Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Choose Your Side

by Drew Van Camp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*** Use the *Tab* key to choose!

========================================
How will you turn the tide of war between two worlds?

Intervene as two opposing factions attempt to annihilate one another in a bitter war. Choose a faction to assist. Sabotage the enemy. Battle with fate itself and dare to tamper with the destiny of worlds!
========================================

UPDATE:
Thanks for the feedback thus far! I certainly agree that more clarity is needed (see newly added description above). Being my first 48-hour game, such details suffered the break neck pace. It was hard for me to submit the game without ironing those details out, but I ran out of time. I think I might roll out a post competition version with some improvements.

Thank you so much for playing! Means a lot to me that you gave it a chance!

CONTROLS:
This was designed for either gamepad or keyboard controls. I've tested this using the Logitech F310 and I'm told that it works with the Xbox 360 controller as well, but no telling yet if it will do well with anything else. If you use a gamepad, let me know!

SOURCE:
I've never done any game jam or competition before, so if my source code needs to be provided differently, please let me know.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#320Audio3.12
#369Graphics3.40
#475Mood3.08
#649Innovation3.04
#749Theme2.96
#761Humor2.04
#805Fun2.76
#856Overall2.91

Comments

dhargan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:10pm

the game is kind of confusing. at first we choose a side but in-game we can change it by pressing tab again. also shooting button is not stated (I guess it is space tho). We can shoot but I guess after a couple of shots we need to wait a cooldown or change the side by tab.

long story short; more explanation please :D

besides that, graphics and audio is really cool. good job!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Hm, don't know what's the goal here.

breadstix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:04pm

I thought the concept was very good. The game play also works for me. Maybe some instructions would help those not understanding.

Jod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05pm

A short tutorial at the beginning explaining what to do will help you in future efforts!

Cool music!

SpringPowered says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:08pm

I liked the style and idea, though I agree it was a bit confusing at first. I found that having that place to hide turned the game into: 1. hide 2. wait for enemies to reach correct point. 3. go out of hiding and fire away. 4. goto 1.

JoeDev_net says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Took me a while to figure out the controls and what I was actually trying to do, but once I did I was able to beat it.

It would be helpful if there was some kind of an indicator of the enemies health. I think they get darker, but I couldn't really tell and wasn't sure if I was doing any damage at first.

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:12pm

*** Thanks for the feedback! See the updated description!

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:30pm

It's quite difficult to understand at first, but it's worth it.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Took me a while to figure out what was going on, but it was really fun once I got into it. The lighting and particle effects made the game look really great. Good job!

koalamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Cool and interesting concept! Instructions would go a long way.

Pesty says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:51pm

A bit confusing to understand - keyboard controls weren't responsive but worked ok with an xbox 360 controller, however after losing and refocusing the window I was unable to use the controler any more and the AI took over

A fun game but no clear objective and as I could switch sides at any time it seemed like it was just a sandbox?

Nice soundtrack for the game.

pjchardt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:56am

The premise is quite interesting, and the graphics/music/mood are all very nice. I feel the execution of gameplay is a bit lacking. I did not experience any real feedback to inform me or guide me as a player, which led me to feel rather helpless to actually affect the world. Either way, great start to a game. Kudos on your first jam!

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:06am

much fun,wow;
srsly though, good ai makes the game really fun to play

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:35pm

I'm thrilled that some people are enjoying this!

Once you get past the understandably confusing startup (largely due to a bug that occurred in the final hour of development), I think the gameplay becomes fun. It takes some practice to become effective and this game is clearly not for everyone as it currently expects in part for the player to project his own goal onto it. It could probably use improved keyboard mapping, too. (Gamepad is so much fun, though!)

If you're interested in trying out a bug-fixed version of the game, please look me up. I think I will polish it off a little bit to get it running more as originally intended. Plus this is a stripped down version of the more elaborate idea I had for it. I also have other games in active development with playable demos, including one I started last month that would also fit into the "Connected Worlds" theme.

Thanks, everybody, for the sincere and gracious feedback! Please keep it coming!

Zathalos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:06pm

After I read the description, it was much clearer what I had to do. The concept is interesting but the gameplay was a little lacking. I think if you added more units and RTS elements it could become a very unique game. Overall it enjoyed it and would like to see it become more. Good job. (I played with a controller and it was much better)

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:33pm

@Zathalos: Yes! I would have loved to have worked in more character types for variety and more strategic choices. Things just didn't work out that way. Most of my time was spent getting the bare minimum together and adding a bit of polish. Thank you for the encouragement and useful critique! Please look me up again for the bug-fixed version.

alvarop says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:04am

Great game, you already got my comments so there's point in repeating them! (heh...)

JaJ says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:25pm

I love the vibe of this game. I'm not sure what the goal is, I tried to have the tribes destroy each other but didn't succeed. The mages won.

Naytron says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:09pm

A little confusing to begin with, but once I got it I started to enjoy things! I like the colour on the characters representing the health - really subtle but very cool. Nice work!

KEFIR says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:17pm

At the first thought is a bit confusing but concept is very nice and art style is great along with the music. I see a potential in this one!

sekaru says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Stating the objective/goal at the start would've been a good idea. The graphics were pretty good though.

SelfishGenome says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:34pm

After reading the description and playing again, I am still not sure what is happening. Is it just the tab button? Love the style though. very polished art for 48 hours

2HitMatt says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:58pm

I wasn't sure what to do, but the music created a cool tension type vibe.

H1S2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:30am

it took me a second to figure out what`s going on. :) but after that it was fun to play. cool, pixel artwork!

Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:32am

I like the deathmatch mode but I think there is not enough feedback about hit/miss, health and reloading. Nice entry anyway!

Manou says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:29am

Didn't get the gameplay, but it has interesting graphics and presentation.

Drew Van Camp says ...
Nov 21, 2014 @ 9:39am

*** UPDATE: I've got a bug-fixed version now, but not sure at this moment where the edit link is to add it at the top. I'll leave it down here for the time being just in case: http://drewvancamp.com/sites/default/files/game-tests/ludum-dare-30_connected-worlds/choose-your-side_bug-fixed/choose-your-side_bug-fixed.html

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]