Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

They Were Just Pixels

by Ohems - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare entry!

I'm a totally incompetent graphics and sound artist so graphics consist of stickmen, music has been generated and sounds are aweful.

Moreover, the idea of this game is really weird and I have no idea if people will hate it, love it, or even realise what is going on. Add in my weird way of approaching the theme (connection between the real and the game world) and you have a really odd game that will be easy to hate.

And just as a clarification, the game is not over until it clearly tells you. If you can't progress, there is something you haven't done... or should stop doing.

Tools: Java and LibGDX
Music generated with: http://www.abundant-music.com/
Sounds made using Audacity and FL Studio sounds

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#236Mood3.40
#247Humor2.90
#301Audio3.16
#516Innovation3.21
#586Overall3.18
#730Fun2.85
#818Theme2.85
#957Graphics2.45

Comments

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:15pm

It was fun for a bit to massively murder those other stickmen, but unless I'm mistaken, there isn't really much here besides that.

Andre Blyth says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:24pm

I like how it subverts expectations, and especially how quickly it does so (short games are great). The music, even though you claimed it was awful, doesn't feel out of place at all.

Ohems says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:55pm

@MarekkPie I would like to explain the game to you but I don't want to spoil it for others. The combat has been built so that it's fun at first but gets boring. And then you see that the whole point of this game is something else...

@Andre Blyth I claimed that the sound effects are aweful. :) I think the music fits well, but it's generated so I can't take so much credit of it. It required a lot of trying to get the right melody though and I did change and tune some of the instruments in FL Studio.

lukz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:57pm

You should make killing more rewarding for player ;) Music is nice, wish I hade music like that in my entry!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Big fan of the ending :D Won't spoil it for people though. I like your take on the theme, it's pretty original. Well done sir.

Ohems says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07pm

@lukz I wouldn't like to spoil this game to the others, but make it more rewarding... It's kind of like the opposite in this game. :)

Ohems says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07pm

I love it how many people think this is just a regular beat em up game.

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Hiya!
I liked the idea behind the game, I thought it was too easy until the rolling text said "It was easy." and then I smiled :).
I can say I liked every part of the game, but I especially loved the mood and graphics. The minimalism serves it well (probably unintentional but still, it distances the player from the killing, which I guess was your purpose).
Only complaint would be the text is a bit tedious and could use some revision :P
Good luck!

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Solid game. I enjoyed thinking about the ideas it brought forth. Played through it twice.

Schwiggy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:11pm

I "played" through each ending. Like Andre said the music was in-place rather than out of place in my opinion. It seems a little harsh on the player to accuse them of using the only controls you gave them (the alternative is what you do in other forms of media; in games there can still be positive results from your actions like protection, cultivation, and creation as opposed to mere violence) but I spose given the scope it's fine :P

Rialgar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:10pm

I love it, although it did not actually make me choose one thing over another, but just try and find all endings. The music is incredibly fitting for generated music, either you had dumb luck or are very good at using that generator.

Sandcrawler says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:24am

I enjoyed the game, played it through three times. My only issue is with hiding controls as a way to progress the story. I also enjoyed the music.

Also, I made a Youtube video that is full of spoilers, but has my first impression. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5dhbuv0RONM

MaesK says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Nice game, I felt powerful for some seconds, but then I lost motivation and let myself killed. Worst ending :D Nice work breaking the fourth wall.

whalebot says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Excellent job conveying the mood you wanted. Had to read your description for the tie in of the theme. I suppose that works :) Good job!

Aglavra says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Really liked your take of the theme. Not only the game has different endings, but this endings form a sequence, that gives some understanding to a player. Cannot say more, because don't want to score the whole thing for others, but yes, it was impressive.

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:57pm

I liked your take on the theme. Cool game!

klianc09 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Ok, that was an interesting experience. I already knew before that there is a twist, so it was less surprising, but I still liked it.
Although it is a lot about the story, it would have been nice to be able to speed up the text, or making it faster in general.
Giving the player explicitly a non violent action (like walking away) would have made the choices more obvious. But I guess it's better the way it is, because the 'endings' aren't complete in isolation but are rather parts of the whole message. (I hope I phrased that understandable.)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]