Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Catapult

by OinkIguana - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Default controls:
Arrow keys - move
Z - select
X - menu
C - Run / Cancel

Two floating worlds are joined together by large cords. On one are the poor, and the other the Nobles. Stanley doesn't like being poor and wants to go to the Nobles' Land. Help him get across the Chasm and reach his future!

The Windows version runs a faster and the sounds are smoother than in the HTML5 one, though both are playable.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#175Humor3.09
#257Mood3.35
#304Audio3.15
#417Theme3.43
#514Overall3.25
#695Graphics2.89
#699Fun2.88
#1027Innovation2.43

Comments

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Nice storyline. Great game!

Cosmologicon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:32pm

The pacing is a little slow, but the storyline is good enough to keep me engaged. I was really looking forward to the ending, too bad it has to end with tha cliffhanger.

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:56am

Good story, graphics and audio is pretty good.

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Good job. Music and sound was a little loud, but it was a relief I could disable them in settings.

cudabear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Very nice game! For being so small it felt very complete! There was just enough work to be done without making it feel tedious. I'm curious to know what will happen to Stanley in the future, if you ever continue!

Peping says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:34pm

This game is great! I was still waiting to be able to get into the castle and steal all the nice things. :D That would've been asking too much, I guess.

Benjamin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Good narrative, I like the story too. I was stuck in the beginning unable to find the catapult ( misses the crossroad ) maybe letting player see it from the outside might help.
After that it was funny, not too not to difficult. a very good entry !
Yet, I think the music was killing the mood, not bad but a quieter would have been better.
my favorite quote : "I know bacon is very special to you mum" :D

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Glad to know you guys are liking it so far!

I'll consider continuing it one day - Get some nicer graphics, fix this sound loudness that seems to be an issue for some, and then make it longer. I have a number of other serious game ideas that I'll have to work on (and hopefully sell) so I'm not sure about it.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Thats a lot of walking around, that's how you know it's a proper RPG ;). The story was pretty basic but kept me somewhat interested. Only bug I noticed was one of characters in the village telling that Phil is in the forest when he was right next to her (was it a her? I don't know, they all look like penises with balls for legs to me) and Phil telling me he had found "this rock here" or something because I collected the vines before I was asked to.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:25am

This was an excellent entry. This game represented the theme perfectly!

gnx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Solid oldschool rpg. Lots of content you've gotten in, very impressive. Some criticism on how walky the game is. Like for example after finding the catapult, it'd be nice if you got teleported to the village or otherwise a quicker route there.

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:33pm

You had a nice hook. I immediately wanted to know what the other world was like, which really compelled me to complete the game. I was a nice surprise when we got to actually go to the other world... I was half-expecting the ending to be firing the catapult. The cliff hanger was a bit of a bummer since I wanted to know more of the story. As others have said, the walking was a bit tedious, and the game was begging for more polish. Never-the-less, I enjoyed it.

Nice menu system btw.

suppi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:30pm

really nice entry. well done :)

sprawl says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:22pm

It's always nice to play games with story in a gamejam. The story was compelling, but unfortunately the walking was too slow and it made the game a little too tedious.

I really think i'd be work to polish and finish the game. There doesn't seem to be much missing to make a great small game. Good job on your entry !

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Haha yeah walking and walking... I was tired of it too believe me. Last time I made an RPG you couldn't run. That was even worse. I think I'll perfect the walking balance in a game eventually.
Also, glad you like the menu system - I've gone through many attempts until settling on this one.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Very well made story-based game. The story followed the theme and was pretty interesting. Well done.

whilefun says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:57pm

It's great that you included a story and NPCs. Something we don't see enough of in LD entries I think. I found the controls a bit sticky (only one direction at a time). Good work overall.

rojo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:07am

The story was interesting. My biggest complaint is that I walked super slow.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:17am

It seemed a bit laggy, and the character moved too slow (possibly because of the lag?). Other than that, pretty decent top-down adventure game. A lot of backtracking, and the maps weren't that interesting, but it's still pretty engaging, nonetheless.

ReactorScram says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Very cool. The layout of the world doesn't make much sense, I had collected 4 vines and seen the rock before I even got to the catapult. At the very beginning I had to guess which house was even mine. It took me a while to pick up the crowbar because I had to be standing away from it but facing it.

Someone else mentioned that the controls feel laggy, I think it's because of the grid system. Pokemon seems to get away with it, but I think their player moves faster. I would have been fine if the player's run speed was the default walk speed.

I really want to know what's in Ms. Wren's garage now.

markusfisch says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:02pm

That's a lot of story for just 48 hours! Great work!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:08am

Rather adorable entry, too bad it's not concluded, I'm curious what would happen later. I also agree that walking is a bit slow, though at least there's the speed-up button (speed-up buttons, how useful they are...).
Still, that's really good as for 48 hours.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Nice job, pretty elaborate game for the compo! Funny story too. Improvements: the music doesn't fit the mood very well (and stutters a lot on the web version). I also have to agree with Moosefly on the penis-thing... The biggest problem for me was the slow walking speed.

EncryptedCow says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:57pm

5's all around. loved the story, graphics were nice, music fit very well. deserving of a sequel.

Snail_Man says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Nice game! I liked the story and the characters. The music was a bit too intense to fit the rest of the game though.

yodamaster says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Starts quite promising, but then crashes Google Chrome on Mac.

twintrite says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Cool short story and a nice "teaser" for an even bigger game! And you finished yours in 48h when I couldn't even finish my RPG in 72h but maybe you still want to take a look. Again, well done :)

dokidoki says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:47am

Cool, but I can't seem to pick up the crowbar. (HTML5 version) ReactorScram mentioned facing it, but I always face "down"?

Sep 9, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Nice entry.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]