Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Alternation

by PowerSpark - Jam Entry

Use your powers to control multiple dimensions!
Alternate through parallel worlds to solve puzzles and unravel the broken dimensions.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#58Theme(Jam)3.88
#159Overall(Jam)3.56
#191Innovation(Jam)3.42
#272Fun(Jam)3.23
#343Mood(Jam)3.15
#370Audio(Jam)3.10
#413Graphics(Jam)3.31
#482Humor(Jam)2.15

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:34am

I loved it! The levels were amazing as well as the concept! You should continue making this game.

ClutchNachos says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:31am

I really like the idea!

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:32am

I could not pass second level. Need more time to try.
Good tech demo.

Calciumtrice says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:33am

Cool puzzle game. Mechanic works well and the levels let you make good use of it. Nice use of theme too.

Zambini says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:39am

This was very enjoyable! I'm a big fan of the dual world/platform-y nature. My only improvement could be to make it a 3rd person instead of 1st person so I could get past the 4th level :P

haveric says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:42am

Very cool game concept, but it was really hard to know where things would be without having to die in a few places first. I like the gameplay, but it could use more polish to make it great.

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:45am

Thanks everyone and sorry for the difficulty, I made it hard because there are few levels.
If you are stuck, think outside the box and remember that everything that is present is there for a reason.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:49am

Great effort! I love the idea of the puzzles but I don't have the reflexes to pull them off.

Vavassor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:50am

Really nice game! Impressed with how well thought-out everything felt. Had a little trouble in the first red-floored room because it was awkward having to do a weird hop move out over the pit and then switch worlds to get block to appear under you.

honestcritic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:02am

meh. feels like another portal-esque two mode let's get around game. but all you do is jump-switch-jump-switch and occasionally you flip a switch and have to go really fast.

LabOne says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:27am

Cool game!
One issue.
I think movement is slow, it is not comfortable to play after shooters.

Split82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Nice! We used absolutely the same mechanics in our global game jam game this year :) http://hch.hyperbolicmagnetism.com/

Canyon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Loved it. I had troubled with the control scheme as I only had a touch pad thought.

Xgor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Nice little game, and the test chamber style works well as a style here.
However, the fact that you can't see anything in the other dimention until you change to it means a lot of trial and error..

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Awesome idea, enjoyed the game :)

Lokiman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Definitely a "Heterochroma" feel :D Controls need some additional tweaks though :)

nonetheless says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:12am

I would prefer a little bit more responsive controls, it's pretty hard as it is right now. But nice execution and fun game. Great job :)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:24am

Very interesting puzzle! Reminds me of one moody half-life map :)

Konste says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:14am

I enjoyed the game. Concept is nothing new but you managed to pull it off to make it an enjoyable experience and fit the theme well. Camera and lighting were a little annoying. Would have liked to see better lighting and a more zoomed out or less sensitive camera. Overall, fun entry! :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:10pm

I'm impressed. Great concept.

igoramendola says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:51am

Cool! The last puzzle was very hard!! But my experience with Half-Life helped me on this hehe.
Good idea and the gameplay fits nice with the theme :)

Yoni says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Very nice concept!
The second level was a bit too hard for me to pass :(

kidando says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Reminded me of portal for some reason. This is a really really cool game. Your concept is solid. Level two was hard, but it's still an awesome game. Thanks for making it

dook says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:27am

Very nice! The world switching effect was cool and the minimalistic design suited it well. I'm not a big fan of jumping puzzle stuff, though. The controls really need to be calibrated well and it's always super frustrating when you just miss a jump for the n'th time and have to crawl back yet again. Not bad for a jam game, though! :)

mactinite says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:42am

Pretty cool game, although the fact that it's in first person and I have to be so precise with the height of the jumps makes it a bit frustrating. Maybe a drop shadow and also a restart key would help. Nice work all in all. :)

nesis says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:48am

Fun action puzzle-platforming! This is uncannily similar to the aesthetic my game had, except in mine you flip from 2D sidescroller to 3D first person in a puzzle-platforming environment. Nice polish for the time given.

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Nice entry.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]