Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Revo

by raddevon - Jam Entry

This was originally going to be an iOS game that played out over simulated text messages. Since none of the team knew iOS development, that turned out to be unrealistic. Then, we were hoping to make a "graphical" text adventure, but we're still getting the graphics together. We may make a more fleshed-out version in Twine after the jam. For now, the text-only version will have to suffice, but the screenshot shows a tease of the style of the graphical version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#183Mood(Jam)3.48
#272Theme(Jam)3.41
#372Fun(Jam)3.05
#435Innovation(Jam)2.95
#494Overall(Jam)3.05
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Nice interactive fiction.

TowelKing says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:47pm

The UI is very clean and it helped with getting into the story.

doos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Duhn duhn DUHHHN!

torcado194 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:59pm

neat little interactive story!

dylanwolf says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:53am

Interesting story. It becomes clear that it's strongly on-theme but I like that you never quite spell it out.

The structure seems really well-planned--sticking with a manageable number of options.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:35am

Really short (did I play it wrong).
Maybe I missed something.
What I got to see was good though...

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Hi there. Fun interactive story. Nice presentation and use of the text message conceit was clever way to draw us in. Good job!

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Really interesting read. Nice clean layout.

vinull says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:51am

Interesting idea, and well written. I played through it a few times, not sure if there was a "winning" ending but there seemed like there were a few "wrong" ones!

oranebeast says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:46am

That was certainly interesting. Works well on ipad.

Sascha says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Nice story, liked the "trick" of using text-messages as a way of communicating inside the story

PixelFeet says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:14pm

An enjoyable, well-written story. Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]