Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Between Worlds

by Alaxe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Game was made using libgdx as framework so I'll try to port it to more platforms. Tools I've used:
Intelij IDEA - IDE(coding)
Photoshop - Sprites
BFXR - Sound efects
femitacker - music

Libraries:
libgdx
Box2d
Box2dLights

If you get stuck in a wall try moving in an another direction

And the levels are procedurally(randomly) generated and every next level you play is a bit bigger. If you restart the game it resets to the smallest size.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#485Theme3.35
#582Audio2.67
#649Innovation3.04
#749Fun2.83
#880Overall2.88
#982Graphics2.39
#1003Mood2.37
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:09am

Fun game dude :D It made me feel smart when I beat the level. I couldn't beat the next one though.

Hope you get that annoying stuck on a wall bug fixed. I'd also add like a mute music option. Awesome game concept though and the levels are pretty well designed :D

DhantonGames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:03am

I liked the idea a lot, but the collision system didn't work sometimes. I liked the music also.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:11am

A very nice and interesting mechanic you get here! If you make a post-compo version, you should fix the collision detection, because it's sometimes hard to move around a corner without getting stuck :)

Clavus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:31am

Solid level generation. Nice twist to the standard maze game. Good job :)

smbe19 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:46pm

There are a lot dead ends, I think too many.

owyoow says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Nice game. Fun to play but I got stuck on the wall a lot of times

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:22pm

A bit rough, but has some nice concepts still!

lukz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Cool idea! Sometimes I'm stuck unable to move.

Wevel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Great idea.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Meh, it seems it's just more elaborate version of maze, with the most interesting twist being the torches; nothing that cannot be solved with a graph, pathfinding algorithm and potato chips. ^^" Also, the movement is really annoying; it seems that character gets a little stuck when near wall. At times like these I really strongly support grid-aligned movement... u_u"

kostka says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Oh my! It is fun for me to play in your game, because we used the same concept(except I don't have torches:P)
But I didn't make it on time and I have only first lvl.
And because I am not programmer I had no time to learn how to generate labyrinth. So you gave me filling of my game as it would be finished ;]
Thank you.
Maybe you want to try my one?

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:52am

very iinteresting, quite a few collision bugs though.

xandy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:10pm

cool idea and level but the collision detection made the game a bit frustrating.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:05am

rar, really? -- also what's a "strart" (you know it's okay to fix spelling errors right?) -- also the bat file is a bit annoying, since it leaves up an unclosable console window -- just tell people to double click the jar file...

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:09am

Interesting game -- I think you and I might use a similar maze generation algorithm. -- Kind of annoying to control the dude though, he seems to get stuck in the walls a lot.

Stan Sypek says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Could only get through one level. I like the style of music, but the loop should be longer the repetitiveness is a little much.

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Nice entry.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]