Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Once Inside

by TautNerve - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls
Left / Right Arrow Keys: Move
Space: Jump
Up Arrow Key: Talk / Enter Structure

Make sure to have the sound on for a better experience :)
Sorry for the lack of web / other OS support, the game
is confirmed to work with Wine though.

If Chrome is acting all suspicious make sure to right click
and select keep, then you can scan the file with any tool
to remove all doubts

Software
Built in: Multimedia Fusion 2
Graphics in: Adobe Photoshop CS6
Audio in: Cockos Reaper / sfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#4Mood4.47
#32Audio3.93
#39Graphics4.25
#110Overall3.76
#189Theme3.75
#581Humor2.28
#668Fun2.91
#755Innovation2.89

Comments

rlangewi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:32am

I really like the vibe and graphic style, good work!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:36am

So sad :( It reminded me of games like Knytt Story or Botanicula. Great work on the mood.

iSamurai says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:44am

It looks quite interesting. Could you add mac version or web version, as I don't have a windows machine :(

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:11am

Cool idea. The music was great too, really atmospheric and I like the simple art.

DrCicero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:54am

Why did you provide version that is not archived? Seems kind of redundant.
I love how the one who can see ghost, is the only one who turns around for you!
Wonderful art style!
Works with wine on linux!

SnoutUp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Amazing art, couldn't stop looking at backgrounds. And I feel a bit sad now, very atmospheric.

xWarZonex says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Interesting game with really nice art, good job.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Great atmosphere and music. I also liked the graphics.

Jod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Wow, that was well done! I love what you did with the graphics. It's a very cool way of doing them, extremely impressive! The music also complements the story.

Very good, if sad, little story.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Are you planning on putting the web version? I have some problems with windows one but I'd like to check the game as the graphics are promising. Your colours are superb ;)

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:47pm

+10 for the fact that that dude who "sees things" turns around when you walk past him xD

Art is absolutely beautiful, and so is the concept. The message is thought-provoking and more hopeful than sad IMO. I really loved this. Great entry.

TautNerve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:10pm

@nonetheless I would love to put a web version out as I know most people prefer playing it online (and some have different operating systems), but I am having some technical difficulties with Multimedia Fusion 2 with that. Maybe I could find a solution, if so I'm definitely putting a web version.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Top points on the mood. Nice little exploration game :)

darklightteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Nice graphics and music!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Wow, that was rather moody. And very pretty

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Really like the art. Touching story :)

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Wow. What a beautiful game. The first one this LD to make me stop and sit back from my keyboard. A genuinely moving and poetic story. Beautiful art and music. I'm so glad I played.

TautNerve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Thanks for the kind words everybody! Played and rated
everybody who posted a comment, thanks for showing me
the way to your games :)

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:00am

Oh... this is special. Very pretty and moody. When... the *thing*... happened I was like... "oh no... i didn't mean to... MY MOTHER!"
Congrats on your first LD, man! Great start!

Logan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:28am

A nicely-presented little story. You really nailed the mood.

Jiyambi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Lovely colours, and the character designs were awesome. I loved all the different shapes, and the little "leaf" on top of the main character's head gave it so much personality. Beautiful, great job!

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:13am

wow I quite like the art style and the gameplay is pretty good too

Shide says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:21am

Well, graphics and audio are good, theme elaborating is quite ingenious. But, well, there is nothing to play in this game, it's more like Dear Ester-ish thing

TautNerve says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:41am

@Shide I would not say that there is nothing to play, but rather that this is a different kind of game to most games
as this does not have a failure state. The general idea behind this game is exploring the world and building the backstory using the provided information pieces and visuals.
You could play the game and finish it by just walking all
the way to the right and then all the way to the left, but
what I tried to do is provide some distractions along the
way to guide the player into really sinking into the mood
and collecting the small little pieces of story into a
whole. But everybody entitles to their own opinion so hey,
this is just what I think about it :)

nonetheless says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:58pm

I've finally managed to play it and I like it :) It would be nice if there was a little animation of this tail thing on the head, while the hero is walking, but generally art is great. I love that you see only eyes in the dark. And I think it should be considered more as interactive story or experience, that you can basically craft yourself by talking and discovering. Great job :)

leafarz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:19am

wow really awesome game! kind of reminds me of the game coma!
i liked the visuals it was really great! the eerie sounds were really cool.
i liked how the grass moved and how one (i only noticed one) npc was turning towards you whatever side you are in. also how the white foreground fades in and fades out!
really great game! which it had more content for longer gameplay. great job!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:34am

This is a hard entry to rate! As a story, I really enjoyed its simplicity and elegant construction, and it's hard for me to call it just a walking simulator when walking about really added to the characterization. More like a visual novel with walking included, if you ask me. I'm glad that there wasn't any skill-based lock-and-key level design for this one, frankly. The animations were really cute. I liked the waving grass and how spare everything was, though I wasn't sure why you put the guy with just his bed in there. I think it would have been really cool if his whole place was filled with yellow dudes when you come back -><- Because he made space for them, right?

Anyway, thanks for the game!

Code White says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:53am

Loving the visual effects, and you set the mood great!

dook says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Very nice mood in this! I love the characters and the details, like the 'seeing' guy turning to look at you in the second world :) The running animation with those tiny feet was cute.

kyru says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Weird atmospheric game, it was interesting to play.

Aglavra says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:58pm

I wonder, how such atmospheric beautiful art can be created in 48 hours... Really liked the game, although the ending is sad.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Very touching game with phenomenal art. Great job.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:43pm

I loved the colors and graphics. The game was simple, but it told a complete and compelling story, and then made me sad. Great job!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:19am

Love the art style and attention to detail. Although more of an interactive story than a game it was quite the experience!. The mood is perfectly achieved by the music, graphics and dialogue! Amazing job!

Ramiel says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Very cool atmosphere. Graphics and sound fit perfectly. Good job.

Mach60KAS says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Very atmospheric, I loved the music and art style! I really like what you've done here, there are so many nice little touches in the environment and with the characters. Great job, keep it up! :)

alvivar says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 7:31am

I love it! 5!

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Really great, short game

JaJ says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:44am

Nice art style, I like the colors. The dialogue boxes felt a bit out of place. I like the story, but to me it was kind of predictable what would happen.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]