Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Exploder

by JoeEliTommy - Jam Entry

Theme explanation:
The game takes place in space, with the player piloting a space ship. When the player lands on a planet, it becomes a colony. When multiple colonies are present in the solar system, then they will begin to send trade ships to each other.

The planets are "world"s, and the player's role is to "connect" them.

Team:
Joe Allington
Eli Marable
Tommy Schmitz

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#284Theme(Jam)3.38
#344Fun(Jam)3.10
#393Innovation(Jam)3.00
#557Overall(Jam)2.95
#611Mood(Jam)2.63
#666Graphics(Jam)2.57
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Hi there. Look and feel is great, apart from movement of the ship which is a mystery. Show path 'C' didn't help much, couldn't work out how to move where I wanted...

SilverToad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Nice gameplay! In v.2 you need a more resources and tools +)

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:49pm

the game is very interesting and fun, good concept

Reyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Nice, I love open world space games. I also have did a space game. Build an in game tutorial as a post compo project with small achievable goals. Makes me think of kerbal space program.

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Neat game, a good take on the theme. The ship movement isn't too great, but otherwise great!

Satyre says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:06am

Nice, that's a really big solar system the player can explore. The gameplay makes fun. I wished to hear some sounds, but I guess in the post jam versions you'll add some :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:32am

This game is really awesome, but sadly it's probably going to be too hard for anyone who's lacking an understanding of orbital mechanics. I love the idea though, and that you can look at a huge chunk of space by zooming all the way out. I tried using C a few times, but could only get it to show a path when zoomed out; It would be cool to have it predict your path on a more granular scale.

LesInk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:32am

Enjoyable game to play and explore. I like the concept it was fun to crash over on other planets sometimes to find there is little to no fuel. I'll have to keep trying.

Piat says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:23am

An interesting use of the theme and neat little space sim. The controls are a little fiddly but not too bad, a range indicator on the tools would of been very helpful.

skiddings says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:11pm

I found it very hard to collect ore, but the graphics were nice

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]