Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Ludic Proof of the Difficulties Inherent in Finding a Proper Skull

by JackDegree - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Get your academic career going. As an archaeologist, try to make the discovery of a lifetime. And see how far reaching your analyses can be.

(Hint: there is no good ending)


Changelog:
08/27: Fixed a typo (missing word in link) as signaled by player Retl.
09/06: Fixed a typo as signaled by player Dining Philosopher.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#138Mood3.57
#167Humor3.12
#554Theme3.26
#620Innovation3.08
#738Overall3.03
#827Graphics2.67
#904Fun2.63

Comments

dadman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Uhm...
I feel like this needs a bit more explanation as to what you're going for before I could enjoy it.

JackDegree says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Ok, I added some information to the description. :)

pjimmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:32pm

it's certainly uncanny

Mr.Cassels says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:41pm

took me way to long to realize that I was swapping perspectives, maybe add a note in the description?

DDFranky says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Clever game and really interesting story. Also, a lot of text and branching for a game made in 48h!

Aglavra says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:45pm

I liked this interactive story. I played it several times, before I noticed your note about "no good ending" :)

JackDegree says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:48pm

@Mr.Cassels: I'd rather have people discover it, maybe next time I'll try to make it more evident though.
@pjimmy: I like that adjective, so I'll take that as a compliment?
@DDFRanky & Aglavara : Thanks guys!

Adjotur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Glad I found this. Always love a text based game. At first I didn't know what was going on but after I figured out what was going on it seemed pretty awesome.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:33pm

I dig the premise! And I always love me a bit of Twine. The colour choice is definitely appropriate for the concept, but I think subtle changes in BG and font colour (which you can do in Twine on a room-by-room basis) would do wonders for both making the switches between perspectives clearer, and make the changes in scene more immersive. Keep experimenting!

markusfisch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Interesting game. Took a few plays until I understood. Nice text adventure!

JackDegree says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:17pm

@Grooveman: Thanks! Definitely will look into that!

CaptainNakou says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Very deep. Very special. I like it. Not the funiest thing i've seen but one of the most interesting concepts.

bobrocks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:07pm

I went home thinking of my mediocre career! Nice take on the classic text adventure!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Don't see a lot of these on here! I liked the odd synergy (antergy?) between the researcher's efforts and the hunter's. Clever stuff.

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:31pm

I liked the concept a lot, especially it's originality. The duality was very well-done. It is not something I would normally play, but I can see its merits ;)

Snoother says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Very interesting. Took me a bit to get it, but when I did it became quite impressive. Definitely one of the best entries I've played so far.

Retl says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:12pm

"Spear make hunt_choice"
I think I might have broke something just then. :B

Anywho, I found it a neat game. Only played it once through. I didn't even know about Twine until now, so it was neat to see that put to use.

JackDegree says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:24pm

@Retl Oh, thanks, I'll look into that right now and see how I can fix it.

Thanks everyone for the nice comments!

madmaw says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:32pm

I thought this was really well written

eott says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:38pm

It's good to know that text adventures are still alive and kicking.

vogon101 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Nice idea

Vainglorious says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:55am

I do like the swapping of perspectives on this. Very well done.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Nice, I was afraid I got stuck but it seems you just have to dig around for a few identical days. The dialogue seems very well-written to me, the colors/design could have used some work. I'd like to point out another typo, "meditations meditations" on one page.

Chris says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:37am

I found the metaphor created via the perspective shifts effective, although jarring (and alienating) at first. I would have liked to get know to know the main voice first before it gets corrupted. I love the use of 'fictional facts', they give a great sense of character and place. This could also be a great area for expansion, I suggest looking at the way Borges uses these 'so-boring-they-must-be-true' tidbits of information to flesh out the world, and thinking how could your medium do it better. Great stuff.

JackDegree says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Thanks Chris, I had actually read some Borges in the week before LD, and I'm pretty sure it had some influence on this. I will definitely be trying to do more elaborate/developped stuff in the future.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]