Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spacecat Marines

by matthias_zarzecki - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a First-Person Shooter! No it's a Tower Defense Hybrid-thing. Could it be.... both?

Go from world to world and defeat the invasion of the evil robots in this cat-based spaceforce-simulator!

You assemble your team and launch missions from your ship, the Bigglesworth.

Your spacecat marines have unique names, appearances, and preferences of equipment, and accompany you on your missions. They also get more experience and level up in rank.

Features:
- Your unique team of Spacecat Marines
- Neat Soundtrack
- Spacecat Marines. With guns.
- Non-linear progression - chose which mission to do next
- 12 missions with different challenges
- A ship to connect you between worlds

Gameplay
- Protect the cores!
- You win when all invaders are destroyed
- Your team is placed automatically

Controls:
- Mouse - Looking
- Left Mouse Button - Fire
- WSAD - Movement
- M - Mute
- ESC - Unlock Mouse Cursor

Known issues:
This dwarfs my previous games in complexity, and I wasn't able to iron some kinks out.
- Sometimes a spacecat appears double during a mission
- Sometimes missions aren't immediately registered as "accomplished". They can be run again, and then usually register

Also availabale for your pleasure:
- Win, Mac & Linux builds, source-files, a timelapse of me working furiously, and the soundtrack.

Have fun!
- Matthias (@IcarusTyler)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#215Humor2.98
#428Audio2.90
#441Graphics3.25
#536Overall3.23
#588Mood2.95
#617Fun2.99
#953Innovation2.58
#1090Theme2.22

Comments

MCPGNZ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:39am

Enemies are a little unintelligent but besides that, nice game !

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:41am

Hey, I enjoyed this!
I liked the music and the art assets were cool (except the enemies).
The combat system is pretty monotonous, though.
There really needs to be some sort of upgrade system; some missions are impossible to complete with 100% core health.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:41am

This is quite elaborate. I enjoyed shooting the little doods and I think someone else was there. Good show for 48 hours.

SketchyGalore says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:57am

Reminds me quite a bit of Sanctum! It's quite impressive that you were able to get all those missions in. Most games like this seem to stop at just one level. Kudos!

kadybat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:14am

Kinda fun! Feels a little derivative and I'm having trouble understanding its relationship to the theme, but the graphics are nice and the sounds are cute, plus the game has a lot of content considering the time limit. I'll probably keep it on my computer until I finish it, and the fact that it's going to take me a while to finish speaks to the breadth of content it has (3 different worlds with 4 different missions each for a total of 12 levels).

DrMelon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:19am

Cool little game!

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:22am

Really impressive amount of content here. I love the music and story.

Clyde says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:33am

The naming conventions were great.

Fanttum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:33am

Great game! I really liked the idea.
Still needs some improvements like a map or some indicator of your cores or where bad guys are, and there might be more weapons and stuff that I didn't get into enough but a great idea and good job

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:41am

very well done, I liked the square appearance of cats

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:42am

Awesome amount of work for 48 hours. Love the music. Did feel the game play was a little repetitive, but nice effort.

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:12am

Good game overall! Repetitive but great for 48hrs

Mr.Cassels says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:16am

This game is very Sanctum-ish. That means it's good. It could use a bit more variety, but what can ya do. 48 hours and all. (CKirk, on a teammate's account)

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:18am

Great game!

atomic_swerve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:19am

Pretty fun :) Some SFX for an enemy approaching would be really great though, it was tough to tell where things would be coming from.

shico says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:56am

The game is amusing but the enemies have AI that is far to simple to pose a threat. They walk single file to your core you can just stand in front of them and mow them all down easy. I still enjoyed it for a while, and if the AI gets improved I'd love to play a longer version of this game.

eatsleepindie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:58am

This game feels like you spent the right amount of time on everything. The models are great, game play is fun and unhindered, but I especially like the detail you put into the main menu system. Top notch.

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07am

A pretty solid tower defence game with a twist. Only suggestion would be to next time focus on "juicing" your game, screenshakes, recoil, gun flair. All this has no impact on the game but it goes a long way in making the game feel more exciting.

donan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:21am

Hahaha, nice game in such a short time :)

ArthurMaker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:29am

NICE GAME 3D Is Nice Check Out My Game

nicotuason says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:17am

Fun game! Mouse sensitivity was way too high though. I like the names of your crew.

enderargent says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:31am

Enjoyed the game, nice execution for 48 hours!!!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:11am

love it :D

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:12am

Very ambitious, I like it! I love the idea of taking your crew around. The enemies could do with more movement variation, though.

bogdanmaier49 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:23am

Shoot sound it's a bit annoying (for me) but beside that the game looks really fun to play.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:52am

Haha, at first I ended up shooting the cores. Derrrrp. Extra points for cats.

hexagore says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Not a huge fan of tower defence games, so was quite pleased this turned out to be 'you fill in the gap', far more immediate :) *sigh* I should have used Unity!

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Well made engine & good sountrack, too easy maybe! :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Enemies seem to follow a given path and their art doesn't seem that good, but the idea is really original. Sadly, I'm having a lot of trouble finding a relationship with the theme but it's a pretty good game!

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:42pm

At first I thought this would be a management-style game where I was choosing which members of my crew to send on missions, but then when I actually started a mission and got dropped into it myself I was like... whoa, that's cool. Nice work dude! Main thing that bugged me was just that the music didn't really fit, especially when you're in a mission.

LeftRight92 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Enjoyable game, looks like you've built a strong starting point for something you could seriously take further. My major issue is how it connects back to the theme...

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:40pm

I like this TB hybrid genre! Good job!

PixelMind says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Needs some variation to combat. Perhaps some kind of upgrade system could have worked. Or being able to place your cats on the level.
But good game nonetheless. Nice graphics and audio too.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Cute. Lots of little details, from the mission descriptions to your companions. Combat was simple, but I liked it. The mouse was a little skittish. Could have done with a mouse sensitivity slider.

I'm also finding it hard to link it to the theme.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Interesting little game. Good presentation around the main game, and the cubic cats are hilarious :p Fairly simple gameplay though, AI of the enemies seemed fairly basic.

Arowx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Great work. You could probably add the ability to switch FPS control between characters then players could reposition their units.

BigHairDan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Fun game, love the smooth gun movement when you swing the camera around

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:48pm

So incredible! My best tactics is block enemies with my own body!

CRAZEERUSKEE says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Nice game! I don't really see how it was related to the theme, but it was fun anyways. I did encounter a bug where I clicked on the team button on of the times and it only showed one person and all the other buttons were gone.

haveric says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Cats with guns, I love it! The music is great as well. The gameplay seems a bit easy, but also confusing as you have no idea where the enemies are spawning without a map of some kind. Great game overall though.

ponywolf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Controls were a little touchy, and I died before I realized I was supposed to be protecting the cores :)

All in all though, solid 48 hours of work!

TD5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:46pm

I was surprised to be playing an FPS, but that's not a bad thing. I enjoyed your models of the cats and the guns. A solid game with multiple levels and no obvious bugs. Well done! :)

elliottd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:54pm

nice work, it seemed like there was not much to do in first person, and it might have been less disorienting in third person. cute cats and enemies. I like the ones giving support from on the walls.

hogtrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:08am

really good game! congrats

TomTheG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:07am

Cool game, I like spacecats. Unsure about theme though.

creative630 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:21am

Good effort!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:19am

Enjoyable, wish there were move option other than infinite pewpewpewpew.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:50am

Good job for 48 hours. A lot here.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Impressed with how much you got in, in 48hrs, Also liked the way the team members had unique props to distinguish them.

Mali says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Felt like the music slowed down the pace too much for an FPS. Really good considering the time it took to make. Can't imagine putting together a 3D FPS in 48 hours. Nice one!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:21pm

The cubes are so evil... I like the details a lot, like headphones. Nice job!

anserran says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Great game. As others mention, the little details (like the headphones, or the spaceship moving around above the planet) make the game more interesting.

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:58am

There is a lot of content here for a 48h game. Very ambitious undertaking. I would love to see more weapon and enemy types. I think that would spice things up quite a bit. I always enjoy seeing what you come up with because I know it will be interesting and usually have a cat in it somewhere. Nicely done.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Finally, tower defense!

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Impressive for 48 hours of work! I would like to see more use of the ship or some way to move your team... It gets repetitive sometimes but again, considering 48 hours it's amazing. I really hope that you continue work on it and finish with the total idea.

paps says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:43am

Very nice game, love the graphics. There might be a reference to something, I don't know, but I love the design of your cat mates (earphones, bandanas). And too bad the weapon cannot be upgraded I would have be good

Linusson says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:48am

Really nice game, especially for 48 hours. :D

I would really have liked an invert mouse option though as it was pretty hard and confusing for me to play. :)

Well done! :)

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:44am

Yay I rock! Interesting gameplay having to find the weak spots in your team's defense and cover the gaps. Really enjoyed it! Difficulty was pretty spot on too. I also really liked how all the missions had a bit of a backstory. Well done, especially for the 48!

Jezzamon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:21am

I quite liked the graphics. It's a little monotonous though - I closed the window and I can't really be bothered to do it all again :C

The music is interesting, but it doesn't seem that fitting.

I think also the movement seemed a little slow? Maybe if there was a faster acceleration speed but similar max speed it would be nicer.

It also would've been nice if there was a more meaningful connection to the theme.

Still good though! There's something satisfying about blasting those aliens :)

Dohan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:19am

The last mission was so dark I had to follow the baddies to find the core I had to protect. And in some missions some of my cat pals were duplicate.

Also, I hold the top score, yay! :D

ruerob says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:11pm

What a nice little game. I love the spacecats. I really have to thank you for your game.

Jod says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Encountered a bug when clicking 'Team'. Sadly could not return to the main mission to fight aliens for feline domination.

Liked it! Well done on the music and the graphics. Especially in the later levels, with different lighting. Loved the ramping of the difficulty, impressive!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:42am

Because of my f***ing synaptic touch pad I can't shoot while moving, but I still had fun with the game (I just had to find a good spot near the core and shoot shoot shoot)
I noticed a bug : I checked my Team once, and weren't able to go back to the menu. I did checked my team before without any problem, I don't know what happened. If it's helpful for you : I had only 4 members left in my team.

The content you managed to put in this game is REALLY impressive! Ok, the missions are a bit simular, but the team management makes it awesome anyway! The difficulty increase correctly, and losing team members really made me feel bad.

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:41am

Too bad there isn't much more to it than just sitting in front of an enemy line, shoot until you 'pushed it back' and move to another enemy line...

You should add a way to tune the mouse sensitivity (but since you don't move it that much, it's ok i guess)

mechabit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:36pm

not bad, a little repetitive, impressive that you managed to do all this solo though.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:10am

Nice game! Missions with different goals and difficulty to top it. Great job for 48 hours!!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:40pm

I really like the look and feel of this one. With some more work to differentiate and vary the gameplay, you'll really have something. Nice music too!

moi93101 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:34pm

I think is a good job for a compo, but I think spacecats are too strong.

MechanicMoon says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:46am

The cats are awesome..

CyberNinja says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:30am

Great, love the music

bluesky says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Good job!

kibertoad says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Incredibly impressive for 48 hour game. Wasn't exactly balanced or content-packed, which was understandable. If you keep polishing it, would be a game I'd like to play.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:30am

i can haz mobile tower defense...protect teh corez!

Solid entry! Good job!

JavadocMD says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Oh no! I got about halfway through the missions and then got stuck in the Team screen. :( Still, great fun! I was thinking that the missions were too easy: stand in the line of approach and shoot. But then the missions started getting more difficult with the enemy cats breaking up and approaching from different angles. So well done steadily increasing the difficulty curve! Could use a bit more depth, but hey it's a 48 hour game, so well done. :)

Sep 11, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Psssst - you are in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BiOCPZZx_Fc

Yword says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:28am

Just completed all missions! Well done!

TobiasW says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:12pm

I was a bit disappointed when there wasn't any Tower Defense to be done like the description promised - and the gameplay is a bit monotonous. If you could actually place the other cats (and maybe they'd have different abilities), this would probably work out better - but yeah, 48 hours, I know.

Sounds und music work well though, and I liked the different levels, especially with the light changes. Also, cats! :3

wademcgillis says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:42pm

AD ASTRA PER FELIX

I started the game by shooting the cores and then I lost.

In the future, to make sound effects less repetitive with minor work, try shifting the playback speed +/- 10%.

pew pew PEW pew pEw pew PEW pew peW PEw instead of pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]