Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Irden Core

by ekun - Jam Entry

Your world's core has been slowly running out of Irden, the source of all energy.
The only way to replenish the core is to connect the core with a new one, draining
the Irden out of it. Luckily, a fresh core has been found in the outskirts of your
home sector. Unluckily, a rival world has discovered it as well. Use your skills as
a pilot to fight for control of the core.

Good Luck.

If you want to jump right into a game, press "ENTER"
This will attempt to connect to the server I'm currently running (it's an US East server).
There's a chance the server will be down, sorry about that! If you have a couple of friends though, you can host your own server :)

If you would like to host a game, use the 'command sv_start'.
Please note, this game uses Port 54196 on UDP.

If you would like to connect to a specific server, enter the command 'connect <hostname/ip>'.

To open up the console to enter commands in, press TILDE (~)

DEFAULT CONTROLS (rebindable in console)
WASD - Move
Left Shift - Boost
Space - Fire
Y - Chat in-game
M - Toggle Mute

IN-GAME COMMANDS (type into chat)
/ship [0-4] - Change ship
/name [yourname] - Change name

made in 48 hrs by ekun

Shameless plug:
As a side note, I'm one of the developers of the game Vagante. If a cooperative multiplayer action platformer with roguelike elements sounds interesting to you, check out our game! http://vagantegame.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1985Coolness20%

Comments

toranoko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:58am

play this game

ekun says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:37am

this game sucks

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:01am

Ah the rare multiplayer game, always a tough to get a critical mass of players. Good on you for getting a networked game done though!

Tried but nobody on, rating by the Youtube video!

01101101 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:34am

Succesfully connected but alone so .. can't play. sorry.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:22pm

we had the same problem with the alpha of our game, no players = 0 success. Shame, because it's quite a feat to create a multiplayer experience in the amount of time you had. Respect!

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Could not play it either. Looks really good from the video though! Maybe making the core respawn randomly somewhere in the map could make more use of the rest of it, instead of the fight going always at the same place.

DarkCart says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Looks interesting, but not working for me. YouTube video looks cool though.

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]