Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Double You

by TobiasBodewig - Jam Entry

Double You is a game where you can create clones of yourself.
Set in the solar system you travel across four different planets solving tricky puzzles and facing challenges and opponents.

Note that not all features we wanted to implement are in yet!
Even though the 72h version will not be touched any more we will continue adding more and more features, level, story and puzzles!
Currently you can play the first four level placed on Mars. They contain a full tutorial but not yet a in depth story line...
Other than that, enjoy! And leave you're feedback :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#108Fun(Jam)3.57
#236Innovation(Jam)3.30
#312Overall(Jam)3.32
#440Audio(Jam)2.90
#481Mood(Jam)2.92
#508Humor(Jam)2.09
#520Theme(Jam)2.83
#559Graphics(Jam)2.93

Comments

CrazyDog says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Great job very good :D

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Good game but, it's not finished ? Because I don't know what I'm suppose to do at the end of level 5 :/

Tom Snively says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Really nice!

carlsommer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Good concept and level design. If you keep expanding, maybe see what kind of levels you can make requiring multiple clones at once.

klianc09 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:30pm

It's really short, given that merely the tutorial is finished.
I liked the music and the controls feel really tight.
The game idea is nothing new, but it's well implemented, I think it would just be cool, if the clone would keep standing were you left him, until you call him back, so that you can leave him on a button without having to stand on a place for a duration.

stink123456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Really fun and addictive game!

Nylonica says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Loved the audio! The mechanics were a bit chopyy.

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:27pm

That was actually really well done! The clones mimicked the exact movement which was very cool, I've played too many clone games where the clones didn't do exactly what I did and it was really hard to play.

Made me think of The Swapper (probably because of the cloning + space suit), well done!

buckslice says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:22am

Wish there was more levels, but pretty fun!

swinestudios says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:32am

Very clever and different with the clones mechanic. Don't really see something like that very often.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:36pm

When trying to run on Xubuntu:

Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Invalid format
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioDataLine.createStream(PulseAudioDataLine.java:142)
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioDataLine.open(PulseAudioDataLine.java:99)
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioDataLine.open(PulseAudioDataLine.java:283)
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioClip.open(PulseAudioClip.java:402)
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioClip.open(PulseAudioClip.java:453)
at game.res.SoundManager.loadClip(SoundManager.java:49)
at game.res.SoundManager.loadClipInCache(SoundManager.java:40)
at game.staging.StageMainMenue.<init>(StageMainMenue.java:36)
at game.staging.StageManager.<init>(StageManager.java:33)
at game.main.GameCanvas.<init>(GameCanvas.java:27)
at game.main.GameFrame.<init>(GameFrame.java:16)
at game.main.GameFrame$1.run(GameFrame.java:31)
at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(InvocationEvent.java:312)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(EventQueue.java:733)
at java.awt.EventQueue.access$200(EventQueue.java:103)
at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:694)
at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(EventQueue.java:692)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(ProtectionDomain.java:76)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:703)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(EventDispatchThread.java:242)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(EventDispatchThread.java:161)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:150)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:146)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:138)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:91)

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Couldn't run your entry, neither the executable jar, neither the source from eclipse. https://www.dropbox.com/s/4kzsdry29934rxr/TobiasBodewig.txt?dl=0

gladers says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Great use of recorded movements for the clone to make puzzles :)

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:16pm

This reminded me a lot of a game called "The Company of Myself". I liked the level design and the difficulty curve. Graphics were adequate but the sound got a little annoying after a while. Overall a pretty solid entry, I hope you continue to work on it and expand it. With a little more polish it would be a great game :)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:17pm

I had a menu get stuck in the way, so I had a hard time seeing the actual game. Concept seems neat, might be interesting with some expansion.

gwa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Awsome idea love this game was really fun to play :)

yodamaster says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:32am

I like the music. Sounds quite analog.

dancingmad says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Hey, could finish the level 5, is there a solution. Nice game by the way!

Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Nice! Awesome game! Great mechanic and very well implemented. I love my clone. He's awesome. I also love the title. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]