Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Wraith Hunter

by waynaul - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Wraith Hunter

Guide the Wraith Hunter to the Wraith Gate, but beware of the wraiths that cannot be harmed in the physical world. Once the hunter travels to the spirit world, a bizarre mirror of the physical world, the hunter can strike down the same wraiths who are now made manifest. Lead the hunter to the beacon that banishes the evil spirits and cleanses the area.

Controls:
Left and right arrow keys: Move left and right
Up key: Jump
Z key: Interact with switches in the physical world, attack with a sword in the spirit world
P key: Pause

Created by Waynaul
This game is powered by the Stencyl engine
Art created with GIMP
Sound effects procedurally generated with sfxr
Sound file conversions done with SynthFont and Audacity
Music procedurally generated at abundant-music.com

Note:
Clicking the web link will bring you to a page where google sites provides a "download" link. This download link simply opens the Flash .swf file in the browser. This redirected page can be avoided by typing the address directly into the address bar:

https://sites.google.com/site/waynaul/LD30Waynaul.swf

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#213Audio3.32
#284Mood3.32
#361Graphics3.42
#390Fun3.23
#520Theme3.31
#575Overall3.19
#636Humor2.21
#918Innovation2.66

Comments

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Nicely done!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:05am

Pretty cool concept, I like the idea of first avoiding ghosts and then entering their world to destroy them. The game is bit rough around the edges but it's understandable from compo entry

Boberro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:29am

I thought I'll never hear midi music again :D

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Graphics are very well done. Solid entry!

malf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Very solid entry , as someone said there are some rough edges mostly in the player control , but I wish I had managed to get such graphics or music in my entry in so little time! :D

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:51am

Loved the graphics, but the controls felt a little clunky.

ExtreLime says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:43am

The spirit world made me feel like I'm playing some oldschool RPG!
Also the sword in spirit world feels great. Fun game!

Buttsteam says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:45am

The spirit world feels really cool, attacking and killing enemies feels really good. My only gripe is that I thought the spirit world exit was an enemy and I tried to kill it. Oops.

The level where you had to push the box while avoiding 3 Wraiths was deliciously hard. I could very well see that it was possible but it was super tricky and VERY satisfying to beat.

The music is nice, but it does this weird thing early on where it starts super quiet and then abruptly gets loud. Maybe it's just me.

dunin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Graphics aren't perfects but there is something in this tall guy and is hat that i love...
And it is a pleasure to kill the ennemies that we had to avoid...

micahcowan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:00am

I love the cowboy getup, I love the switch-crystals, I love the wraith-deaths, I love the goal-statues.

I think this tied with Bacon Installer for my favorite game so far. :)

JNyknn says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Was the game actually so short or did I miss something?

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Nice concept. Sturdy mushrooms!

waynaul says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:43pm

@ JNyknn. Hi, thanks for reviewing my game. You didn't miss anything; my game has five levels. Due to time constraints, I had to make a choice of either creating more levels or creating backgrounds for my existing levels. I chose to make backgrounds (2 backgrounds for each level) to set a mood and show more distinction between the physical and spirit world. Though there are five levels, I'm hoping you will find that the backgrounds give them personality that make them distinct from each other.

Thanks again

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Cool game. I like the old school feels it got.

hbocao says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:10am

Nice art and I really liked the character animations. And the music was procedurally generated? Holy smoke! I just didn't like to click on next level every time. Good job!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Clicking "web" goes to a download???

waynaul says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:00pm

@ yodamaster
Clicking the web link will bring you to a page where google sites provides a "download" link. This download link simply opens the Flash .swf file in the browser. This redirected page can be avoided by typing the address directly into the address bar:
https://sites.google.com/site/waynaul/LD30Waynaul.swf

yodamaster says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:43am

Nice and fun to play.

pikkpoiss says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Overall really cool entry that's nicely put together for the short amount of time given to make it. The backgrounds and music build a lot of atmosphere. Nice job!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:29pm

The production values are very impressive. Very strong castlevania feel, and well done. The music was far less repetitive than a typical LD game.

The gameplay I could take or leave. The twist on platforming makes for a nice change between different forms of action over the course of the game, but as it stood neither felt very interesting. The box puzzle at the end was a welcome exception, though also quite frustrating.

bluesky says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Good job!

Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:34am

Good game! I included it in part 13 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/RYkx3DRuabw

waynaul says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:53am

Thanks, Jupiter_Hadley!

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Solid platformer, good level design. Tricky for 48 hours!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]