Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Berta

by Spang - Jam Entry

Berta is a 2.5 Platformer game with some pretty interesting world swapping mechanics.
In it you play as Berta, a girl who has the ability to switch between worlds at her will to reach her destination, the road is not easy and there will be many obstacles to overcome but with patience everything is possible.

Beware the barbs and try not to fall into the void, that could set you back ...

Happy to have participated in Ludum Dare 30! We will see you next time! ^^



Some Controls:

WASD : Move, Jump and Double Jump.
SPACE: Swap between worlds.
ESC: Pause the game and opens the menu... (Sometimes)
BRAIN: Use it to figure out the puzzles. (Optional)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#170Audio(Jam)3.50
#190Theme(Jam)3.56
#354Innovation(Jam)3.10
#372Fun(Jam)3.05
#424Graphics(Jam)3.28
#484Humor(Jam)2.14
#494Overall(Jam)3.05
#536Mood(Jam)2.81

Comments

JetL33t says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:54am

Controls are a bit floaty but the music is awesome :P
Solid entry. Sad that there is no win condition (at least none I found)

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Lovely, nicely made game! Good job. The music is amazing. Simple idea but executed really well! :)

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Movement is shaky but the mechanic is very solid and it is great that you had the presence of mind to put in checkpoints. Graphics suit it very well, and music was fun as well, gave it something special.

Majko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Sometimes nice puzzles.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:23pm

I made it to the end - And @JetL33t there is a win condition :-)
I loved the idea, I mean really loved it. It was just sad that the slippery oontrols were more of an annoyance than a challenge. I loved that this was in 3D and I think the idea of seeing the "other world" in the background all the time is awesome, and it makes it fun to think ahead, and gives you the feeling of being smart or something :-) I loved everything about the gameplay- The graphics were decent- But those controls really bothered me- But controls aside this was a really interesting and good game. Well done!

grillaface says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Fun! Piano music is really nice too; great job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:11pm

That's a nice entry ! The puzzles are well thought and we see a good will of learning to the player.
Removing the velocity of the movements would be really cool, since we sometimes need more precision, imo ;)

Peping says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:16pm

I encountered one bug. I switched worlds, started falling and then got stuck inside the floor, so I had to start again.
But overall, it's fun and a very good game!

tbamberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Controls are a bit wonky, but otherwise it's really fun.

FlashRocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:39pm

It was neat. Theme is definitely fit, although I would have liked to see this fleshed out more (enemies, powerups, that kind of thing).

abayb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Controls were really too slippery for this type of game I thought. Music was very well done, and the entry fit the theme excellently. My only big complaint would be that the idea is far from original.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:49pm

This looks really nice and I'd like to play more of it, but the controls are just too much. :(

abeing says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Nice! this game trains your left hand skills. after you played a while it should be no problem to play guitar XD

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Nice puzzles, a little difficult.
Controls and colliders was strange but a good game.

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Good mechanic, but controls are way too drifty, and switching worlds feels really imprecise. Audio was very good though. Improve those and it'd be a great game.

ramoncb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:58pm

The character need some more precise controls...

But that double-jump and swap world at same time got me of surprise! =D

Nice way of change worlds too, really 'connected' ! Good job !

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:21am

The game was fun and a great use of the theme. Only problem is when the player moves, there is too much momentum and the player cannot slow down once moving, so it made it hard to time my jumps. Otherwise, great game. The music was good too.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:59am

I gotta ask: was the controls and slippery walking was intended? If so, bravo. Bravo!

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:42am

nice gameplay

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:49pm

As others stated, the controls feel clunky. But I like the idea and the music is nice.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:18pm

A cool entry, the character is a bt difficult to control, but that's a minor problem. Nice game

xXweeguyXx says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Pretty awesome game, great music, not a fan of the movement however :p

AlbertoSM says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:18am

Nice game! I like the idea but it could have used some polishing on the animations and the physics, since it usually feels like you are running through an ice skating range.

RobotFriend says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Cute game and concept. Controls were tricky at times.

ClownAround says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:45am

Great game design. Loved the music.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Nice puzzle mechanics and music, I liked teh colour palette too

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Haha I got a lot of "c'mon physics engine!!" moments along the way, but usually it was pretty forgiving (permissive jump conditions + checkpoints), so I made it to the end (well, to the gray wall, couldn't find more?) without too much issues. It felt a bit short though, so I guess I missed something but I really couldn't find anything more.

The graphics are pretty good and cohesive, I liked the piano bit too.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]