two planets and defending against the reds with L2 ships was the priority. While purple started expanding north, I broke the link between their worlds, and used the extra fighters from that to claim the right side of the map, reinforcing the middle... then it was a slow game of holding off the reds until I could connect all the worlds and make super ships... I think I had a crazy chain of like 8 planets or something.

A333 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:40pm

You really know your way around strategies. Something that I should consider to learn before trying to make another strategy game.

Markavian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Well, you made a good game, still playing it :D - my only complaint now is a lack of restart/reset after losing or winning a game. I'd be interested to see if it works on a larger scrolling map as well so you can have bigger battles.

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Nice game. Very tough though, couldn't even capture a few worlds without being overtaken.

lkr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Fun and well-made game :)
Difficult AI, but that's not a bad thing.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:19am

Actually kinda complex game.
Very nice work!

TKia_ says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:40am

Very cool, interesting, and fun idea for a strategy game! Reminded me of Galcon. Liked the look and design of it.. If only I could be good enough to last past the first level :P

Lvyn says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:41am

Nice game, good gameplay !

Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:48pm

I've also made an RTS on XNA, HI5 bro xD The game is fun, i loved the graphics! great work :D

okmmjyygv says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Very complicated game but in a good way. I like this game a lot.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]