Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

IRMCO Space Miners

by Josh H - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Please read through the instructions in-game. They are pretty comprehensive.

IRMCO Space Miners is a space resource mining simulation. You setup home base on a planet in a solar system and build connections to other planets to mine their resources. Collect enough resources and win!

Hints:
* If you have trouble seeing elements under the surface, research Scouting.
* Be sure to have at least one of each building per planet. Having more will get resources faster.
* The colors of the planets and the elements under the surface match the color in the Requirements window.


Development: C# in Unity 4.6 beta
Graphics: Photoshop
Sound: Bfxr, abundant-music.com, lmmc

*** Android Version Note ***
This is a post-compo version. It is not optimized at all. I was able to run through a normal game on my Galaxy Note 3, but it was lagging and choppy near the end of the game. Also, pinch zooming is hacky and not very good, but it's functional.


Thanks for trying my game! I welcome constructive criticism.

Thanks,
Josh Harler
jharler@gmail.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#217Mood3.42
#248Overall3.54
#301Theme3.59
#307Fun3.35
#308Innovation3.48
#375Audio3.00
#452Graphics3.23
#573Humor2.29

Comments

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Game is great. Very intuitive gameplay. Ambient music is very... ambient I guess. Good use of theme.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:26pm

This is pretty nice game. I really enjoyed playing it.

zapaman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Being a space nut myself I'm always looking for strategy games set outside our world. The fact that this game is slow paced and works in the browser is a *deity*-send for me. Great submission, I love it!

Xgor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Very impressive for only 48. I noticed it's pretty much impossible to go back money wise (Atleast on Normal) making it possible to spam mines everywhere

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Nice work to be 48 hours, lot of management inside the game.

Stepwise says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Pretty intuitive! Amassed a fortune of everything on Normal, but no planets spawned with Lithium. Oh well.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Nice work with the planetary overlay, looking from "above" is interesting

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Nice game. I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/ydSxZiryhsI

Anshzinc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Very impressive for 48h. Had fun playing it.

b5cully says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Reminds me of Star Control II, good job on it!

drakfyre says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Wow, this is a really great entry. I am impressed at the depth of the game. Great tutorial too, that's often overlooked on projects!

Lokiman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:23pm

At first is seemed like a game with complex rules but in the end I figured it all without problems and played it for quite some time :D Also I give you extra points for several difficulty settings.

Love the music!

BillToWin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:50am

Technical beauty. I loved the new Unity UI work, impressive considering the time you had to learn it. I'm not sure how you managed to fit all of these gameplay elements together in such a short amount of time without it all falling apart but you managed it. Kudos to you. A+

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Awesome game. Easy to get in to, gameplay gets harder over time. It feels like this game is balanced really well. I'll play this some more when I get the time to. :)

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Wow this was really cool. I love that slow paced strategy. Where as most games made in these competitions are a mile wide and an inch deep this seems to be much deeper, simple mechanics. A game someone could really play for 10 minutes on the bus or an hour on a road trip. An android port would be sweet. And since all the controls seem to be GUI based that shouldn't be much more work. Once again, great job on your first entry, hope to see you again next time!

X-0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Nice one! It started to lag on my PC after a while, but otherwise - very smooth gameplay :)

Mapboy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:25am

Such a great game. I really look forward to seeing more games from you in the future if this is only your first ludum dare. xD

breadstix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:54pm

As everyone else has said, to be a 48 hour game this is very impressive. I love the concept and I enjoyed the audio. Great Job!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:38pm

This game was very detailed for a 48 hr Compo, so give yourself a pat on the back. I liked that you offered 4 stages of difficulty. I thought this game sounded like Minecraft, but it wasn't like Minecraft at all XD. The only thing I would change is the music, but the music wasn't terrible either. Just something slightly faster pace would have been nice. Good entry and Good luck!

wobbleboxx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Very good game. Amazing you did all this in only 48 hours :)

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Very cool that you created a resource management game in 48 hours and used the new Unity 4.6 UI. This is a game that sucks you in so that you look at the clock and find you have been playing far longer than you intended. Good work.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Impressed with how much you were able to get in. The solar system was a nice display and gave a great atmosphere just watching the planets moving.

goffmog says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:11pm

This is so awesome! You got so many of the mechanics into this game that I wanted to have but couldn't get into mine in the timeframe. So much gameplay here I have to come back to this later. Hope you continue working on it and would love to know your thoughts on my (similar in some ways) entry.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Complex game, very well done for a first try at Ludum Dare. And you used Unity too! Great job!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Very impressed with this mining simulator. Well done!

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Great game! Impressive the amount of work for such short time. For those like me that love to see strategic games in LD this one is a must. Somehow reminds me of Star Control 2.

Not so good points: Music (I found a little misplaced with game mood) and overall balance of prices/difficult

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]