Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Share!

by Fumiko - Jam Entry

Welcome to Don't Share! - The game were all players are connected but not. You can't see other players, but you'll see their actions. If chests are opened before your eyes and enemies die in sight, you'll know that you're not alone.
We're playing at about 5PM GMT+2 - but the server is always online so grab a friend and try it out.

controls:
WASD Movement
space - jump
leftmouse/leftCtrl - attack
rightmouse/leftAlt - dash

Also full Controller support (tested with X-Box Controller)

specialfeature: you can hum your own tune and pretend its the game soundtrack - that's awesome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#194Graphics(Jam)3.85
#387Theme(Jam)3.16
#423Mood(Jam)3.00
#540Innovation(Jam)2.76
#550Overall(Jam)2.96
#667Fun(Jam)2.46
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

homeworld says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:18am

Great moody title, very nice style! I managed to fall to the bottom a lot though, and the multiplayer element would probably work better if there'd be more people playing ;)

Fumiko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:47pm

We'll be working on the multiplayer and release a new Version in the next few weeks. :) There's still a long way to go when the time was up, so we'll do a second release once ludum dare voting finished. So we can improve stability, add a chat log, real usernames and an ingame chat to actually see who's online.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:32pm

The gameplay goes a little hard at times but I love the design

kyyrma says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:44pm

This was a rather trippy experience, unfortunate that I couldn't really see the connectivity due to lack of players. Were the models made by your team? I thought the player character has badass design, pat the designer on the back if he is around.

Malapropos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:14pm

I like the idea of how you implemented the theme into game mechanics. Played quite a bit trying find events in the world that were triggered by other players, but unfortunately I couldn't see any. It was fun exploring and trying to get to different places.

Fumiko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Thanks man - i am glad to hear that you liked my character-designs. :)
Indeed everything seen in the game is handcrafted during the time of ludum dare - we didnt reuse any models or code - although that may have been a good idea. :D

Fumiko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Also some of the onlinefeatures seem to bug right now and we're unsure whether we're in our right to fix codesnippets after submitting our entry.

Headmade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:24pm

The web link is actually a download.

gnuwind says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:25pm

I like your artwork, but I cant access your web version.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Character design is great, definitely the first thing that grabbed my attention. Like how much you were able to get in in the short amount of time you had. Was actually fun just walking around the environment and seeing what was around. Also the use of theme was really interesting because it made me aware to look for anything out of the ordinary which worked well for keeping me focused on the environment.

Fumiko says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:32pm

The Weblink is gonna get fixed rather soon (either by getting the build right or removing the weblink) - thanks for hinting it to us.
Hey Franklins Ghost - thanks for the nice words - glad you had a somewhat good time with our game. :)

Fumiko says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Hey everyone! We figured out a way to get the webplayer working and we also fixed a few bugs which where disabling some of the online features. But alas now you can enjoy the full content of our game. Have fun. :)

spotco says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:53am

Really impressive graphics and character animations (especially for such a short time!)

Gameplay felt a little wonky and incomplete, sad to see you didn't get to finish the "dungeon crawler" concept you had in mind.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:24am

Nice take on the theme and amazing effort for getting a multiplayer game done on such little time, even though I could not see any interactions happen. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]