Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

God Save the Peasant

by Elde - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as both the King and a Peasant in a far away land. Experience how their worlds connect by passing laws and joining rebellions.

Make sure to check your "Approval" and "Needs" each turn!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#9Innovation4.35
#34Theme4.12
#543Overall3.22
#742Graphics2.82
#843Audio2.13
#904Fun2.63
#1796Coolness30%

Comments

Zigsfi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:56am

Clever, original take on the theme! The interface got in the way of the fun a little bit, but the idea is quite cool. The one frustration I have is that the cause-effect is hard to discern sometimes.

TowelKing says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:23am

The connecting of the socio-economic worlds is a great take on the theme. I enjoyed the game, but i wish the resources you are managing were a bit more clear.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:29am

Really clean and well presented concept. Would be nice to see a vid of it played 'well'. (i.e., not by me! ;D ) - perhaps a basic walkthrough tutorial?

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:43am

Interesting idea. As others have said, it's a little unclear what the effects of my actions are. I don't know why I would want to use the "Spy" action - what does it gain me? Nonetheless, I think something pretty interesting could be made out of this.

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:10pm

wow. really impressive.
Nice form to use the theme.
I would like some music, more fun thing happy (not comical, just feedbacks) and some more information about how win the game.

But, nothing this topics are vitals, the game is good!

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:22am

It seemed like it was too easy, I could just give a speech to each group every turn as the king, and work until I was hungry as a peasant. I eventually tried to start an uprising just to see what would happen. The interface seemed to get in the way more than help, the transitions are too slow. Also, if you click fast, you can get more than three turns in by clicking on the button while it's fading in. It's a good concept, but it's a little too simple.

FrederickK says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:16am

Great concept. Moderately good execution.
Only thing I thought that needs work was that since you control both the king and the peasant, you ought to keep them working in the others interest.

Also, my first time playing I worked for three days straight to earn money to buy food, but in doing so, forgot to eat.
I'm pretty sure theres something to learn in there somewhere.

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:27am

Good idea for the theme, but I did not really understand what was happening. What all my actions do? Also, I always die from hunger, as I keep buying food without knowing how to eat it :(
A more polished version with more explanations would make a good game.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Cool concept! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/3H1YVzN-nuA

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]