Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Oathkeeper

by MrCakehat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls: Arrow keys - move, Up arrow - Jump/double jump
X key - use selected skill, C key - change selected skill


Story:
The void world has come far too close to ours, which allows jumping between them. The only way to stop the other side from flowing in, is to free your brothers hearts to permanently connect the two worlds, to destroy them once and for all.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#478Graphics3.20
#609Theme3.19
#611Humor2.24
#616Mood2.91
#633Fun2.96
#751Overall3.00
#791Audio2.22
#959Innovation2.57

Comments

Brunodev says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 4:57pm

I really liked it. :)

MrCakehat says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Was it sort of self-explanatory? How to destroy those weird green//purple things, and how to find the other skills?

Vallar says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 5:43pm

That is a really nice game. I liked how the game plays and the idea itself.

The mobs seem not to die but the idea was really cool and had me going there for a long time. I had to stop to work on my game :P otherwise I may not have stopped :)

MRvanderPants says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:12am

I really liked the graphics in the dark world. That background really worked there. And I really missed some music in the game. Great game tho

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:21am

Love the graphics and the gameplay felt smooth and polished.

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:08am

Pretty solid platformer, good job. I managed to get three skills, but I keep accidentally using the teleport skill, so I have to start over again each time. Ran this in Linux.

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:15am

Its a bit scary lol.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:38am

Good game.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:45am

Very nice visuals and well executed platforming. I didn't quite get what was going on though. Some of those DNA shaped barriers are red and some are green, but neither let me pass. There's nothing I can do in the first world, so I wonder why it's there to begin with (maybe gets relevant later on?)
I found one additional skill, but the shooting doesn't seem to be very useful as each enemy can take about five bullets, and there are just way too many to shoot them all. I visited all the places on the map I was able to reach, didn't find the third skill though and couldn't find more than 2 or 3 hearts.
That all being said, the visual style is really remarkable and there's a surprising variety in enemies.

PS: The very first word the game displays has a typo in it. :P

rob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:54am

It took me a while to figure out you started with the double jump, though I can put that down to me being dumb. It also wasn't obvious you can shoot the barrier things, but I think it's okay for not everything to be obvious.

Avoiding the flying enemies was a neat challenge. Is there a difference between the eye things and the mouth things?

When I got to the stone with the heart above it, I thought there was a bug since I couldn't collect it. The second time I went there it turned purple and the boss appeared, but when I beat the boss nothing happened. Is that the end?

The boss's hotbox was a bit big; felt unfair when it hit me sometimes without touching me.

MrCakehat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:02pm

The 'DNA' looking things can be destroyed with certain skills. Once you collect at least 5 hearts, that stone with the heart on it, releases the boss. I had something happen when you defeated the boss, but for some reason It crashed the game, I didn't have enough time to fix it, so i took it out.

P.S. There are more than 5 hearts, each heart you collet raises your health by one quarter

IcyLava says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Nice game :D . Maybe should have added more skills like, for example, some sort of super jump so you could avoid the boss easier. Good job!

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Art style is epic.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Interesting and well polished game, but the text is rendered uncorectly. It looks like you are using LibGDX's freetype. I had this issue on my own. the trick is to set the font size to some huge number (eg. 200) and than set scale down the BitmapFont object itself.

MrCakehat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Thanks ViliX, I will try that in future games, too late now. I didn't want to use any other font, since I didn't want to accidentally break the rules, and I also rushed that text bit, since I was running out of time

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Nice experience. Though it hang itself pretty fast :P

MrCakehat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:14pm

coffeemuggame, What do you mean by hang it self? Does it cause slowdowns? hmm.. I was sure I had the memory management stuff done ok

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:19pm

cool game

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:47pm

smothe nice platformer!

buckslice says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Takes a while to figure out what to do, but overall fun gameplay and a smooth feel. Nice work!

jsmars says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Good platformer with fun mechanic, got stuck after I got 3 skills.. nice job!

Belvar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Very nice and beautiful game. The gameplay felt smooth. The enemies have far too much lifepoints though x) I ended up having tons of mobs chasing me and it was almost impossible to kill them all. But very fun nonetheless !

alaslipknot says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:55pm

I love it, it's smooth and very fun to play !! good job ^^

John Drury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Liked the metroid-esque gameplay! Got all the power ups but couldn't find the end XD

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:44am

Jar wouldn't run on my Mac. Sorry... looks cool though.

RobotFriend says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:09am

Happy feelings!

plash says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:26am

Works on my Ubuntu. Everyone's doing world transitions this time :D

I got all the skills but couldn't figure out where to go or how to proceed. The AI is a nice touch, even if it's so simple. Most people don't try.

Nitpicks:

- The enemies get all bundled up at the spawn point when they fall off the platforms (as with the player). It's really annoying to respawn and have them all pummel you.
- In the same vein, the enemy spawn is a bit too high. Though this is countered by the little damage they deal (or rather, the cooldown on taking damage).
- I got stuck inside the green/purple tiles a few times. Quite disconcerting when a ton of things are flying and jumping into you!
- I accidentally teleported a few times. I think it'd be better to use numbers instead of a cycle-and-execute control scheme to prevent accidental use of skills.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:45am

Not bad!
The graphics are simple but look nice.

I think the sound was alright, but extremely low?

The controls and movement are pretty solid, but I think I'd like to fall at a faster rate. Jumping upwards while being followed by enemies without them touching you is almost impossible, because you spend too landing on the next platform before you can jump again.

Could use a lot more polish, but it was already quite fun to play. Even though I kept accidentally switching worlds (should have a dedicated key, and you only need to switch firing type) I kept playing quite a while.

Initially I didn't even realize I could kill the enemies, but it felt great once I did. Some stuff you could add to make it feel more solid is some pushback on the player when firing, and on the enemies when they're hit, and maybe some camera shake along with those.

I spent a lot of time running around but couldn't quite find the exit/ending, if there is one, but I enjoyed the gameplay overall.
It's nice that you don't lose all the powers when you die.

The only major problem I already mentioned, that it's too easy to accidentally switch worlds and be forced to run all the way back again.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:58am

NIce job for 48hrs. I got 2 pieces/powers, but ended up running around on the blue level for a long time trying to kill all the guys following me.

Phaix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:58am

Nice Game.

prophile says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:24am

I am going to have nightmares about those mouth things.

psydack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Okay, I finish it. I got all hearts, I put on altar and I kill the boss. So, why you dont show me an end screen? =( Alright, no feeling. I reallylike it.

Wertle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:01am

Nice work! I think the biggest problem to overcome here is that the world shifting being on the same button as the shooting leads to lots of accidental world resetting when trying to switch buttons. There is a saying in UI: "don't put the ejector seat button next to the on switch." Since it is such a different mechanical function perhaps it could be mapped to its own different button? Also I wasn't sure if I could kill enemies even though they had hit feedback because they had such high health. Some indicator that I was making progress would help. I liked the overall way you married progression with needing to collect the hearts with eventually having enough health to fight the boss, and I loved how you got to fight the boss in the whole first world, although it was a little tedious because I could only take one shot at a time before having to turn around again. Overall really nice work!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Graphics are really smooth and powerful. Enjoyed this game

LaFleur says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Cute little game! Deceptively tough! Great job!

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:38pm

I liked it, unfortunately I couldn't figure out how to beat it. This could really use some music too. Like two different pieces for the different worlds!

Crefossus says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:38am

I also had to come back here to re-read the double jump after initially getting stuck. I got to the boss and destroyed him, although as others said he is a bit fast. It might be more fun if he had some other mechanics since he just chases you right now.

The switch option got me as well.. I probably switched 10 times on accident.

I love the player animation.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:05am

Well executed. Monsters were a bit too "homing" for my taste, but overall not that hard to get away...

H1S2 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:03am

interessting idea. really nice graphics.

whalebot says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 10:32pm

I really liked the feel of this. I only wish it had some background music.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]