Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Interdimensional Puzzler

by little-burrito - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first ever entry in Ludum Dare! Hope you like it :)
// Anton

*** Edit ***
INSTRUCTIONS: (it's a puzzle game, so try to figure it out yourself before reading this!) - Bring order to the worlds by getting yourself to the goal. If there are any trapped souls (balls), rescue them first by getting them to their goal.

My favourite level is #4 :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#131Theme3.84
#139Overall3.70
#156Graphics3.84
#161Audio3.45
#229Mood3.41
#414Innovation3.35
#430Fun3.19
#663Humor2.17

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:09am

The development is all here!
http://www.twitch.tv/little_burrito

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:09am

<a href="http://www.twitch.tv/little_burrito">http://www.twitch.tv/little_burrito</a>

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Really really like this idea. Good job with the atmosphere and lighting.

7Soul says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Cool idea. Not clear enough what's the goal, though. Took me some time to know what I was doing, since all graphics are so abstract

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Nice atmosphere and gameplay!

Joshua_S says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:04pm

I loved the art style and music. Overall establishes great mood.

Xgor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Nice game, I like the story and concept behind it.
One thing... you forgot to loop the music, you might wanna fix that.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:20pm

I was thinking about fixing that too, I guess I can call it a typo. Fixing it!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone, I really appreciate it! Keep it coming! :)
If I could rework it today, I'd remake the first 3 levels to make it clearer. I learned a lot as I went along!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Pretty impressive for your first Ludumdare! Good work!

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:52pm

This is so cool, had me hooked with the intro, and the puzzles are great. As always, I'd love to see more levels

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:27am

Good effects

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:30pm

You need to stick the Linux build in an archive so we can download it all as one file. :)

DarkCart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Nice. I can't get past the level 2, but that just may be because I don't get it. Good job anyway.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:37pm

@sftrabbit done!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:37pm

@DarkCart you need to get the ball into the orange thing in the world to the right!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Good idea, not very "user friendly", took me some time before figuring out what to do. And i've been stuck, never found the purple soul on right screen while unreachable on left one. Nice effects.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:42pm

@AnnaGavaldaKedavra I agree! The purple soul on the right screen is just to your right when you start level 4, but in an unfortunate choice of color and placement it melts right in with the background around the entrance to the left...!

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Nice to play, nice puzzels.
God Work!

mactinite says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Cool idea, would have been really nice to get an overview of the level before it started but it didn't take much to get where I needed to go. Nice work. :)

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Nice Graphics and cool puzzle idea. Levels really interesting.

CrefossusJam says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:02am

Indicators where the lights are might be useful. The lights in the background make it hard for the objectives to stand out.

The bass part of the music could get cut because the heavenly sounds fit perfectly. Maybe use that for the celebration? Or tone it down some? Or make me younger?

Having to get behind the light was a little tricky perhaps a grab and throw instead? Or automatically suck it up and then just have a release. Maybe if you grab it it could change your color or play a sound as well.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:13am

Thanks, Crefossus!

TD5 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Struggled to find the souls at some points, but this is a good idea that builds on the common theme of two similar levels that are closely related, but adds a more interesting relationship between them. Good stuff :)

lucidsheep says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:38am

Great job! Wish there were a few more levels.

Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:11am

Thank you! Me too :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]