Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Low-cost Delivery

by katanagari7c1 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the interplanetary delivery boy, and your bucket for fuel is pretty tight. Use system planet's gravity to reach the station... but be careful of all the asteroids you might find in your way!

This is my first Ludum Dare entry, and my first Phaser game as well, so although I managed to make something playable, I didn't have enough time for menus and main screen. And the code is not something to be proud of. Don't take that into account! I'm a complete newbie on JS :-(

Game controls:
Use left/right arrow to rotate the ship, and use the up button to crank the rockets up.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#741Innovation2.91
#833Theme2.82
#868Audio2.00
#922Graphics2.50
#928Humor1.53
#995Overall2.73
#1041Mood2.25
#1044Fun2.41
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:42am

Hi there. Like the idea, the slingshotting seems a bit random - after a few goes, tried approaching first planet bearing about 315deg (to 'North') very slowly... was slung out at high speed bearing approx 70deg.... Looks nice and sounds good. Like the 'short burn' approach to craft control.

BitOfGold says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Nice idea! It's a bit hard to predict where the ship is going, maybe some more fuel would be nice!

chongdashu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Hi, pretty tough game! One thing to note, the "Press Spacebar to Start" message was just out of my window screen at the bottom. Perhaps moving it up nearer the center would be better! :)

Capitals says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Nice simple idea but the physics is a bit clunky.

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:19pm

The gravity thing is a great idea! What a pitty that it seems so unfisnished. Nevertheless, I liked it!

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:18pm

The gravity physics are a bit off

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Neat little game - imho a bit too easy and short ;-)
But anyway, well done!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:25pm

The slingshotting is super weird and doesn't represent the real technique at all. I had best luck with just relying on rocket boost and drifting. Also why is there drag?

The concept has a lot of potential but it's not well applied here. The graphics and sound are well done for a 2 day game though.

George says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:19pm

I made it! Love the idea, you could work on this and make a good mobile game maybe? Nice job.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:56pm

http://i.imgur.com/8gY4IFf.jpg wat. The idea is nice, but it is pretty much unplayable as is because of the wonky physics. Good job submitting something (almost) playable though!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]