Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Melody's Long Ladder Home

by Budaniel - Jam Entry

By Richard Heil and William Klein (female voice over by Jeanne Heil)

Collect and stack ladders to reach the goal. Left and Right keys move, up key climbs (no jump key). Click on the left mouse button on the shop icons to buy ladders.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#203Humor(Jam)2.92
#363Audio(Jam)3.12
#456Innovation(Jam)2.91
#478Graphics(Jam)3.14
#568Fun(Jam)2.70
#591Mood(Jam)2.68
#611Overall(Jam)2.86
#644Theme(Jam)2.37

Comments

koalamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:05pm

I think the controls could use some tuning but the concept is great and the art is well done!

StrideWide says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Cool game, I like the voice acting. I was however not able to purchase ladders, so that's where my session ended.

vandriver says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:03pm

I didn't like backtracking to buy more ladders all the time. Seems like the game is just set up to trap you - You can waste too many ladders early on and be unable to complete it. Would be a bit easier if you didn't have to buy them in groups of three. Also there's lots of ways to just simply get stuck when you run out of ladders.

If the controls were less finicky, I'd probably sit through another few tries to actually complete it. Got close enough to see the bed. A few coins shy, though

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Felt very polished, liked the voice acting and the overall look of the game. Definitely work on the controls though.

TinyHat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:22pm

I like the concept and the voice acting! The controls do not feel as good as they should though, so moving around gets frustrating quite quickly.

jgthespy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:40pm

I agree with the comments about the controls. It's pretty annoying. The voiceovers are cute though.

chadiik says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:07pm

"Heyyy! A ladder Shop!!"
It's a long way home for sure!
I had fun but didn't make it home though :)

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Without jump its a bit linear; there's only one way forward. Controls were a bit wonky.

I liked the art, even if it has some rough joins, and the voice-over was superb.

pLaw says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:26pm

The ladder management part is quite good. The controls are a bit fiddly. You can't leave the ladder when you reached the top without releasing the Up-Key.

Hemuuuli says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:33pm

With better gamefeel of controls this could have been a nice little game, but now it just felt a bit too clunky to play allway through.

brokenbeach says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Controls could use a little tuning. For example, have the player only switch sides when they are completely off the screen. It was a little confusing.

Otherwise, quite fun. Nice and colourful. I wasn't too sure as to how it was related to the theme, but still, fun game.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:41pm

This game has some problems (like the controls), but it looks and sounds really good, and I like the idea. I'd really like to see a fixed version of this.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:21am

A game with voice acting! Nice job, I had fun with it. It would have been nice to see the crates with ladders in them as a surprise higher up in the level.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:32am

I like the voice acting, and the music, but the controls, were really messed up, and really needs some fixing. At least a help screen, or line of text, would have been nice!

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:34am

Had a good time playing this!!! Neat idea!

TehSkull says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:46am

Nice voiceover work.

Props for the afro on the shopkeep.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:42am

I had a hard time with the controls, especially getting off ladders. At first, I also didn't like that I could go off one side of the screen and show up on the other side, but it came in handy later on as I was climbing upwards. Very interesting concept, very fun to play

Budaniel says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Thanks for the comments everyone! I've been working hard on the controls for a post-Ludum Dare build and made allot of progress. I'll put it up shorty after the judging is over.

Keep those opinions coming!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:44pm

How about making the physics a bit more playable?

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:26am

Controls were a lil bit iffy, maybe could use a little refining there.

AdricZero says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Found the controls very difficult. She moved too slow up the ladders. Music and graphics were polished.

Wertle says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:52am

Interesting idea for a resource-based platformer (sort of). I got frustrated by a couple of things: accidentally clipping a ladder and having it consume one of mine was frustrating, although if you had an action to use a ladder it might get tedious to climb so I'm not sure if that's the best solution? Also the parts where you had to climb a ladder on the very edge got real tricky with the wrap-around, it seems like that happened mostly in the beginning. I loved the voice overs, well done!

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:50am

The controls were tricky with having kind of fast horizontal movement with the screen wrapping, and I got stuck in a cloud. Simple and fun presentation, though.

havana24 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:29am

Another Stencyl entry, yay! :)
Good game and nice audio. Physics and controls are a bit tricky butthe game is fun anyway!

Aglavra says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:22am

It needs work on controls, but art an concept are very impressive.

Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Really nice idea. The controls can be a bit frustrating, especially trying to come off a ladder to go through a small gap.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]