Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Hole New World

by jjhaggar - Jam Entry

Game Story:
The Human and Demon Worlds have collided because of the Shadow Demon King, who wants to reign over both worlds.
With his dark powers opened several portal holes and made his shadow minions come across.
It's your mission to help your town with your magical powers and sacred water, and confront the evil forces to save mankind.

Controls:
JUMP: S Key / Controller Button 1
SHOOT: D Key / Controller Button 2
MOVE: Cursor / Controller D-Pad

Weapon & Power up:
At the beginning, the Hero can throw an unlimited amount of magic bottles filled with sacred water.
Each impact from an enemy will take away one of the 5 life counters of the hero, but he also can recover them by collecting and eating yummy Roasted Meat that can be found along the path.

Continuing Option:
You can continue unlimited times. If you reach the final combat you'll be able to continue from there.

End of Manual.

-------------------------

Game made using libGDX. By DanPelGar (Daniel Pellicer), Virako (Victor Ramirez), Otaruk (Alvaro Fernandez), Xanday (Miguel Murat) and JJHaggar (Juan Jesus Ligero). Music and sounds by Estudio EverGreen (DanPelGar).

-------------------------

We wanted to pay tribute to the NES. Both the music (made with FamiTracker), graphics (sprites with a maximum of 6 colors, 3 color tiles, etc.), and also the kind of game have been made trying to imitate the games of that console we love so much :)

WARNING: This game is adapted to the standards of difficulty of the 80s, so be prepared!! ;D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#41Fun(Jam)3.82
#50Overall(Jam)3.93
#81Audio(Jam)3.78
#83Theme(Jam)3.80
#131Mood(Jam)3.63
#185Humor(Jam)2.98
#231Graphics(Jam)3.75
#289Innovation(Jam)3.19

Comments

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:02am

I had a lot of fun playing, and I enjoyed the music and graphics... However I couldn't get over one thing... if you die... you go back... to the start.....

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:26am

Thank you for your feedback! :D I've just edited the description to warn people that the game is also "NES hard" ^^

ccglp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:55pm

I never played the NES (I'm too young) but I played classic gameboy games and this game remains me that times. Thank you.

rjhelms says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Amazing tribute to the NES style! Graphics, music and difficulty were spot on.

jmf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Take all the stars, this game is AMAZING. If this was a full length game I would pay good money for it. I really like the way you gave the player a choice of paths in a lot of sections, really makes you think what is the best option and the best option changes for different syles of players. Anyway, great job!

TehSkull says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:03pm

The switching between worlds, and the gravity change was very satisfying. The high difficulty of the game keeps me from beating it, as I have 2500 other games I have to give attention to, but this is definitely going into my Keepers folder.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:11pm

This game was not easy, but true gamers will realize that that is a good thing! Good luck to you!

danbo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Pretty cute game

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:22pm

That was very enjoyable! Definitely challenging, but it worked really well with the theme. Loved the aesthetics that were true to the NES era. The music fit with the game perfectly. Great job!

xandy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:06am

very fun platformer. the connected worlds aspect took me totally by surprise!

nataku92 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:01am

haha wow it is pretty hard, but in a good, challenging type of way. The worlds mechanic reminded me of VVVVVV a bit (with the gravity switching).

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:17am

Amazing work! Challenging and fun. I definitely was not expecting that mechanic when I fell for the first time.
~funkeh

Galan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:21am

Wow, that was pretty damn good. Between the Faxanadu nostalgia and the addicing gaming, this was some of the most fun I've had with a Ludum Dare game.

The only complaint I have is that it can be unfair in places, particularly with the tendency of the other world to be full of ghosts when you switch between them.
That said, if I weren't too busy reviewing game, this could absolutely suck up my time.

HellBlazer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:33am

Very cool old-school tribute. Nice idea with the upside-down demon world, and a pretty good-sized level for an LD game. Good controls, though I would suggest allowing to adjust the height of the jump by tapping or holding the jump button. The other thing that would really be welcome is more enemy types, but that "flaw" is quite understandable for a game jam entry.

someone says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:38am

Very nice.

kyyrma says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:08am

Happy to see more people embracing the NES in their LD creations. I've found that going with an NES aesthetic is a good way of limiting yourself on putting too much time in the graphics alone. Fantastic work guys :)

kyyrma says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:12am

Happy to see more people embracing the NES in their LD creations. I've found that going with an NES aesthetic is a good way of limiting yourself on putting too much time in the graphics alone, while still giving your game a consistent and familiar look. Simply fantastic work guys!

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:40am

Nice one! Hard as hell (that, or that I'm really bad. Surely this :P) and great style! I loved the fact that the first time I fell into a hole, I thought I was dying, but no :)

Thanks!

Jospelgar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:09am

I Like this game a lot, it was amazing to explore the world and get surprise by the first hole. The first thing I did was jumping into the hole, because I was thinking something like "I want to try dying!" and then... YES!.

The game is hard, but it teachs me how to play and I become stronger wich each game so at the end the things I thought they were hard are easy now. I like these games, is not my character becoming stronger, its just me.

The design of the enemies are great and the controls are very clean, its easy feeling just like that knight templar. And finding that there are (at least) two secrets in the game makes me feel so important =D

Good job guys, if you can do this in just 72 hours I want to see what you can do in the future!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:32am

Fun - but as you say, 'NES hard' >.< I love the flipping worlds, and it's got a nice retro feel to it. Well done!

PinkNinja says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:35am

Really awsome game. I have enjoyed a lot playing it. Nice job! ;)

Tosic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:25pm

It is retro, but that just makes it better!

Vytheros says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Love the art style and the music. REally awesome gameplay, similar to Ibb and Obb.

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Cool art art and style!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Switching worlds and gravity are cool. Nice game implementation.

ebolbe says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Perfect!! Awesome game!

ninjascript says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Wow, very cool! The music is great and I love the shooting animation. Nice job!

holgk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Nice entry. Would've been nice if you could start the game after you died with a controller. I played with a xbox controller and pressed every key but only enter restarded the game.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Wow, good remark. Thanks for pointing that out. We totally forgot about that. We would add it (this is like a typo kind of thing)

Piscythe says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:16am

This game accomplished exactly what it set out to do. I'm not experienced at all with NES-classic games, but this certainly communicated an atmosphere. While restarting at the beginning was a pain to some extent, it's worth it to persevere. I found that solving challenges and even just defeating enemies in efficient ways was very satisfying. The hole mechanics were mostly good, though they did flicker around a bit. (I glitched through the floor on two separate occasions.) An important part of the gameplay was memorizing meat locations, as well as memorizing both sides of an area so you'd know what to expect warping over. Otherwise, it was easy to dive across worlds into a swarm of ghosts - but that's 80s hard for you. My favorite part though was the end. Just as I was (for the second time) silently screaming "Where's the boss already?" it appeared. A really fun, cool, and satisfying boss fight is a rare thing to find in an LD game, but this one delivered. Thanks to that final battle, you've earned 5/5 Fun and Mood from me.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:13am

Many thanks to all of you for your feedback! :D You realy are encouraging us to make a full version of the game! :D

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:40am

Good nes-like platformer!!! I'll save for my self and get to the ending!!! nice music, too

Dohan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:19pm

This is a nostalgia overdose! The chiptunes, the graphics and (over all of them) the difficulty is very true to NES games.

Tomker says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Nice game, much graphics work here i think :)

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Wasn't sure of the theme, but them it all became clear. Very nice entry

Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Nice graphics, nice music and nice mechanics! But frustrating difficulty. I like the Castlevania vibes.

mechabit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:58am

good game but needs check points

Artamus says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Great game, congrats!

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:00pm

@mechabit: It has one checkpoint. We pondered about adding more checkpoints, but at the end we decided that only one would result to a more accurate NES-like dificulty :)

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Overall a very satisfying platformer. Good job!

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:31am

Very Might & Magic.
Good game to be inspired by!

donan says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Its a really hard game :D
Overall its really impresive. Good job!

MaesK says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Great game! Fun, with nice graphics and good music. Quite hard, specially if you don't control enemy population on both worlds at the same time :D

Good point on hiding the other world mechanic until you fall for whatever reason.

dylanwolf says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Good retro platformer. It was tough (the arcing bullets added to the challenge) but not punishing. The connected worlds mechanic worked well and was a great problem-solving tool.

Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Really nice concept and graphics! I included it in part 25 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/mlEPiXm0ehY

phaser says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:06am

I like this one a lot. It's very fun to go to the underworld!

Moosefly says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:50pm

The game really achieved what it was going for and kept me gripped till the end (took a look at the comments after a few tries at the boss though, he was one cheap mf). Good thing there was a checkpoint just before the boss. Took me somewhere between five and ten tries to get there, and another ten or so to beat the boss-

The aesthetics are perfect and the gameplay spot on. Some of the parts did feel a bit trial and error, since you never knew if there was going to be a ghost there or not. Also the boss, while rewarding in the end was quite annoying because:
- He switched directions on the go, just as I was jumping over him. Same with this jumping, seemed unpredictable to me.
- The ghost summoning had no clear tell as far as I can... tell and the ghost hitboxes activated seemingly instantly resulting in some annoying hits as I was jumping over him or even being near him.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]