Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Inner Self

by cstudios - Jam Entry

This is a game about inner struggle of survival, and about our connection to our body. How does our inside world influences our outside.

We hope you enjoy our first Ludum Dare entry ever. Its more an art piece than a game.

Tools used:
-Unity3d 4.6 BETA (free&trial version)
-Pickle pixel editor
-Photoshop
-ChirpLab
-Audacity
-Mobile phones for sound recording

Controls:
-hospital levels: use mouse to click
-cellular levels: arrows or WASD

enjoy, and rate it honestly! And if you really like it, share it to your friends, we would be happy.

Important note:
-unfortunately something is wrong with the Mac Unity player. I tried to run the game in editor on mac, the whole unity crashed sending no errors. It works well on windows, but not on Mac OS X. If someone have an idea how to fix it, we would be happy to implement it. I added the source files in the downloads.

26th august '14. - i got a mail from unity, it is a unity bug, but also we figured out how to fix it. i had to remove a feature from the original version. So Mac users you can play the game here: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/76599014/innerSelf/webMac/webMac.html

i could not check if it works, so if it does, please let me know!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#90Mood(Jam)3.78
#140Innovation(Jam)3.52
#169Humor(Jam)3.02
#280Overall(Jam)3.37
#317Graphics(Jam)3.54
#340Theme(Jam)3.25
#370Audio(Jam)3.10
#435Fun(Jam)2.94

Comments

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Game is very cool and talking effect is awesome!

Asbrion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:33pm

I got error message after the cell phase was launched. The beginning was funny thought.

cstudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Asbrion, please try to reaload it. Its a glitch what randomly comes up, and we had no time to fix it.

HeuGamer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Wow... This game made me sad (but in a good way) Very well done. Great take on the theme as well, very unique!

maxking1234 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Game is good and I like the graphics!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Crashes even after reload.

cstudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:58pm

try to reload again. or try the desktop version. It has something to do with the Unity 4.6 beta. (we needed it to implement the storyline).

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:59pm

A game totaly build on Humor (sounds, text, pixel art) I love it

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:59pm

A sad message, but very well communicated in the game. I liked the graphics too. Good job!

jas7229 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:04pm

What a sad story. At first I thought I was playing it wrong because I kept failing...definitely an intruiging and thoughtprovoking game.

hirsch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:10pm

This game creates an incredible atmosphere that will make you think.
Awesome!

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:34am

The web version crashes for me, running in Chrome on OSX if that helps. It crashes after the conversation and it zooms out on what looks like a blood vessel.

Vidsneeze says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:02am

YES! the talking is so nostalgic ( reminds me of animal crossing) Pretty tough game though

cstudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:09am

so, it looks like the crash for mac users on the web (and possibly on desktop) is caused by the engine itself. i cannot figure out how to fix it, because our unity freezes on mac as soon as we try to run it, even in the editor. I shared the sources, if someone would like to take a look on them. We are really sorry about that :(

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:50pm

wow we did have the same idea! that's pretty cool. It's interesting to see that you took it in a different direction. I like the way that you controlled the movement and its cool to see that your levels are actually larger than will fit on the screen.

I really like the way the characters talked. it was kind of creepy, in a good way.

stasss says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Very cool! Nice sound work! Pixel art looks great. I think some post effects to the cell levels and maybe softbody behaviour and will be super perfect. Keep going on and share your results!

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:06pm

So Sad!
I died slowly helplessly (or understand what I could do =[ )

alvarop says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:00am

This game is creepy.

DarkCart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Good job! I like the speech :P

Andro Dars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:54pm

You've definitely chosen a very interesting topic and it would be interesting if you could explore it further. The inertia was a bit too powerful at times and the end level messages a bit condescending. Would be cool to see where this goes.

TravisChen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:31pm

That was super depressing.

nosfer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:27pm

very atmospheric and depressing, is it possible to beat the level? On the second playthrough I observed those little cells are glueing to the bigger ones and they both disapear. On second level bigger ones crushed the small ones I just needed to guide the little ones to the stream of big ones. But after some time it became unplayable because of framerate drop (too much objects I think) so couldn't test if this let's me win ;)

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:05pm

I had to go the store to buy more tissues and call my therapist. No just kidding, she has my number blocked. LOL! Seriously, very original. Solid entry! Good luck! :)

Nisshoku says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:14pm

At first i thought i was doing things wrong. nice way to tell a story.

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:52am

Good concept and interpretation of theme!

kristof says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:14am

Very sad game. But in a good way if that makes sense.
The game slowed down drastically a few times during the cellular phases. But was able to play to the end.
Good work.

kristof says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:15am

Gratulations. I am very sad now. I died and the whole process really made me feel sick. Strongest atmosphere I've seen so far at LD30 and though I didn't get it, if there's anything I can do or have just to stay alive, I continued all the way to know how it continues...

cstudios says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:24am

SPOILER ALERT!
--------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------
you cant win. The illness kills you no matter what.
the slowdown is unfortunate, unity engine could not handle 300+ AI agents at the same time, some more optimisation would help, but we got realy not time.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:52am

Works for me on web for mac. It's very polished and very professional-looking, with awesome graphics and sound. Would've liked the cell stages to give more of an illusion of being able to do something, though - as it was it got a bit tedious having to play more and more cell stages knowing that there really was no point to it.

Aomeas says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:18am

A game you can't win is interesting, never played that before
But no matter what, I didn't know what I was supposed to do when I was cleaning the body. Therefore, I understood that I couldn't win only by reading the comments afterward, and not during the game, I thought I was protecting the wrong cells.

dadman says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Really enjoyed this game. I don't know if it was supposed to be scary, but I felt a growing upsetting feeling in my chest as I played on, as the game made clear what was inevitable but I kept playing on in the hope that, somehow, things would start getting better. The sound is really good as well, with the more suppressive tracks coming in later in the game to really make you feel trapped.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Interesting concept. I thought I was just doing it wrong at first but seems like that was intended.

Frankus says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Wow brillant game! Like the others say in the comments, I felt that I was playing wrong, but it seems normal? I loved the story, touching and yet so funny. Great job!

sandbaydev says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Tooo difficult for my taste. The theme is actually quite sad. Too big web player screen. Shooting didnt go to right direction. Also the speech should have not skipped after first click (one click to "show full sentence" and another click to "show next sentence), if you see what i mean.

Doc events made this game much more different... if those "cut scenes" would have not been there, the sadness part wouldn't be experienced.

I think with a bit of more work (polishing controls, cut scenes) this could have potential for something bigger & better.

Interesting entry!

rogueNoodle says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Really interesting - a little stressful to play, but that's the point, right? Very unique ideas, and the feeling of helplessness worked well.

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Wish the result would depend on player actions, I guess it's not. Was a good piece of story anyway. Well done :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]