Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Beginning

by Nuclear Napalm - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minimalistic, challenging and mysterious 2D adventure of strange creature.
Complete the game to reveal the truth...

***PLAESE DO NOT RATE UNTIL YOU FINISH IT***
This game is really hard. If you can't complete it, check the walkthrough video to figure out what this game about.

***SIMPLIFIED VERSION***
Since a lot of people said that game is too difficult, I added the simplified version. Even my wife managed to complete it :)
I STRONGLY RECOMMEND you to try simplified version first!

***CONTROLS***
WASD or arrow keys - move character.
Other controls explained later in game.

***STAY IN TOUCH***
Follow me on Twitter: @NuclearNapalm

Thanks for your time!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#292Mood3.31
#496Overall3.27
#607Audio2.63
#617Fun2.99
#645Graphics2.97
#694Humor2.13
#773Innovation2.86
#848Theme2.78

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:59am

Couldn't download. Gives me a page not found error.

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:34am

Yup, same here. Page not found error on the Windows download.

ploogle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:34am

DragonMaster, try http:/nuclearnapalm.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/Beginning_Win_by_NuclearNapalm.rar

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:40am

My bad. Link fixed!

ploogle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:44am

Insanely hard! Reminds me of Thomas Was Alone and VVVVVV. Honestly man, keep working on this one. I had a blast with the first three levels but didn't have time to keep playing. :)

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:46am

Norton didn't like one of the dlls.

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:48am

Nice overall mood, got lost though, in the red squeares level.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:53am

ploogle, yeah it appeared much more hardcore than I expected :)

Jupitron, follow the hotspot

someone9999 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:54am

This is really fun, but difficult! Nice job. I rage quit on the stage where you needed to collect 2 food.

It would be nice if there were checkpoints in the levels.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:57am

Hey guys!
Since this game appeared to a bit hardcore I added walkthrough video for those who can't complete the game - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AsDNMcukSpg

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:40am

Also added web version for your convenience - http://nuclearnapalm.com/2014/08/the-beginning-ld30/

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:22am

Seems like good fun, still got stuck in the level with the red squares, could need some better orientation design. Maybe borders at least.

Nanofus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50am

A really fun game! Love the minimalistic design, however I would have added a bit more details to flesh out the large levels.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:18am

Nanofus, thanks! Sure, it still requires a lot of polishing (visuals, physics), 2 days are not enough. But it playable at least :D

RegularSlinky says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Lots of mood in this for such a simple game. I couldn't work out the 3rd level though. I want to come back and try again later. Nice job.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:14pm

RegularSlinky, thanks for the kind words! Yeah, it seems that level 3 appears to be the most confusing, so I would recommend to check walkthrough video to save some time on it.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:16am

For how long those levels are, going back to the start one one hit is pretty brutal. I was confused on level 3, so I tried a bunch of different stuff, and after watching the video, I just didn't have the patience to go through it that many times again.

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:18am

Very nice, but really really tough.

The stages are way too long, either split them or add checkpoints.

MoArtis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:38am

A nice entry but yeah the game is really challenging. :P [Spoiler]This kid will certainly be an hardcore gamer :)[/spoiler]

tommyboys0107 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:57am

It's difficult and challenging.

Time to play through a level is a little long.

ruerob says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:13am

Nice little game.I had to look in the video tutorial, because I was flying around in the level with the light and didn't know what to do. Maybe an explanation would help at this point. The rest was great and fun. Thank you.

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:42pm

A great game - had a lot of fun!

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Hardest game I've ever play, but still cool. Somehow I felt like playing a 18+ game, because of the character's movement xDDDD

kdunee says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Had to use a walkthrough for the part with red squares and light sphere (took a bit too many "bounces" in my opinion). Other than that it was a solid, challenging game.

Aglavra says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:52pm

I played the simplified version till the end, and also tried the hardcore one. I liked the idea, although I guessed what this game is about when I reached third level.

okeedokeben says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Really cool concept, and the controls feel nice. If I had more patience, I might have stuck with the hardcore version. :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Hi there. Interesting game, I like the passenger comments! nice pulse sounds too.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Hippolyta, thanks!
MyougaHiroshi, haha, great!
kdunee, yeah, this level the most confusing, so I managed to add tutorial and reduce number of checkpoints in simplified version.
Aglavra, nice :)
mrexcessive, yeah, I belive that this commets really contribute to the story and the mood of the game.
Thank you all! I really appreciate it!

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Okay, I've played it more, and it makes more and more sense xDDDD

parahunter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:38pm

SPOILERS I liked the mechanics a lot. You really got a lot of mileage of out them. I can't see however how they have to do with growing inside your mother's womb. Could you explain?

tbamberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Neat. Played the simplified version, maybe I'll try the hardcore next :)

Tommislav says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:40pm

I thought that I bounced off that white circle (the light). Very hard without any other preferences. When the "easy" version told me to follow the light I did not understand what the light was. Finally gave up and watched the video.
You set a really good mood, and agree with the commenter that this simplistic graphical style gives some Thomas Was Alone-vibes (which is good)

stasss says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Nice concept! Looks powerfull.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Interesting game, yet pretty challenging (played hardcore version) Strong entry!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Really quaint game with a nice concept if a bit hard in places.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:14am

wow that was a very nice story, and the atmosphere was very lovely. The heartbeat was a nice touch to, very well done! :)

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:51am

Love the minimalist style!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:07am

Graphics are pleasant and mood atmospheric. Well done ++

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:36am

Nice game! Gets pretty brutal near the middle.

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:58am

Death, after death, after death I beat the hardcore version, somehow with my hair intact. Really loved the atmosphere here and the difficulty was a pleasant surprise because most LD games are either way to easy or stupidly hard. Only complaint was that level 3 had a really unclear goal without looking at a guide (which I didn't) but after guessing what the game's name meant I figured it out.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:28am

AlucardX60, Wow! I really surprised that someone managed to beat hardcore version! Bravo!

Zolmeister says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:40am

Hard, but really good. Definitely impressive for only 48 hours.

Oxeren says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:06am

Interesting game, enjoyed it.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:45am

nice one! a little hard but that's okay :D

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Lost in the red squares. Too much nothing happening there.

hexagore says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Love the difficulty, the graphics, the mood. It's cool. Not sure I like the icon you've got against the 'simplified version' on your webpage though :P

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:17pm

@hezagore, haha, why so serious?(c)
Actually, my wife was a "difficulty check" for this version, so it's really version "for girls"))) Anyway, don't get it serious)

akymos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Very nice game! Good job.

bazld says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Very enjoyable game to play, with interesting level design and ideas. I played the simplified version :)

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Dude it's hard. And totally amazing. One of my favorites. Incredible work!

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:16pm

I thought the game was about a sperm and egg but then the white circle ended up not being the egg. Who knew there were so many lasers and dangers inside the body?

crneumre says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Amazing work but the levels in the hardcore version are way too long for me to have enough patience to go back and fourth and die when i get the second food( :( )
I would recommend adding some kind of checkpoint for long levels like the fifth one.
Also in the fifth level where you get the pixel to the left ,there were times where i went too much to the left and got stuck in the wall resulting in that i couldn't move up so i died from the red rectangle which moves up and down.
But i will come back and try again.
Overall a fun and interesting experience well done!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:22am

Nice idea, nice interpretation of the theme. I played the simplified version and got to level 5 of the original version, and I was convinced I was a creature in some sort of lab. :P

Very well done.

tchem says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:20am

very interesting proposes... strange, unique and beautiful minimalism idea.... i loved it,,,, great work!!!

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:08am

Wow - truly impressive. That's a lot of level design to cram into 48 hours! Great works, one of the best entries I've seen on here.

I don't even have any critiques. Yes, it's hard, but in the right way. There's a good feeling of accomplishment after finally clearing a tough stage.

CrefossusJam says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:01pm

I thought the harder version was more fun because of the challenge of each individual obstacle, but didn't like that there were no checkpoints/the long levels.

The laser section was tedious because of the throw distance of the block. Instead just drop it? I liked the coloration change between picked up and dropped.

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Played the web version, very tough. I have to admit that in the end I chickened out and used the walkthrough :/ Very nicely done!

ninjascript says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:33pm

That was insanely tough. Well executed though!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Amazing game, great ending! One of the best interpretations of the theme I have seen thus far! :)

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Very original and very difficult. WIN! hardcore gaming fun!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Thats simply amazing .. nice job dude! The sound really helps immerse you in the game

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:37pm

How cute! I didn't see it coming. Good job! (I played the simplified version and it was hard enough for me :) )

fil00dl says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:57pm

good length with many various situations

OFF says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:37am

Actually i see the end coming... in the video!
+1 to have finish yourself a really hard game(some people can't finish their own game! ;) )

The level design and mechanisme became more interesting (and so hard!) in the last levels/

Everything is well polished, design, movement, control, even the particles. As is said too hard for me, but a good game.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:58am

Amazing game. Gameplay was very smooth. I had to switch to the simplified version to actually beat it. Glad I did, the story behind it all was very good. :)

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:20am

+mood +graphics (yes, I really liked the minimalist style!)

There is nothing stronger than the bond between a woman and child ... except that between gamer and keyboard!

Damn difficult!

pikkpoiss says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Nice atmosphere and very interesting take on the theme. I also liked the gradual build-up of the player's abilities.

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Wonderful game. Especially regarding the limited time. I really like thearcade elements and they're nicely intertwined with the story. Really beautiful.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:07pm

This was really difficult! I could only reach level 4. I really enjoyed the game though. Nice mood and puzzles were well designed.

5T4MP5 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:21pm

It was interesting to play. Seems like there is a lot of room for development from your core mechanics. Blends exploration with tough, skill based gameplay really well.

pansapiens says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:35am

I really like the simple design of the corridors - just by throwing a few triangles protruding from the sides it becomes stylish and interesting.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:06am

I thought I was a bacteria floating in someone's gut...

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:04am

That was a very enjoyable entry. Something about the way the light moves made it feel like the character bounced off it. I suppose it'd the lack of anything else around it to ground your location. The laser mechanics were fun and the final level was pretty intense!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:43am

I had no idea I had to do so much to get born! My parents didn't give me enough credit. An elegant design, with appealing visuals! Great work for two days!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:46am

Really nice ambiance and overall look and feel. It's challenging but not too hard, really rewarding!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:40am

Lovely mood and the controls were tight, camera jitter was a little annoying (probably a frame behind, use LateUpdate() for your camera), overall excellent entry!

someone says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:21pm

That was cool. Very hard though.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Liked the simplicity of the game and the text worked well in helping to set the mood.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:43am

This is some trippy good stuff

runvs says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:14am

Nice Game!
Graphics and audio are simple yet very effective. Could have gone with the Global Game Jam 2013 though (heartbeat).
Very challenging, but not unfair and I kind of like hard games. Very impressive job!

H1S2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:15am

It is not very easy and I liked the Story. I'm really amazed by how many levels you managed to make. good job

gwa says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Cool minimalism style

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Great mood and feel, got lost on the third level (with the red squares) - maybe a minimap or some directional arrow would help to know where to go...

AlbertoSM says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:59pm

I kept thinking this is one of those games where they trick you into playing a maze game and then scare you! hahaha
Nice execution and style! The first few levels can get a bit boring, though.

Shide says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:57am

Great!
Simple, but interesting gameplay, and plot is very intriguing.
And the plot-twist in the end really amazing!

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Controls are very good. I liked the minimal style.

EnigmAraigne says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:15pm

I like the idea, but I had no fun with lvl 3, but still the hole project seems nice.

spotco says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Got spoiled by reading the blog post first :(

Wertle says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:26am

Fantastic twist at the end to bring all things into context! The drift in the mechanics added just enough subtle complexity to really set this apart as a puzzle game. Definitely difficult but you clearly have addressed this already. Really wonderful job!

Nick Weihs says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:27am

I really enjoyed this game having actually got to the end. Still a little baffled on the lasers. I feel like the mid levels were a bit overtuned and long, but you said you fixed that. Still, I think it ramped overall pretty well, and the ending was super great. Nice job.

Chaoseiro says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:45am

Amazing! A great game using simple graphics :D (finished original game)
I have only one complain: checkpoints please!

JoJoyX says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:11am

Great compo, I may try to finish in hardcore mode later :p

whalebot says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Nice work with this. Great interpretation of the theme.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:15am

Great game! Creative and nice graphics. Good job overall!

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 10:10pm

I liked the simple graphics. Yeah the game is hard, but I enjoyed it. Good job!

rogueNoodle says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 11:49am

Great mood (the heart beat is very effective), and a very interesting/challenging) concept. Nice work!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Cool concept, I was suspicious from the beggining I was an ebmryo. Great challenging levels.

Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Last level on the simplified version was still really tough!

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Very interesting entry

mcapraro says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:00pm

very interesting level design, really neat!

ajopart says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:10am

Very nice

AkirAssasin says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:32pm

I couldn't complete the game but I guess that I am controlling some child or something, and the beats are the mother's heart beating?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]