Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Astroz

by sputnik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First LD! Most of the bugs are gone (but it's not really optimize, sorry!).
Run best on Chrome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#41Graphics4.24
#47Overall3.92
#56Mood3.85
#75Innovation3.95
#113Audio3.58
#140Fun3.62
#413Humor2.54
#430Theme3.42

Comments

ianh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:45am

Neat shadow effects.

rnlf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:09am

Nice style and the music fits pretty nicely. A bit hard for me, but it was fun anyways :-)

callume8 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Has very strong potential and the moving around the planets felt nice but the pushing and pulling felt like it didn't flow

jsmars says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:57pm

This could be a winner! really nice job on this one, great presentation, fun mechanic fitting the theme and challanging, really nice job! :)

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:58pm

The artwork is fantastic!

Enzo42 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Great graphics, music fits perfectly and its pretty innovative, great job.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Great game! Wonderful graphics and polished gameplay, that's a good combination!

SpringPowered says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Pretty nice, and a cool idea! The die/respawn/start level/end level animations are very long though.

TeamOnBack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:01pm

This game was a lot of fun!

psydack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:02pm

I like everything. Nice game

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:02pm

The graphics and the audio are amazing. The concept is great too. I only played until Level 7 and I stopped there because it was getting really hard.

kdunee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Pretty fantastic. I got to level 12 and was amazed at how much solid content there is :).
The camera could sometimes be further away, otherwise you have to remember the level layout.

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Liked this a lot! Simple movement controls but they are very satisfying and there's a lot you can do with them. And congrats on completing your first LD, the result is great!

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Sweet game, liked it a lot. I really liked how you displayed your oxygen bubble instead of just a simple health bar.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Love the style, nice mechanics. I specially like the parallax effect of space. I struggled for a bit with the speed of movement when floating, but it's nice when you have moments like "whoops I floated too far and can't get back so I'm gonna die asphyxiated" :D

pvtroswold says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Nice mechanic, good idea! Music and graphics were nice as well!

JaJ says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:37pm

I LOOOVE this. The lighting is perfect, the challenges are good. Atmosphere is great. Really, really good entry.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:41pm

I liked this game a lot. Very impressive game mechanics, graphics, audio, mood & adherence to theme... but I have suggestions: The instructions text was so dark that I couldn't see it with the amount of glare that's normally on my screen. Most of the time it would fade out before i could slowly pick out what it said. Additionally there is a lengthy animation at the beginning of each level that I would have preferred to be able to skip.

uvwar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:33am

Very nice everything! I could only get to level 9 though, some stuff seemed to be clipping off my screen (planets?). I also liked the ironman-in-pajamas main character a lot!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:37am

Great physics puzzle! Love the core-mechanics! Nicely done!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:51am

Really good game. Gameplay was very solid and responsive. Graphics were top notch. One of the best entries on this LD. Thank you :)

ehtd says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:04am

Great graphics

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:51am

Interesting and pretty, but didn't run well in terms of performance for me.

yodamaster says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:36am

I like the concept and enjoyed playing the first level, but then it needed me to use "right click", which I don't have on my Macbook. How about using keyboard controls?

Artamus says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:26am

Nice game, congrats!

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:00am

I love the push/pull mechanic - fun! You also managed to create a very immersive 'spacey' atmosphere. Really nice work.

Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Nice game ^^. It's really impressive for a first time !

lotusgame says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:51pm

An excellent entry, with a very good mood. I really enjoyed. Well done !!

Stals says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Nice Game! Really like the idea. Just wish the levels will start faster (when you gain control).

andrewkennedy says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Hehe, pushing planets into black holes was fun. I thought the movement was a little tricky, but that's my only nitpick. Good art and nice audio!

malf says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:01am

Good game!

ripter says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Super fun! Great job.

Sep 9, 2014 @ 1:46pm

nice game overall, a few flaws that other players have pointed out, and i especially like the graphics and concept. original and fun!

CptDustmite says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Controls were slightly tricky but this is really well made, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]