Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planetshipper

by ronaldm - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game you play a spacecraft that can carry planets.

To score points you need to connect the planet with the correct universe.

But be aware! There are some very static enemies lurking around!


Controls:
WSAD / arrows

Enable grapple: E
Use grapple (to grab planet): F
Shoot: space

Note: First LD game, not everything is finished but the result is playable. I liked the LD challenge and will participate in the next LD also :).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#636Humor2.21
#902Audio1.91
#918Theme2.65
#1002Innovation2.48
#1060Mood2.19
#1105Fun2.23
#1144Graphics2.04
#1176Overall2.30
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

Contraspect says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:10am

Good for your first entry!

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:13am

This was interesting, though I didn't manage to grab any planets. I had fun flying around though, and overall the comcept was cool, so well done!

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Not sure what the point is. I could shoot out a grabble, but that's about it. Flew around for a while.

c_livid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Interesting idea.

TowelKing says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:26pm

congrats on completing your first ludum dare. I like the idea of space grappling hooks, it would be cool if you used the planets you grab as a flail to fend off enemies.

Maek says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Game is okay.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:33pm

good first entry, game isn't very challenging but you made something playable. congratz.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:30am

Good job on your game :) Everything worked good just have to improve my steering

SoulGame says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Nice first entry.
It needs to be more challenging (random pop of enemies that move, aim and shoot the main starship for example).

sprawl says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Good job on making the game !
It might not be finished but it works.

Apart from making enemy move and have them spawn regularly to have a challenge, I'd add an animation to the hook for when it is grabbing something or not.

xandy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Cool idea and mechanic. The hook mechanic felt a bit buggy to me but nevertheless great first entry!

H1S2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:00am

nice game! good idea. the controlles seemed a little odd and background music would have been fun. allso the graphics could be improved. great for your first game! keep it on!

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:06am

Really neat first submission!, I had a bit of trouble figuring out how the grappling hook worked but when I did it was fun just to move the planets around :)

Lvyn says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:09am

Interesting idea, it runs well but needs more challenge :)

Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:19am

Good job on your first entry! Here are some feedback on what you could have done better, a quick and easy fix would be making a more intuitive control scheme. The current control scheme requires you to use only one hand, making it hard to grapple and move at the same time as well as shoot enemies. Try spreading out the controls so that movement is done with your left hand and abilities of the ship to be controlled by your right. Overall nice first entry, I hope to see you at the next ludum dare 31!

ronaldm says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:32am

Thanks guys for all the feedback! :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:43am

Great effort for being your first entry!! The game mechanics could be more polished and it was not much fun to play, but it is a very good game for being your first, so keep improving and see you at the next ludum dare!!

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Pretty awesome for your first entry! I loved how silly the ship looked flying around with the grapple out.

This game could probably be added to - like making some planets moving in solar systems so you have to pick them out of their orbits, enemies that chase after you, and maybe other enemies that steal planets and run off with them so you have to give chase.

Anyways, congrats on finishing your first LD48, and best of luck with future entries. : )

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]