Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Protect Both Worlds

by Perjoka - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a deity!
Protect a small world by Building Towers to protect it from evil creatures.
But beware! The evil souls of your victims revive and want to enter your spirit realm. You can't let that happen! Shoot
them all to protect your own world!

For now Windows only, OSX will follow tomorrow.
Edit: OSX Version is now online.
I also tried to build a version that runs on Windows XP, but i don't know if it works as i can't test it.

Start the game with Protect Both Worlds\LD30\Binaries\Win32\LD30.exe.

You might need to install UE4PrereqSetup.msi first, to install required libs for Unreal Engine 4.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#432Graphics3.27
#475Theme3.36
#504Fun3.10
#602Innovation3.10
#611Humor2.24
#638Overall3.13
#769Audio2.27
#776Mood2.74

Comments

Vallar says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Great fun. It got me going for quite sometime. It needed some time to get used to the two screens and the dividing of your attention among the two areas but I figured a strategy out and it seems working.

Well done :D
(10,300 score :P)

Sequenceko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:39am

Confusing at the start, but combining tower defense and shoot m up is good idea. Just needs more work.

Lord Draficus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:47am

I had a blast playing this game. It needed a little bit of time trying to figure out how to build the towers quickly enough once the enemies really started coming on the right side.

Great job!
(29,300 score ^_^)

Snuux says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:48am

7000 score! Thanks for game! It's awesome!

zapaman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:54am

Took a few tries till I nailed my coordination! I likes it, I likes it!

magmaCrab says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:26am

Good game, had some fun shooting evil creatures. But the game crashes sometimes in the main menu.

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:16am

This comment to rate since I played before pre-voting.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Initially confusing but then I got it! Great mechanic, really innovative, kinda want to play this as a 2P game now, both games feeding into each other.

TheMorfeus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Looks fun, but cant play it due to Windows XP :C

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Oh cool! I like the challenge of keeping tabs of both worlds! Took me a few tries before I started getting anywhere, but I'm a fan of the concept! Good take on the theme!

Perjoka says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03pm

@All Thanks for all your feedback, happy that most of you seem to enjoy the game :)
@TheMorfeus i created a Version that "should" run on Windows XP, would be nice if you try it out.

c_livid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:20pm

The OSX build is broken.

Perjoka says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:51pm

@c_livid which OSX version? I tested it on Mavericks, but don`t know if it runs on older versions. If you also have Mavericks i have no idea what the problem might be :(

How exactly is it broken, doesn`t start at all?

c_livid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:12pm

After ctrl+opening it, it works on OSX (unsigned). The single sound gets annoying after some loops but the graphics look lovely - everything glows :D. The double gameplay gets hectic but is a nice idea. I had some problems while aiming - the bullets always end up in a slightly different place than intended.

(21,600 score :) )

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Hi, fellow Unreal Engine user :P I like it a lot. How did you implement the UI? UMG?

Perjoka says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:51pm

I used UMG and like it a lot, really easy to use.
Just found some annoying bugs that i had to work around but i guess that`s the price to pay when using experimental features ;)

SwiftIllusion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:16am

That was cool. Liked how because you had to re-defeat enemies destroyed by the towers, you had to plan placement better than just 'spam towers in single area' as you often would in this kind of game. Was fun :).

bobrocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:58pm

For some reason the camera angle stood out to me as just about perfect! Not sure that it actually matters, but it caught me. I like the game quite a bit now that I've figured it out. I would love to see the idea expanded upon.

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Not a bad concept, but it gets overwhelming very fast!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:10pm

I really enjoyed playing your game. It did take a min to catch on, but it got addicting from that point on! Graphics are cute too ;)

lkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Original addition to the TD genre. I really liked the extra layer of having to think about the right side at the same time as I was building on the left.

Would have been neat to see the concept even more fleshed out :)

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:38pm

That’s great fun! Although it took me some time to understand the two stages.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:23am

Great game, good idea. lacking is sound, also hard to play on laptop. Good job. - Flurkin

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:15am

I had a blast playing this.

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:56pm

7300 pt !
Interesting mix of the 2 genres, and the theme "connected worlds" is well used.
Good start, I would like to see an improved version, with separated waves, keyboards shortcut for placing towers... etc.

abeing says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:31pm

well made game, but I find it too hard/fast

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:32pm

When I try to open this in OSX it tells me that the file is damaged and should be moved to trash (I tried downloading twice).

Perjoka says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:28pm

@JoshuaBurr you might need to open it with ctrl+click as it`s unsigned, c_livid had the same problem

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:40pm

I love this! one of the best entries I've played. Awesome theme implementation too. Obviously more levels and enemies would be great, but there's not really anything bad to say here. It's simply a very well made and unique tower defense game.

Crefossus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:21am

Having to tap the mouse to fire kind of detracted from the experience for me.

Impressive amount of work for 48h.

On death perhaps zoom in on the enemy that killed you so that you could show off your hard work on the enemy :D

The layering of the black bars/ bg/ game area seemed excessive - maybe just use the tan for the entire background?

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Nice game! This is a nice way to spice up a tower defense game. Great job! :)

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:45am

awesome dude im keepin it 4 ever

vividhelix says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:41am

Good idea, gets difficult really fast. Took a while to get used to the multitasking, but then it became fun :)

Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:04pm

I'm so rubbish at tower defense games. Having said that, I think yours is well made and the shooter part kept me going for a bit. Nice work.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Hard game but cool graphics! I included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/02vIiZyi3-c

Noaksey says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Play this game, liked it! I got 23,500 - I'll link video in comment when uploaded.

Tom Gardiner says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 7:30am

Sorry I didn't get to stream your game, I ended up being busy over the week. With that said, I really like tower defense games and I find them rather addicting, and this was a nice twist on what we're used to playing. Very fun but like other people say it gets overwhelming quite fast (who necessarily said that was such a bad thing?)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]