Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gray Area

by Resonious - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Two connected, 'inverse' worlds converge (sorta)! Supposed to be a nifty puzzle platformer with fun collision, as a moving platform for one character opens new paths for the other. I didn't have enough time to make the awesome levels I wanted to, but oh well.

Arrow keys to move,
Tab or Ctrl to switch characters,
R to reset the level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#189Theme3.75
#344Fun3.29
#404Innovation3.36
#504Overall3.26
#506Audio2.78
#534Mood3.00
#776Humor2.00
#862Graphics2.61

Comments

Ohems says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Well made and enjoyable game. Some of the sound effects, mainly death, reset and victory, were awefully loud compared to the music. Most of the puzzles were really great!

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:40am

Nice, seems pretty polished. Liked the mechanics, were interesting. Cool game!

bobrocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06am

Nice work! Need to normalize the audio a bit, but the gameplay is solid!

Teesquared says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:12am

Very cool idea with black and white levels. That sure makes level design a challenge! Great use of the theme. I wanted to get further but I was never good at wall jump :(

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:14am

Great concept! Very tasteful and slick.

plash says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:04am

Nice. This was challenging. The music is really nice. I always appreciate something that doesn't feel repetitive. Good work.

Nitpicks:

- The audio needs some volume tuning, as Ohems says.
- The wall-jumping is a bit hard to direct.

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Nice game, couldn't get too far because I suck at wall jumping :)

CatOnMars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:05pm

+Nice puzzle design
+Simple but clever use of the theme

-Sounds and musics are somewhat annoying

Overall: Nice puzzle platformer!

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:56am

Nice action in the later levels. A bit difficult to wall jump.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:39pm

interesting concept, I enjoyed playing with it for a bit. The wall jump actually feels pretty good.

alvivar says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:45am

Nicely done! Challenging!

I had some trouble with the wall jump at first, i recommend not to reset the inertia of the jump (only during the wall jump).

Jacic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:00pm

I liked the idea, and the movement and wall jumping were very satisfying! I'd like to see a full game with many levels like this! :)

Pesty says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Great game - nice ideas with the pushing

foolmoron says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Good execution on a simple concept

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:32am

Love that you can just jump from wall to wall. Great concept and great job!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:37am

Wow, those levels were awesome already! One of the best levels design I have seen this ludum dare. Great job!

tiff says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Fun game and great concept, I had fun with this!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]