Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

I Find Another

by ItyBity8Bit - Jam Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#177Innovation(Jam)3.45
#230Fun(Jam)3.30
#274Mood(Jam)3.30
#453Overall(Jam)3.12
#455Humor(Jam)2.25
#460Theme(Jam)3.00
#505Graphics(Jam)3.06
#639Audio(Jam)1.69

Comments

kyyrma says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:22pm

This was a truly bizarre but somehow very compelling entry. I got until you have to cross a ravine full of spikes, after that I got tossed back into space and I returned to the first world. Not sure what I should have done after that, Good use of single color graphics as well.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Pretty neat how his wings grew as you gained levels and experience. Good job!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:52am

Hi there. Nice to see Stencyl making an outing - fewer this time around. Having the control for jump described so late was annoying ;) Like the design especially the jump frames on the animation!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:19pm

I really like the physics here. Somewhat strange, but lovely

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:12am

fun game, took awhile to figure out what im supposed to do, but once I did I had a good time!

PixelFeet says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:24am

I really enjoyed the graphics, they're simple but stylistic at the same time. I got lost after the spiked hallway of death so a little more instruction might have been needed. I ended up returning to the first planet and i wasn't sure how to continue.

Aevek says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:24am

Actually really enjoyed this one. The impression I got from the first level was that I was in for a (beautiful) basic plat forming game, just looking at scenery. Boy was I wrong, in the best way. Loved the aesthetic of this game. Flying around was really well done, and being in space was just really well done. Great job, spread your wings and fly!

pvtroswold says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:25am

Creative! Using the wings is rather difficult though.

ShaunJS says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:37am

I enjoyed this and managed to get the end (just). I really, really like how the mechanics really slowly grow on the player. I initially assumed that the controls for these mechanics were always available and you were simply controlling when the player got access to that knowledge by showing them a sign with a thing they didn't know about yet. I was actually a little sad when I reloaded the game and found that wasn't the case and these mechanics are simply locked until you approach the sign, especially when I saw areas I couldn't reach through lack of a jump early on and wanted to go back to once I could fly. However I understand your decisions here and I think the subtle way you pace these mechanics is really good.

As an aside I never particularly found a use for the second mechanic, which I first assumed from the image to be a 'glide' of sorts but it seemed to only be a tool to stop momentum which didn't seem necessary at any point. So I'm not too sure what to make of it.

I was almost physically forced to stop playing this entry due to the repetitive strain that 'flapping' was putting on my fingers. I feel like the general control experience of this mechanic could have been implemented better, especially as you encounter a very long tunnel of spikes which is difficult to navigate and requires a lot of rapid button presses. I worry that you will lose a lot of players at this stage not to frustration but to simple hand strain.

I liked it overall though and I think the pacing and structure was generally really strong. Congrats on making it!

zillix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:42am

I like the direction that was given to the player without the use of any words. well done!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:16pm

The room full of spikes suddenly increases the difficulty well over my threshold of patience.

insane66 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:56pm

FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFLLLLLLLLLLLYYYYYYYYYY

dook says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:59pm

This was simply great. I like how you give no description for anything, not even a word in here, and it just works out. The controls were a little off once in a while, but other than that just an awesome little game.

DrCicero says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:14am

The flying control was a little bit unpolished. I got past the spikes by button mashing. I liked the very simple graphics, though.

I accidentally left the blue planet with looking left and right, so i don't know i missed something.

Dans17 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:49pm

I can fly!!!!!!!!!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Really cool game, and extremely unique, I dig it. The controls flying are a tad difficult but it's overlook-able, nice job!

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Really nice game

hbocao says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:59pm

I really enjoyed the flying system, cause you need to balance both sides and flap at the same time. Audio would have the mood of the game. Nice!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]