Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Portal Mortals

by aufdemrand - Jam Entry

Portal Mortals was a collaboration between the three of us @aufdemrand (code) @mastabas (artwork) and @laziergunz (music). Props to all of us for losing sleep and using our brains to make the dream reality! Also thanks to the guys at the Wright State meet up (Matt, David, and John) for hosting an event, allowing us to get away from real life and get to work.This is our first Ludum Dare submission.

The concept was hashed out by us arguing in a hotel room near Dayton, Ohio at 3 AM on Friday night at the start of the contest. The final game is nearly exactly the same as the outline we came up with that night. Hope you enjoy!

Portal Mortals is a server based multiplayer game where you are given a world and compete to satisfy the hunger of the deity of your world as well as other players' worlds. You can use the resources of your world to decorate it in any way you choose. You can travel to other’s worlds using portals and can talk to and interact with other players online as well as tour their worlds and see other’s creations. But beware! Should your deity grow hungry, it's up to you to please them before someone else does, else they will give away pieces of your world as a reward!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2202Coolness0%

Comments

Dissiden7 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:31pm

This seems like it could have potential, but unfortunately I wasn't able to play. All commands failed: "you're not sure on how to do that".
Even 'help'...

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:35pm

typing "Help" doesn't appear to do anything. I've tried the basic old-school commands and only the movement ones work (N, S, E, W), pickup, pick up, grab, take etc don't do anything.

The concept and the rest of the game look really good though. Best music I've heard so far in the compo and I'd like to give it a good score but I can't just yet. I'll save off rating for now.

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:08pm

I couldn't get into the game at all. New world button wouldn't work on chrome, internet explorer didn't even get that far :(

AdricZero says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Couldn't figure out what to do. I loved the music though. It was great, I'd buy that MP3.

Grubznug says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:07pm

You can hear all the other songs that are supposed to be in the game here: http://www.nickgunzburg.com/portalmortals

aufdemrand says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:32pm

I think we're having some DB problems --- we were devving on a newer version of CouchDB, and when we put it live it seems that Debian's package manager is several version behind. I'll take a look tonight (if that's allowed). Thanks for playing -- stay tuned!

torcado194 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:06am

yes, some documentation on the commands would be nice. all i did was move around a bunch and then stopped

pjimmy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:10pm

very interesting, could you add a list of commands in the beginning? Only after typing 'help' I've actually know what I was supposed to do.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]