Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

On The Other Side

by EthanWebster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

[ NOW AN SFX! ]

My little entry for the 48 hours compo, On The Other Side. It looks like just another platform game but you can switch "between worlds" quickly, allowing you to avoid the spikes. You can also jump which uses energy. Every 30 seconds a "disaster" occurs which makes gameplay even harder. As of now this is only available for Windows, but I may try and port it to Linux or OSX if needed.

Check out the time lapse too!

Tools:
- C++ (Programming)
- SDL2 (Graphics, sound and input library)
- BFXR (Sound effects)
- LMMS (Music)
- Paint.NET (Graphics)
- Microsoft Visual Studio 2013 (IDE)

Game on!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#367Theme3.50
#565Fun3.04
#606Humor2.25
#721Mood2.80
#741Audio2.33
#741Innovation2.91
#802Overall2.96
#806Graphics2.71
#2027Coolness17%

Comments

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Really like how the game changes up if you're good enough, starts of simple and gradually gets harder. A lot of fun

DDFranky says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Fun game! At first I thought that the increasing of the difficulty of the game was just like "speed up". I was really surprised when the game told me: "oh you like switching? how about no?". Just one thing: it's based on "new rules every X second", you should give to the player a couple of second to understand the new rule.

ivanhlb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:07pm

erm the web version doesn't switch properly on my Mozilla... It seems to hang.
Also, sometimes the sprite seems to spawn on each other.

Otherwise it's quite a simple concept.

EthanWebster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Hi ivanhlb, for best results please use Google Chrome.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Hi there. Nicely done, very minimalist. Like the music. Very harsh game though... Good job!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:19am

Wish the control was listed somewhere in the beginning. Otherwise, great take on the theme! Wasn't a fan of the audio.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:56am

nice :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Needs a lot of work. And better audio =/

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Fun game. I liked the increase in difficulty as the game progressed.

lakael says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:59am

That game was hard! But in a good way, I think. I liked the minimalism.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 4:42am

Cool game

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]