Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 30

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Caught Between - rooter4 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A/D or Arrow Keys = Left/Right
W or Up Arrow = Jump
Space = Shoot

Hint: Jump on the small enemies, shoot the bigger ones.

A laser-eyed cyclops has found himself stranded between two converging planets. He needs to traverse this dangerous situation, gather fuel for his ship, and leave these planets behind before its too late.

This is my first Ludum Dare, and I have to say I actually enjoyed it.

The game is very unforgiving. Due to time restrictions, I was unable to make multiple levels, the compromise was making one big, difficult world.

Tools Used:

Programming: HaxeFlixel w/ Flash Develop
Art: Adobe Photoshop & Pickle Tile Editor
Sounds: Ableton Live 9 , Sfxr, & Audacity
Map: Ogmo Editor
Energy: Powdered Donuts & Gatorade



note - The menu text may be a bit janky in the web version, HaxeFlixel is new to me and there is not alot of helpful documentation.

Bonus for those who wanted to play with checkpoints-
(please don't base your ratings on this version):
http://rooter4.itch.io/caught-between---ld30-v11

View rooter4's journal. | View all entries by rooter4

Ratings

Coolness100%
#405Fun3.22
#423Audio2.91
#452Graphics3.23
#471Overall3.29
#519Humor2.38
#568Mood2.97
#637Theme3.15
#810Innovation2.82

Comments

oobie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:23am

I liked it! I had a bug though where when I was moving it kept moving even when I was not holding down the button. This resulted in me falling of the edge. Good though!

rooter4 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:40am

Thanks for the heads up! I've been trying to recreate the problem on my end, but with no luck. I'll try uploading the most recent build, because this does make the game kinda unbeatable.

komjaur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:27am

i liked it

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Spikes are so cruel =(

arzi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Nice platformer. I think the controls work quite well (except it's a bit hard to switch 'side' by jumping, it just keeps reverting back).

Belvar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Quite challenging but fun game. Beautiful pixel art.

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Pretty and really easy controls :) liked it

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Checkpoints bro, checkpoints.

ehtd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Took me by surprise when world rotated. Nice game

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:26pm

I liked those obvious arrows, it looked pretty silly in start, but after minutes of playing, it really added atmosphere. Good work!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Loved being able to jump between planets, it's like the movie Upside Down

unnamed1334 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:46pm

A difficult game with good art. I had fun playing but couldn't finish it. I only ever died to the instant death spikes.

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Neat game, though the spikes are a little unforgiving :P

Lvyn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Didn't start :( Too bad I like the slug on the picture :(

robbd7 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Reminds me of Kid Chameleon in the best way

Lvyn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Never mind :D The web version works fine ^^ Nice game ! I like it !

Conk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Really cool, a bit too hard for me to complete though :P good job!

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Aw man, I have to restart from the beginning every time I die?? The spinning screen made me pretty dizzy, but it was also pretty cool, to flip like that. There was one part where I was trapped in a narrow corridor with enemies that I had to jump on, but if I jumped I'd flip to the other side... I didn't know what to do in that situation (the enemies were lined up with one another so I couldn't just get under one on the ceiling and jump). With a checkpoint system I would have played all the way to the end!

rooter4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:09am

I thought about adding checkpoints. I think what made me decide against it at the time was the limited amount of time to make levels. Now that i think about it, the average player wouldn't have time to put 5-10 tries into it and checkpoints would have been a good idea.

Although that gaming high you get when you finally make the perfect run was pretty great.

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:02am

Very well done. Seems to be a lot of content, and I think having one big world is actually something a little different.

vandriver says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:03pm

i think with checkpoints this would have been amazing. i tend to 'check out' how things damage me when i first go through games and restarting every time kind of killed it. was having fun otherwise, though!

CoolIron says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:58am

Nice one. But it's frustrating to start over again and again. It would be nice to have checkpoints here :)

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:06pm

I died near the end. No checkpoints :(

LaFleur says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Great job with this! Really liked the mood and art you presented here!

mihaivdev says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Nice entry! Tight controls, touched the theme well, and I loved the blood particle effect. Bonus points for using HaxeFlixel :)

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Really nice graphics! And good music!

mechabit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:21am

Cool game, I liked the swap between worlds but it keeps spinning if you're near both worlds and you hold jump which made me dizzy lol. Also damn those spikes!

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Good entry man i enjoyed it! Fun platformer

pikkpoiss says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Very cool entry! The art style, music, and sound effects were awesome, and exploiting the gravity shift to fall down on top of enemies and explode them into a shower of pixel giblits will never get old.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:01pm

nice, great game

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:30am

Nice intro! Good graphics and decent audio. But the best for me was the gameplay, I didn't expect so many types of enemies and traps, and then to flip between one way and the other. Great take on the theme and good job!

jpmit says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:35pm

nice job

lkr says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:55pm

That was really fun :) Love the pixel art, and the platforming controls feel good.
Died right before the last gas can on my best attempt in the compo version - jumping into an off-screen laser :(

The only problem I had was that my character would sometimes keep moving after I let go of the key, which always resulted in a death. Happened in both the compo and checkpoint versions.

Other than that - great game!

Kortuga says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Good idea, although the implementation was sort of lacking. I feel like the gravity-switching should've been utilized more for the gameplay. There were some sections were you had to switch planets to stomp enemies or to grab fuel which I thought were pretty good, I think it would've been better if there were more of that and less platforming / shooting. Also respawn time for checkpoints was kinda long, an instant respawn after the death animation without a button would probably work better.

tchem says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:39am

maybe checkpoint will be cool,,,, i like the graphics and idea theme. congrats

malf says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:26pm

good ole platformer The jump/switch mechanics confused me a bit

Perjoka says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:35am

great game!

ninjascript says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Nice graphics and solid gameplay.

Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:24am

Nice platformer! Music really helps to immerse into atmosphere of the game.

banana4life says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Switching is sometimes a little bit confusing. But i like the style! :)

Manou says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:11am

Interesting graphics and gameplay.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:18am

Very strong entry. those red laser guns killing you in one hit tho, cmoooon... Not in a checkpoint-less game with health!

Actually, just making all the stuff that kills you in one hit reduce life instead would have made the lack of checkpoints a lot more fair, its that mix of one-hit-KOs and the long level that's problematic really. Makes a huge difference.
I'd say, either make everything kill you in one hit but add checkpoints, or make most (if not all) things damage your health and leave checkpoints out (or have very few of them)

vividhelix says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:51am

Nice, took me a bit to get use to the flip but it was pretty well timed and refined. Good game!

John Drury says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Neat platformer, Animations were great.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Cool game! Loved the use of gravity switching, although it was a little buggy and too sudden. I wish there were some more sound effects. But overall I enjoyed this game. Great job!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Very entertaining game. Reminded me of VVVVVV.
One thing I think that could have been done better, were the gravity jumps, after switching side the camera rotates in a way that leaves the player very confused. When its needed to switch side many times I even get a bit nauseous. Maybe like in VVVVVV, you should just turn the character upside down, and not the whole environment.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]