Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Harmony

by LeftRight92 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Harmony is a game about creating balance between connected planets.
Spawn in new planets and settle one of the six races on each.
Use your powers to maintain the balance and prevent war and monopolizing breaking out.
The aim of the game is to have all six planets cooperating with every other planet peacefully.


====Important====
The game takes a minute or two to load through and I don't know how to do loading screens properly. Please wait until the start game button changes when you hover over it.
(Sorry, I'll look into this for future games/releases!)

===Instructions===
(Transcribed from main menu)
Create harmony between many planets by balancing their economic and millitary power.

=Getting Started=
Spawn in six planets of your choice, use the tooltips down the bottom to decide which will be most appropriate.
Next, settle the six peoples on the planets, again use the tooltips to decide who is suited for each planet
The six races will slowly advance and achieve space travel capabilities, use this time to try and balance their rates of millitary and economic growth with each other

=Making Connections=
Once a planet discovers space travel, it will start building a sphere of influence, if two planets' spheres of influence connect, they make contact.
If one planet has a stronger millitary than the other, it will attempt to overthrow it by launching red missiles at it, damaging the other planet's millitary strength.
Similarly, if one planet has a much bigger economy, they will attempt to buy out the planet's businesses, by sending green corporate ships, damanging the other's wealth.

=Objective=
Create a balance, such that all planets send only blue civilian ships to each other.
If a planet's millitary strength or wealth hit zero, the planet is overthrown and the game is lost.
Also, if a planet's progress to space travel goes back to 0% or goes under 100% after achieving it, the game is lost.

====Post-Mortem====
You can now read my post mortem and dev story here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/09/01/390731/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#236Innovation3.58
#255Theme3.67
#379Overall3.38
#468Graphics3.21
#604Mood2.93
#623Fun2.97
#772Audio2.26
#931Humor1.50

Comments

jab says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Fun game, very detailed. Maybe a little too many buttons.. I really liked the planet graphic style. Nice one!

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Cool concept. It loaded for me perfectly in under 3 seconds. It's also pretty fun but since so many people opted for space games I'll deduct some theme points.

Capitals says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:59pm

I really enjoyed the game despite the fact that it was a bit slow getting to the interaction stage but fun. I would however want to be able to see the text easier!

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:08pm

This is pretty interesting and fun! I think it would be helpful to have more or different onscreen info to better understand the state of affairs at a glance, but that's probably a lot easier said than done.

Definitely think you did very nice work. I played through a few quick rounds and then finally started getting the hang of it.

Visuals are fun to watch, especially once space travel starts taking place! It's also fun to just try random stuff to see what happens, but it's also thought provoking as you try to control the pace of development and keep tension within and between worlds minimal.

Great job tying in with the theme!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Nice game, it would be nice to see na online multiplayer, so other people would Interact with its on planets.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:14pm

GUI scale in web version seems a bit small, but the game is pretty interesting

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:14pm

I have not figured out how to play well but it looks like a very promising game and future, very good

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Great ambitious entry! Would be cool if the planets changed with their progress somehow, depending on what was focused on it. Solid! :)

Joror says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Quite a nice game, a bit slow to get started (space interaction is nicest). Letters are toooo tiny though.

seantheartist says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Interesting and fun game! I almost felt like you didn't need the hybrid planets/races. Also it would have been helpful to have the selected planet highlighted somehow. Great work!

bushmango says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:30am

Good idea. I wish I could see the planets zone of influence and the small white text on the black and white background was really hard for me to read.

liquidminduk says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:13pm

lots going on in this game, might be good to streamline it a little or introduce additional buttons as you go along

HeyChinaski says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Great idea. It was fun but it might have been moreso if it was a little simpler and better balanced.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Cool game, but too difficult for me. I tried to keep things balanced, but the minute the planets came into contact with each other they spammed so many rockets that the planets were entirely enveloped and the game lagged to a standstill. And then I lost. So I guess I shouldn't run for galactic president any time soon. :P

LeftRight92 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:24pm

@frogcheese
Dammit, I had hoped I'd squashed that bug...apparently not. Thing is, I'm still not entirely sure what causes it....

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Very polished gameplay, it was not easy to keep a nice balance between planets. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]